We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and tasty food”
Review of StraitsKitchen

StraitsKitchen
Ranked #95 of 11,356 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Singaporean, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Wide variety of food. Continental and Asian cuisines. Tasty. If you are a great eater, start your buffet from beginning till the end. Enjoy the food slowly

Thank asra7004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhyattsingapore, Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team at StraitsKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear asra7004,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore!

Thank you for your nice review of our food.

We certainly provide an extensive range of food from four local races in Singapore: Malay, Chinese, Indian and Peranakan! We aim to be a one-stop F&B destination for you to get a taste of authentic local delights in cosmopolitan Singapore.

And yes, do take advantage of our long buffet periods for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! There is just way too much food to fill your stomachs with. Apart from the traditional meals, not to be missed at StraitsKitchen are the pastries and desserts, from Peranakan kuehs to homemade ice-creams.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 121 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2017

The food was average, too much Indian and curries selection. The carrot cake was done too soggy. Too little desserts and cakes selection. The Mian Jian Kueh was cold and hard, which was a let-down. The Muah Chee & other kueh were not bad. The chicken and chicken rice were excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank CarmenTheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhyattsingapore, The Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team at StraitsKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear CarmenTheQueen,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore!

We are glad that you like some of our dishes, including our wide selection of kuehs that may be hard to find all in one place in Singapore. We pride ourselves in serving all of the cosmopolitan city’s favourite local food in one venue.

We are, however, disappointed to learn that you do not like some of our selection. We will take your feedback to our culinary team which consists of a passionate group of chefs who constantly strive to improve their craft!

We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back at StraitsKitchen, or to the rest of our six F&B venues across the hotel that serve a wide range of dining options including Italian, Thai, and Western cuisines.

Best regards,
The Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Different varieties of choice from Chinese to Malay to Indian and others. Not much of seafood choices especially cold dishes. Standard of food have decline over time.

Thank GohKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhyattsingapore, The Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team at StraitsKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear GohKL,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore!

We are happy to know that you enjoy our wide selection of food at StraitsKitchen! It is, however, a pity that you do not feel the same about our quality of food.

Our concept at StraitsKitchen is to present the best of local flavours from all four major racial groups in Singapore: Chinese, Indian, Malay and Peranakan. We have chefs at our live theatre kitches to personally prepare fresh food for the guests as well.

We continuously strive to improve and change up our food over time, and will look into your feedback seriously. We hope to serve you better next time!

Best regards,
The Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Why do people even bother with this place? Nothing was good. The roast duck was dry; the horlicks flavoured ice cream didn't taste like horlicks; the latte was bad; the fried rice was sub-par; the indian food was too heavy handed with the spices; the roti prata was dry; the fried kway teow was not authentic; the satay was bleak; the peanut pancake was too hard...the list goes on.

If anyone is thinking of having sumptuous food at this restaurant, do not bother. Save your money and make a trip to a food court instead.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SHAROON27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhyattsingapore, The Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team at StraitsKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear SHAROON27,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore!

We regret to hear about your recent dining experience with us.

We pride ourselves in delivering high-quality food and beverages in all seven venues across our hotel. We offer diners a wide variety of F&B options ranging from local favourites at our StraitsKitchen, to authentic Italian fare at Pete’s Place, and from Thai to Japanese options at our 2016 Michelin Guide Singapore’s recommended restaurant, mezza9.

Hence, we take your feedback seriously in our quest to continuously improve ourselves, and hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to dine with us.

Thank you very much.

Best regards,
The Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Basically it's a glorified hawker center with all the Singapore classics, from popiah to chicken rice to chilli crab - at one (high) fixed price, with fancy waiter service. Everything was good (though even with tools we could NOT penetrate the shells of the crab). Drinks are definitely expensive - it's no bargain - but for a fancy sit-down local food experience, it does the trick.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Thank diner830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhyattsingapore, Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team at StraitsKitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Dear diner830,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. While we were pleased to read that you enjoyed the many dishes on our buffet, we want to assure you that StraitsKitchen is focused on bringing the best in variety and quality of local food, at a price that is of great value. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed StraitsKitchen also viewed

 

Been to StraitsKitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing