We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Vieja Cuba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vieja Cuba
Ranked #20 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2017

The room was clean and beautiful, with a nice view! But the best part about the stay was the staff. Wonderfully helpful!

Very good breakfast, which is included in the room rate, close to several pretty good restaurants/bars, and is near the bus stop for easy traveling.

Recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017

The hotel is an old building, with randomly placed and sized rooms. Our standard room was pretty small - a double bed with one night stand and lamp, a small desk with one chair and lamp, and a lamp on the wall. A small bath with shower, and an open closet, welcome in the absence of any other place to store clothing. A bright light shone into the bathroom one night, and in the absence of curtains we had to sleep with it. In the nearby hallway a computer was available, and there was free WiFi. The biggest drawback was the noise...many groups leave early in the morning for flights to the Galapagos, and you will hear everything. Breakfast was pleasant. The same room becomes a restaurant in the evening, but it is not very comfortable for dining and we did not see anyone having dinner (particularly as there are many other choices nearby). Just down the street is the Museo Ethnohistórico de Artesanias del Ecuador, which offers not only interesting exhibits but a great shop with crafts from many indigenous groups and individual artists. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purmamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Very nice and cute little hotel with friendly staff. No long hotel corridors. Lots of nice flowers and homey feeling all over the hotel. The breakfast was fabulous and fabulously served by a sweet lady. Totally recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AnnikaSund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This was a lovely hotel, the rooms were nice (we split our stay with Cotacachi so we had two) and the food was great. The staff is very nice, and forced me to brush up on my Spanish a bit (not a bad thing and after all - this is Ecuador!). The Senora who serves breakfast and makes up the room is simply lovely to chat with and all of the staff was friendly and helpful. I didn't get a chance to travel around the area much but I know that not too far away is a section where there are a number of bars and restaurants. I would read the reviews for the restaurants around this hotel closely - I ate at the hotel and the food there was good, but some locations close by caused my traveling partners to get ill.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with the loft if you have 3 / 4 people. We had three and that was much roomier o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbun08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The staff here were amazing -- in particular, the housekeeping staff (who also is the kitchen staff during breakfast). Specifically, one of us in the party got sick during our stay. And staff made sure we could extend our reservation (to keep him comfortable), and, the housekeeping staff brought him tea. Super, super attentive, responsive, and nice. Plus - the room was amazing. Amazing!

English skills of the staff were not strong, but I don't expect that when traveling. just something good to know.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gemutlichkeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 km away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#5 of 116 in Quito
552 reviews
0.7 km away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 116 in Quito
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 116 in Quito
199 reviews
0.3 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.5 km away
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Hotel Rio Amazonas
#36 of 116 in Quito
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vieja Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vieja Cuba

Address: Diego de Almagro 1212 and La Nina Quito | New Town, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#11 Family Hotel in Quito
#28 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $75 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vieja Cuba 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable Vieja Cuba ideally located in Quito in the La Mariscal district, the elegant Hotel Vieja Cuba is a lovely 3-star hotel in the heart of Quito's tourist area, bustling with lively cafes and restaurants, only 6 km/3.72 miles from Mariscal Sucre International Airport. A majestic carefully renovated colonial house, the Hotel Vieja Cuba features 26 rooms with all the services that modern life requires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vieja Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vieja Cuba Hotel Quito
Vieja Cuba Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing