We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place in Quito”
Review of Hotel Rio Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Ranked #37 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Stayed here for about a week during a holiday. We had a pretty view from the top floor!

The room was clean and nice, though a bit on the small side, the large bed taking up most of the space. No complaints about the bathroom, it was spacious and clean as well.

Breakfast had variety from day to day and was pretty ok, having all the basics from scrambled eggs to fruit as well as local foods.

Only positive things to say about the service!

We had a break in the internet connection of the top floor for a day, but that did get fixed in the following day (and in an emergency we could have used the lobby connection)

Room Tip: Go for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hannu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio0Amazonas, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear guest:
Thanks for your stay in our hotel and your comments about our service and property details.
We hope to have you in a next stay.
Sincerely regards,
Hotel Río Amazonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Rooms have a good size and a cool view of the city. Great location, walking distance to some of the best restaurants in the city. However the hotel is super noisy, you can here the people waking in the corridors, the rooms around you and from the street.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Pablo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio0Amazonas, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear guest,
Thanks for staying with us and for giving your feedback.
We have a Project in the hotel for reduce the noisy, so we can make your stay confortable.
We hope to have you again in our hotel.
Sincerely Regards,
Hotel Río Amazonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We usually stayed in a hotel just right in the heart of Plaza Foch, but we chose this one because it was not too near not too far from it which was perfect because we wanted to avoid noise and we travelled with kids. But at the end the end the noise in the hotel was extreme, if we compare it with other hotel that is next to all that noise. Apart from that the hotel is nice, not such a big deal but nice, and staff is fine, not very welcome in the beginning but then were better. Booking "Genius" status allowed me to get a free drink that never happened, and minibar costs are expensive, but well this happens for all hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Leighton Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio0Amazonas, Front Office Manager at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Guest:
Thanks for stay with us and for all your comments.
We are trying to work for the noise at the rooms. And I am glad that our staff get more friendly during your stay.
We will take all your advices to get better.
Sincerly Regards,
Hotel Río Amazonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Pros: As a solo female traveler I need to feel safe above all else. Next I prefer a clean space. Finally, I like a central location that is easy to go on excursions from. This hotel met all criteria. The bonus was 24 hour room service and an extra friendly staff. Enough staff knew enough English to make a translator unnecessary.
Cons: unfortunately while the location is very centrally located and was only a few blocks from one of the top pick up locales for day trips (to Mindo, Papallacta, Quilotoa, etc), the area unfortunately is a bit run-down and polluted. Also, the next door restaurant leaves their bread and coffee out overnight (as it's 24 hours). While nice in theory, this inevitably creates stale bread and coagulated milk (it's heated). However if you come to breakfast (included in the price of the room!) after 6ish everything including the bread, coffee and fruit is fresh and very yummy.
Finally, I must add that the staff was extremely helpful when my luggage was stuck in Miami. They continually called the airline and the airport.
For budget and solo travelers, I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2017

Dear Nicole:
Thanks for stay in our hotel and for you feedback. It is always very important for us to improve what are you saying. We will work to improve the noise and also, I will tell to the food and beverage manager to improve the bread and coffee station in our breakfast.
Thanks for being part of our hotel in your stay .
Sincerely Regards,
Hotel Río Amazonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

I loved this hotel. I stayed here before I moved to Quito. Rooms are spacious, breakfast was good and I had a great view of the volcano. It is pretty close to the La Mariscal area and a few hundred meters from the Central Park. I would stay here again!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank yabloko10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRioAmazonas, Director de Recepción at Hotel Rio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear guest:
Thanks for stay with us and choose our hotel.
We are glad that you had an awesome experience.

Sincerely Regards,
Hotel Río Amazonas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#18 of 116 in Quito
805 reviews
0.3 km away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#5 of 116 in Quito
553 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
NU House Boutique Hotel
NU House Boutique Hotel
#35 of 116 in Quito
580 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Barnard
Hotel Barnard
#49 of 116 in Quito
108 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#30 of 116 in Quito
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Amazonas

Address: Cordero E 4-375 | and Av. Amazonas, corner, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: S$90 - S$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rio Amazonas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the best and most centric area of the city, The Hotel Rio Amazonas is the best option for lodging. be it that you are traveling for business of pleasure we are alwasy here to serve you. Visit our property that through constant remodeling promotes smart environmental safety practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Amazonas Internacional Quito
Rio Amazonas Internacional Hotel
Hotel Rio Amazonas Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing