We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Real Audiencia
Nearby Hotels
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$159
JW Marriott
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$370
US$315
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$81
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vieja Cuba(Quito)
US$102
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$62
US$60
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$75
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
100
163
57
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
163
57
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza santo domingotop floorla rondagreat locationold townrestaurant upstairsstreet noiseno lifthot waterel panecillowithin easy walking distancethird floorhistoric districtbreakfast buffetwifi worked wellhotel staffsafe location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We had a 1 AM flight back to the states after a week birding in the countryside, and needed a place to hang out for the day. Hotel Real Audiencia was located in the "old town" really close to the national palace and cathedrals. It was really clean with a nice friendly English speaking staff who were very accommodating to us for taxis and a lower rate for the day. The restaurant in the hotel was really nice. We had a nice room to stretch out in after our site seeing walks, and would recommend this hotel for longer stays or a great place overnight before the early AM flights to the US.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pirooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHRA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Pirooter,

We are delighted to read your feedback and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your recommendation, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Hope you enjoyed our beautiful country.

Cordially,

Claudia Garzón
Hotel Real Audiencia



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting Quito. The hotel is comfortable and well run. It is kitty corner to the Plaza Santo Domingo, close to shops of many kinds, restaurants and a short walk to the Plaza Grande. La Ronda is close by, with its selection of restaurants and tourist shops. The hotel is in the historic old town, which makes the new town and its restaurants less accessible, unless you take a taxi, or master the trolley system.

The hotel is on four floors, and there is no elevator - a consideration if you have mobility problems. The restaurant is on the top floor, with a view over the adjacent square. Breakfast was included in our package, and it was decent, without being impressive. There were eggs every day, bread, jam, yoghurt, cereal and fresh fruit. But no bacon, sausages, cold meats, cheese or fish. And the jam was always the same (one kind). But you won’t go hungry.

The room was comfortable with a window, and blinds to impose darkness. Plenty of hot water, a well functioning toilet, and a shower that kept the water contained. Storage space was adequate, but not generous. Tv provided, but Spanish only programming. Wi-fi worked well, but the password is changed every few days. Just two power sockets for charging small devices.

One of the best features of the hotel is the friendly, English speaking, front desk, manned 24 hours (essential for us because we arrived at the hotel after 1am in the morning). The men and women that serve at the desk were always good humoured, and helpful with directions, advice and support for questions and minor personal crises.

Recommended.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHRA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear David L,

¡Thank you for your detailed feedback, we really appreciate it!

We are happy to know that you took advantage of our privileged location in the historic center and that you find one of our BEST FEATURES our friendly and helpful staff.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Cordially,

Claudia Garzón
Hotel Real Audiencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is really nice with a colonial feel to it and the plaza across the street offers an excellent view with access to buses and taxi's. That's the most nice things I can say about this place. I originally booked the place because of its location for new years eve but ended up spending it with a girl i met in a different place. On New Years Eve I had to ring the bell to be let in when they pad locked the front door. I get that there's an extra level of protection, but on New Years Eve? People are going to stay out. I recieved a top floor room as requested but didn't know that it would be just down from the restuarant and therefore hear all the screaming kids running by first thing for breakfast. When I went to check out early they said I wouldn't get a boxed breakfast because I didn't tell them I was checking out early. You did not tell me that was an option! When I went to check out they said they had some kind of voucher and that I owed $110 for the extra two nights. No idea why they do it this way. Almost everywhere else just charges it all when booking or when checking in. So I was cheated out of a breakfast because not once was it mentioned that I could do that and was forced to navigate their weird payment system. Not the hotel's fault either, but the cab driver's won't know where the hotel is either. Get to Santo Domingo Plaza and map it from there. Like I said, the hotel looked nice, but there are better options around.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank np234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHRA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Mr. Piro,

Thank you for your message. I'm sorry you found our payment system weird, but it is flexible for our guests. We make the charge of the first night, 2 days prior to your arrival and the other nights can be paid at our front desk. This makes easy for our guests to modify in case they need to change their trip. When you made the booking you had read and accepted the policies, we had also sent you a confirmation email explaining again the payment system.

Yes, on New Year’s Eve we are more concern about security because there are so much people on the street fooling around that we need to be more careful. We are sorry you found this absurd, but the security of guests is our FIRST PRIORITY.

As for breakfast, we haven’t cheated you. Breakfast is served from 7h00 to 10h00am.

Cordially,

Hotel Real Audiencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

On the corner of Santo Domingo Plaza. Great view of the Plaza and El Panecillo from third floor dining room. Good selection for buffet breakfast. Very clean. Lots if hot water. Could use a bit of updating. Towels need upgrading. Bed linens excellent. Staff are helpful and friendly. Concierge offers airport pick up. Bring ear plugs.... traffic most of the night!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHRA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Ms. Laura,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate all your observations, we will consider it with our team.

We are happy you liked staying with us and that you enjoyed the view from our restaurant. Thank you for choosing us.

We hope to have you back in a near future.

Cordially,

Hotel Real Audiencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

The location is perfect for exploring the historic old town, and the staff was incredibly helpful, especially when we could not arrive on the first night because of a delayed flight. There is a restaurant at the top with a panoramic view. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tami_IBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaHRA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Real Audiencia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Tami_IBA,

¡Thank you! Reading your positive feedback makes us really happy.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recommending Real Audiencia.

¡We hope to welcome you back in a near future!

Cordially,

Claudia Garzón
Hotel Real Audiencia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews