We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my best meal and a well deserved 2 Michelin Stars”

Alma By Juan Amador
Reserve with Chope
Alma By Juan Amador is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 12,195 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$125
Description: Enjoy a selection of Asian-influenced Modern European cuisine. Each dish is the fusion of pure passion, fresh ingredients and the utmost in quality. We are open : Wed - Fri (Lunch) Mon - Sat (Dinner) We are closed for every Sunday.
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy a selection of Asian-influenced Modern European cuisine. Each dish is the fusion of pure passion, fresh ingredients and the utmost in quality. We are open : Wed - Fri (Lunch) Mon - Sat (Dinner) We are closed for every Sunday.
Reviewed 31 July 2017

On personal business from Boston. I was looking for a nice meal with my son on a Saturday and came across Alma. Candidly I didn't spent a lot of time looking at reviews, but heard from a local friend that this is a little gem that we should try. The picture on their website might give you the impression that there maybe more "form" (the dishes looks beautiful) then "taste". I am sure a number of foodies out there knows what I mean by that. We have all been fool before. In the case of Alma, it delivers on all the senses. The taste, texture the progression (the amuse bouche) was probably one of the best I have ever tasted anywhere. What a way to start a 8 course tasting! The Foie Gras Parfait, encapsulated in dark chocolate and flash frozen in liquid nitrogen, provided a delightful creamy texture when you take a bite with the accompanying five spice cherries and hibiscus providing the acidic balance. Followed by Hokkaido Scallop, Norwegian Hake, Poached Boston Lobster in Thai Yellow Curry (yes, the irony) and my final savory course of Miyazaki Beef (probably A4 grade, maybe 3 oz) was paired with artichokes and yuzu kosho. All the course delivered! Compared to couple of other 2 Michelin star restaurants we visited in the past month (The Modern in NYC and Les Amis in Singapore), I would say Alma was superior in every way. The service was prompt, non intrusive and warm. In particular, Saravana, one of the manager was knowledgeable and welcoming. And the final piece de resistance was the price. The 8 course tasting was only $130 US dollars!!! I paid more than twice that much at The Modern and Les Amis. We will be back soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank PHBChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaByJuanAmador, Guest Relations Manager at Alma By Juan Amador, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi phbenjaminchang, Thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review and strongly recommending us on TripAdvisor! We are so flattered by all the praises! We are very happy to know you enjoyed the food and services! Your lovely comments of the food and services will certainly be shared with the Alma team as they will be thrilled to hear that their efforts in delivering memorable guests services have not gone unnoticed. We are also pleased to know that you will be returning soon, we look forward to welcoming you at Alma. Thank you so much again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 122 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

A good place for a good meal.

Service is good.

Ambience is good.

Recommended if you are in town, but book in advance.

2  Thank yeoc468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaByJuanAmador, Guest Relations Manager at Alma By Juan Amador, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Hi yeoc468, Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know you enjoyed the meal and service. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Situated in a quiet corner of Scotts road, I was mesmerized by the colonial building. Alma, lies in the Goodwood park hotel is a hidden gem.

Friendly and attentive services made me feel a hint of personal touch in their unique way.

Food is as though like a polished gem, shine upon and it sparkles with light. Those combination were beautiful and unique.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
3  Thank 240kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaByJuanAmador, Guest Relations Manager at Alma By Juan Amador, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Hi 240kitty, Thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review and selecting Alma to celebrate this special occasion! We are glad to know you enjoyed the food and friendly services! We hope to welcome you back again and have a wonderful week ahead. Thank you again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

amazing dinner. Try the degustation dinner menu with oyster , foie gras , Hokkaido scallop , Boston lobster .... The best thing ever is the Miyazaki beef. The softest beef I ever tasted. Love the service.

2  Thank chan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaByJuanAmador, Guest Relations Manager at Alma By Juan Amador, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hi chan c, Thank you for leaving us 5-star review. We are glad to know you enjoyed the food esp. Miyazaki beef (Fyi, Miyazaki is the "Champion Cow" of "Wagyu Olympics"). We hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

I went to try the lunch set menu. The food was nice and tasty, thank you to Chef and the team. The service is fantastic, the staff are able to explain every dish and answer all the enquiry...well done! I will be back again to try the dinner. Strongly recommend this restaurant.

1  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmaByJuanAmador, Guest Relations Manager at Alma By Juan Amador, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hi William, Thank you so much for leaving us a 5-star review and sharing your lovely photos with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our tasty food and fantastic service. We are glad to know you will be returning for dinner. We hope to welcome you back to Alma soon. Thank you again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alma By Juan Amador also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Alma By Juan Amador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing