We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Real Audiencia
Nearby Hotels
US$109
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Swissotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa El Eden(Quito)
US$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
101
164
57
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
164
57
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza santo domingotop floorla rondagreat locationold townrestaurant upstairsstreet noiseno lifthot waterel panecillowithin easy walking distancethird floorhistoric districtbreakfast buffetwifi worked wellhotel staffsafe location
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2015

This is a clean, beautiful, older hotel, right in the middle of the Historic Quarter of Quito. Beautiful stained glass on some of the windows inside the hotel. Front desk staff was very efficient and helpful. We had two rooms, a triple for the three boys and one with a king++ sized bed for us old folks. Note that there are no elevators, and if you've just arrived in Quito, take it easy going up the steps, as the altitude will likely affect you at first. Breakfast is served on the top floor, with a great view of the neighbouring square. We arranged a comprehensive city tour through the front desk, and can certainly recommend that, as well. Note that you may experience some street noise if you are on the first level of rooms.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank gruffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHRA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our location and services.

We hope to have you and your family back in a near future.

¡Greetings from the middle of the world!

Cordially,

Claudia Garzón
Hotel Real Audiencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Bustling Quito at your door step and the popular tourist strip of La Ronda St just a short walk away Hotel Real Audiencia is a great base for your Quito stay. Large comfortable rooms with a breakfast view over the square as the sun rises over the surrounding mountains creates a great start to your day. Don't miss the potato and avocado soup while here it's a must

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHRA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Dear Mr. Ian C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. It is great to know you enjoyed the location, the room, breakfast and the view from the restaurant.

Our chef will be pleased to read you enjoyed the potato soup ( called Locro, a typical soup in Ecuador).

We hope to welcome you back in your next visit.

Cordially,

Claudia Garzón
Hotel Real Audiencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Website depicts a luxury hotel and this is not. The salon was under construction so I suppose could be luxurious when done but the rooms were simple. That said it was perfectly adequate, clean, with very courteous staff, though a ceiling fan would have helped. Breakfast was adequate as well, nothing special, and the bar closed before 9pm.

An OK stay, but don't expect a 5-star hotel.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHRA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Dear Ms. Jacqueline S,

Thank you for your review. Please note that our hotel is a 3 ½ star hotel and this is mentioned in all our selling channels, it is correctly advertised. We do have standard rooms and suites with view towards the Plaza, maybe for this reason you got confused.

We are glad you find our hotel adequate, clean and with very courteous staff. Our commitment is to offer our guest a nice stay.

¡Have a great day!

Cordially,

Hotel Real Audiencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

We really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip. The location is perfect. It is in the center of the historic district so you can walk to all the famous sites. Our room even had a beautiful view of the Virgen de Quito statue. The staff was so nice and accommodating. The view from the restaurant on top is so beautiful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor room 203 we had a view of statue
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicole_traveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHRA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for rating us with excellent. ¡We love it! Reviews like yours motivate us to work every day harder to offer all of our guests an outstanding service. Thank you.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Real Audiencia, we hope to have you back on your next visit to Quito.

Thank you for recommending us.

Cordially,

Claudia Garzón
Hotel Real Audiencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

We stayed for 2 nights in room 201 overlooking side street, Simon Bolivar, with views to the Virgin Mary statue on the nearby hilltop.
Room is big with king sized bed, 2 luggage racks, wardrobe with hangers, desk and chair. Wifi worked well from room and restaurant.
Bathroom has been renovated but for our 3 days it had an incredibly bad smelling drain- smelling of sewerage. Reported problem to reception on arrival and that evening sought another room but the only available was unsuitable. Promise of plumber etc but smell never went away. Had to leave ceiling fan on constantly and keep bathroom door closed.
Bathroom really needed a thorough clean.

Location. Hotel is in historical centre of town overlooking the plaza of San Domingo, with excellent views over the plaza from the restaurant on floor 3. Probably 300m walk to Plaza Grande and the Presidential Palace.

Restaurant Panoramico on the third floor is excellent and good value. Great views for the Americano breakfasts we had over our stay. Good food on lunch and dinner menus with wonderful fresh salads. Avocado stuffed with shrimp or chicken was delightful as was the capreese salad.

Stairs. Be warned hotel has no elevator and very tall ceilings so be prepared for a climb to your room or the restaurant especially at altitude of 2800 metres.

Safety Deposit Boxes. The Real Audiencia does not have room safes but still has a small room with double keyed safety deposit boxes. System works well.

Reception staff were most helpful during our visit, some staff with better English than others.
Laundry service used worked well at a cost of $3-$5 per item.

Overall, the Real Audiencia is an old hotel, battered in parts by the ravages of time. Room 201 certainly needed a little tender loving care to refinish timber work and realign the hem of the blinds.
Good location in the old historical part of the city. Close to convenience stores, a supermarket and the La Ronda strip of restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHRA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed all of our services as well as our privileged location.

Please receive our sincere apologies about the smell on the bathroom, our maintenance department has worked on it and it is solved. Your comments are really important to us because it always helps us to improve. ¡Thank you!

We will be happy to welcome you back in a near future.

Cordially,

Claudia Garzón
Hotel Real Audiencia


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews