We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and not much more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Arco del Sol
Ranked #156 of 253 Quito B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Hostal Arco de Sol is in a very good location 3 blocks from Foch Square,
Which is the center of nightlife.
But the place is run down, they forgot
Our booking, combined two of us in one room and insisted we payed for both rooms, full price. If you want your room clean, towels etc, you need to ask.
As the last review said there are much better choices.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank bgerber948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

You pay for more than you get. It's too expensive. The internet did not work at all. The guy that attended me was unprofessional and not understanding. There are better alternatives in this city. You have to pay extra for the breakfast.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank Axel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

For what you get for the price it's really not worth it. The shower was cold every time we turned it on, when we went to the front desk to ask for help they just told us to keep it running. Nothing happened and we had to ask them 3 times to turn the hot water on. The bathroom is tiny and the sink was half way in the shower making the shower even smaller and uncomfortable. The tv was black and white and fuzzy and they couldn't fix that either. The front desk was super unhelpful with everything and didn't want anything to do with us. Breakfast is included but it only goes till 9am so we missed it. If you're thinking of staying here don't, find somewhere better for the price you would pay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_SA_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed here twice and will stay here again in a few weeks. The Colombian woman who runs the place is great. Breakfast is eggs, toast plus spread, chocolate or coffee and juice. It's very clean, I think she's a bit obessed as mopping continues all day. I left a motorcycle parked here for two weeks while I went to the Galapagos, as well as a bunch of stuff in storage.
The second time I was here, I had a large room with 3 beds on a corner. It's very secure, with you needing to be buzzed in and out. Free wifi too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed one night at this hostel and couldn't wait to leave. When we walked in it smelled like urine (not kidding) and the room was small and mouldy. When you took a shower the water leaked all over the bathroom floor and into the room itself! Our room had no outside window and it felt stuffy. We skipped the free breakfast (too scared to see what it would be) and headed back to the Magic Bean for an amazing coffee and breakfast. The staff at the front was not overly friendly once we were checked in. If you want to stay on that street, which is a quiet street in the Mariscal district, I would highly recommend next door at the Hostel El Arupo. Hostel El Arupo is really great and they are usually booked up so call in advance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishbellywhite45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 113 in Quito
793 reviews
16 km away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
15.4 km away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.7 km away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#29 of 113 in Quito
403 reviews
3.6 km away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Arco del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Arco del Sol

Address: Juan Rodriguez 7-36 y Reina Victoria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 253 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $17 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Arco del Sol Hostel: A good place to visit on the center of Quito, its very near to the entreteiment center of Quito,"Plaza Foch". This place count with 13 rooms, also rooms for 4 and 6 persons. Also there are services like tourist trips to some beautiful places in Ecuador, personalized transportation, good food and good attetion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Arco del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing