We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for quick dinner”

Whampoa Food Center
Ranked #651 of 14,305 Restaurants in Singapore
Neighbourhood: Novena
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Novena
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Been there several times and can get the typical hawkers centre experience. Value for money and different varieties of dmfood selection from Chinese, Malay, Indian, Thai, Korean to almost every kind of south east Asian cuisine. For much cheaper rounds you around 5-10$.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank AroshM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 49 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

This place has a good variety of cheap local food. While some stalls close soon after lunch, there are many serving the dinner crowd which probably account for why it's mostly more crowded for dinner than lunch. There are many favorites. I like a corner stall that serves fish soup and fish head steamboat. The nasi lemak stall often serving a long queue. Hoover rojak has a long history. Middle row has a good oyster omelette.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank AlanC_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

I had prawn noodle from shop named 545. I saw long line which pulled my attention to try. Noodle is so so, but the terrible thing is surrounding there. I had dinner nearby an old Chinese man who spit up mucus every 5 min!!!! So dirty and I didn't expect this rude and dirty manner in Singapore. I definitely won't return to this place and I warn you if you pick this in yr list!!!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank happyp757
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 March 2016

1 of the 4 heavenly kings of chicken rice in Singapore.

If you love chicken rice in Singapore, you should not miss out this traditional Hainanese chicken rice.

As a local, this Loy Kee chicken rice (located @#01-49/50, Whampoa Makan Place, 91 Whampoa Drive) has a real traditional succulent taste in the 50s.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MyTripTransportSer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We stayed at Balestier RD is just a walking distance. I wasn't familiar with the hawker style food area but I find this one fascinating. There were variety of food they sell and they have stall specializing in drinks only. Tried a couple of different menu's from different stalls and all were delish and cheap compared to restaurant food around the area. Serving size is also big enough to be shared.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jesset884
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Whampoa Food Center also viewed

 

Been to Whampoa Food Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.