We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner”
Review of StraitsKitchen

StraitsKitchen
Ranked #67 of 10,930 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Singaporean, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely dinner”
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Beautiful spread. excellent choice. Good service and value for money for what it offers. Will definitely come again

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Clindacrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhyattsingapore, Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team at StraitsKitchen, responded to this review, 20 March 2017
Dear Clindacrave,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore!

We are glad to learn that you had a lovely dinner with us! At StraitsKitchen, we aim to provide each guest with all that you can find from ethnic Chinese, Indian, Malay and Peranakan cuisines in Singapore!

We certainly look forward to seeing you again!

P.S. (StraitsKitchen is a good place to bring any of your foreign friends to! We are sure they will leave with a good introduction and impression of our local food offerings!)

Best Regards,
Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    259
    94
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

This is one of the main place I look forward to when I come to Singapore! The buffets at StraitsKitchen. Fabulous juice bar!

The managers always welcoming and helpful. Had 2 very helpful, friendly staff Dashku and May! Makes the whole dining experience very pleasant! Well done!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank rosilini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhyattsingapore, Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team at StraitsKitchen, responded to this review, 20 March 2017
Dear rosilini,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team!

We are thrilled that you consider us as one of your must-go places whenever you are around town! Rest assured that we will only strive to get better and better with time to entice you and other guests in returning.

Our Malay, Chinese, Indian and Peranakan cuisines in the buffet line aims to show off the best of local food in Singapore, and we will not rest on our laurels!

We are also happy that you made it a note to remember our staff Dashku and May as well! They will be happy to hear your compliments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good and tasty food”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Wide variety of food. Continental and Asian cuisines. Tasty. If you are a great eater, start your buffet from beginning till the end. Enjoy the food slowly

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank asra7004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhyattsingapore, Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team at StraitsKitchen, responded to this review, 20 March 2017
Dear asra7004,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore!

Thank you for your nice review of our food.

We certainly provide an extensive range of food from four local races in Singapore: Malay, Chinese, Indian and Peranakan! We aim to be a one-stop F&B destination for you to get a taste of authentic local delights in cosmopolitan Singapore.

And yes, do take advantage of our long buffet periods for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! There is just way too much food to fill your stomachs with. Apart from the traditional meals, not to be missed at StraitsKitchen are the pastries and desserts, from Peranakan kuehs to homemade ice-creams.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Straits Kitchen buffet dinner”
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The food was average, too much Indian and curries selection. The carrot cake was done too soggy. Too little desserts and cakes selection. The Mian Jian Kueh was cold and hard, which was a let-down. The Muah Chee & other kueh were not bad. The chicken and chicken rice were excellent.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co

Helpful?
Thank CarmenTheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhyattsingapore, The Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team at StraitsKitchen, responded to this review, 16 March 2017
Dear CarmenTheQueen,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore!

We are glad that you like some of our dishes, including our wide selection of kuehs that may be hard to find all in one place in Singapore. We pride ourselves in serving all of the cosmopolitan city’s favourite local food in one venue.

We are, however, disappointed to learn that you do not like some of our selection. We will take your feedback to our culinary team which consists of a passionate group of chefs who constantly strive to improve their craft!

We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back at StraitsKitchen, or to the rest of our six F&B venues across the hotel that serve a wide range of dining options including Italian, Thai, and Western cuisines.

Best regards,
The Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Different varieties but variety of seafood not much choice”
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Different varieties of choice from Chinese to Malay to Indian and others. Not much of seafood choices especially cold dishes. Standard of food have decline over time.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank GohKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhyattsingapore, The Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team at StraitsKitchen, responded to this review, 15 March 2017
Dear GohKL,

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Singapore!

We are happy to know that you enjoy our wide selection of food at StraitsKitchen! It is, however, a pity that you do not feel the same about our quality of food.

Our concept at StraitsKitchen is to present the best of local flavours from all four major racial groups in Singapore: Chinese, Indian, Malay and Peranakan. We have chefs at our live theatre kitches to personally prepare fresh food for the guests as well.

We continuously strive to improve and change up our food over time, and will look into your feedback seriously. We hope to serve you better next time!

Best regards,
The Grand Hyatt Singapore Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed StraitsKitchen also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to StraitsKitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing