We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Barnard exceptional value in Quito”
Review of Hotel Barnard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Barnard
Ranked #49 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Stayed at Hotel Barnard while attending a conference at the Hilton Colon located about a mile or so away. The affordable room rate more than made up for the15 minute walk to the conference. The double-bedded room was clean and very large with plenty of space for luggage and moving about the room. Nice picture windows with view of city and surrounding hills. Staff was VERY helpful for all of our requests - from directions, to calling taxis, changing departure date, etc. Hotel has attractive dining room with excellent dinner menu. Computer and Wi-Fi available for use. Spa services available - but not used. Airport pick-up is available if needed. Highly recommend this hotel - excellent value. Only negative is the very busy road in front of the hotel - but, traffic is very heavy throughout entire city so can not fault hotel for this.

Room Tip: Request a room facing direction of nearby Tambo Real Hotel & at far end of hall away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rutharella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017

Traveling with a large group of high school students, the Barnard Hotel was our welcome oasis after a long flight from Boston, MA, USA. Efficient registration allowed students to get a good nights sleep in anticipation of an ambitious day of touring Quito. The rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast includes fruit, yogurt, scrambled eggs, and juice - a great way to start the day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carriagehouse37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBARNARD, Director Comercial at Hotel Barnard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear carriagehouse37,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are very grateful for your high recommendation. Hosting people as kind as you, commits us to improve every time our service. We hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Room was large, clean and modern. Wifi was excellent and parking garage and lot was big enough to accommodate our truck.

But the best part was the staff. They helped set up dentist appointment, tracked down a pharmacy for us, called taxis for us numerous times, told us where to get stamps, spoke on the phone for us when we couldn't understand the Spanish and provided quick restaurant service.

Breakfast buffet had full fruit selection, center cereal options, hot chocolate, bread choices, hot dishes as well as cold cuts.

In fact, we extended our stay to a full week.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ckrenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBARNARD, Director Comercial at Hotel Barnard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Ckrenzel,

It was really nice to meet you and a pleasure to host you. We are glad to know that you enjoy your experience in Barnard Hotel and that you perceive a good service from our staff. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Ecuador and hopefuly you can repeat it soon. Remember that Hotel Barnard will always be your home in Quito.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Very good service ,friendly staff,good location,clean rooms,excelent restaurant.

To the point service hotel overall very clean and every single staff person was very friendly and helpfull.

Location is very good close to city center. Very nice bathrooms and room .

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Willem V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBARNARD, Director Comercial at Hotel Barnard, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Dear Willrm V,
Thank you very much for your comment. At Barnard Hotel we work hard to provide the best service. Hopefully he'll be back soon. It will be our pleasure to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

A very good and affordable hotel for business or tourism purposes.

Friendly staff.

Well located to reach different attractions in Quito, both as a tourist or for business.

Thank you Roxi for your help.

Eager to go back!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Raul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBARNARD, Director Comercial at Hotel Barnard, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Dear Raul R,

Thank you very much for your comment. At Barnard Hotel we work hard to provide an excellent service. We hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Hotel Rio Amazonas
#37 of 116 in Quito
280 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
1.1 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#18 of 116 in Quito
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hotel Finlandia
Hotel Finlandia
#30 of 116 in Quito
414 reviews
1.6 km away
Best Western Hotel Zen
Best Western Hotel Zen
#25 of 116 in Quito
155 reviews
2.2 km away
Casa Q Hotel
Casa Q Hotel
#33 of 116 in Quito
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barnard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barnard

Address: Queseras Del Medio E 11-205 | (Frente al Hospital Militar), Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $80 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Barnard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the northern center of Quito, just 5 minutes from the "Casa de la Cultura Benjamin Carrion", a few steps from the Coliseum "General Ruminahui" Catholic University and National Polytechnic School and 15 minutes from the Convention Center "Eugenio Espejo", "Crystal Palace - Itchimbia" and "Plaza Foch". Barnard Hotel is located 40 km away from the new airport Mariscal Sucre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barnard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing