We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Louisiana Cajun spice in Quito”
Review of Cafe Dios No Muere

Cafe Dios No Muere
Ranked #9 of 75 Coffee & Tea in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Ecuadorean, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Classical traditional Cafe located in the 17th Century Monastery of Santa Catalina. We also own a farm 2 hours from Quito and grown our own lemons, yucca, bananas, oranges, coffee and cacao (chocolate).
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

Great restaurant find in Quito. Vegetarian options with Po Boy sandwiches that taste like you are down on Canal St in NOLA. The food comes from the restaurants own farm and the homemade chocolates were a nice way to finish off the meal. The beer selection is unusual for Quito with stout and IPA options on tap instead of just the state owned Pilsner.

The owner is from just north of Lake Ponchitrain and greets all of the guests at their tables. A very small restaurant with an eclectic atmosphere where people of all nationalities gather. A great evening was had!

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATtheEXPAT, Director of Sales at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

We appreciate your visit and kind remarks. Sounds like you have frequented the Big Easy on several occasions. We just got a bad comment on someone about our Red Beans so your comment is refreshing. We can only try to bring authentic LA food to Ecuador.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Perfecto! The young waiter was an absolute legend with fluent english. Cozy with character for days, an absolute delight

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank jordand464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATtheEXPAT, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Thank you for the visit and will sure to pass the comment about my son to him about his service. He really does not work...just helps! We do not want anyone to think we promote child labor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Great atmosphere, cozy for sure, but worth the visit. relax and enjoy, no need to be in a rush here. Enjoy!

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank pastorm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATtheEXPAT, Director of Sales at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Thanks for the comment and visit. I always say Quito and New Orleans have one thing in common....we take our time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

Worth a stop in if you're hungry and in the Old Town area. Great choice of local micro brews and really good coffee. My husband is from Louisiana where cajun is at its finest, and said that this cajun was some of the best he had ever had. We ended up eating here 2 times during our 3 days in Quito, and each time was great. Staff is attentive, helpful, and the food always fresh and delicious.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lahela77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATtheEXPAT, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

How is your Mama and dem? I am sorry I was not there when you came by as I miss talkin LA dialect. I musa bin out makin groceries when you came by. But...your comment means so much to us as you obviously know LA food. It is all my Mamas recipies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We rented the room above this restaurant for a few days, and breakfast at the restaurant is included each day. The breakfast was the best we had our entire trip. It's generous in size, the fruit is fresh and varied, the croissants are giant, and the eggs are made to order. However, the real standout is the coffee. It was the best coffee we had our entire trip. Definitely drink it with the chocolate! We regret not having gone back to buy some beans to bring home. We went here for dinner one night and it was okay. The po-boy was so-so but the chips were delicious. Also, the beer was really good. By far the best we had in Quito.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank wendt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATtheEXPAT, Manager at Cafe Dios No Muere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Man....I am trying to think how we could do better on our Po Boys. Thanks for the business at not only the cafe but the apartment upstairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Dios No Muere also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Cafe Dios No Muere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing