We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Galapagos House Hotel
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We spent four nights at this place and it was amazing! Stuff is very friendly and attentive to the guests needs. While we were away to San Cristobal island for a night, they agreed to keep our luggage without any additional cost. Room was very clean and had a breathtaking view of the bay. Terrace has four chairs and a dining table, hammock and two lounge chairs, there are plenty of space to relax. Even if you will not be so lucky to get the room with terrace, there are a plenty of sitting space on the second floor, including very comfortable couches, hammock chairs and hammocks, with a wonderful view of the bay. We never used the pool, which property offers, due to snorkeling every day of our trip, however, I saw the owner every morning to clean it and water seemed clean all the time, even after the rain, didn't smell any chlorine coming from the pool, not sure if it has it or not. Breakfast seems to be the same all over the islands: eggs, juice, butter, jam, roll, fruit salad. On the arrival they give you fresh bottled water, which could be refilled any time at the kitchen on the second floor. There is an alcohol selection in the dining room and I believe you can get a drink for additional price. Coffee and tea always available. They do not offer an airport transportation, however on the way back an owner booked a taxi for us for $25, which was very convenient.

Room Tip: Come see it first and make sure you love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrOlgaDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2017

This is a lovely, welcoming place, convenient to everything in Port Ayora. Maria makes a great breakfast and accommodates early time schedules. The staff is friendly and the pool is a refreshing experience at any time of the day. The rooms are simple, but comfortable and air conditioned, a real plus.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We booked the Galapagos House Hotel but we were disappointed. The small room had a window facing a junk yard. There was 1 lady working a few hours a day but after lunch there was nobody around on the property. The entrance door was kind of broken so it didn't feel very safe. The key is needed to go in and out of the property but we were 2 and only had 1 set of keys. Impossible to leave each other to walk around town. I had to ask another client for the wifi password. We had to take the ferry on the last day to go to Isabela Island and since the ferry is early we couldn't get the breakfast that is usually included with the room.

Room Tip: Don't book upfront for the Galapagos. When yuou arrive ask around and visit the room first. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MartinYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We really enjoyed our 4 days at Galapagos House Hotel. Loved the advice and suggestions. The basket of local goodies was a pleasant surprise. Enjoyed the close proximity to the major attractions. Will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellemybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We stayed at the Galapagos House for 5 nights while in Santa Cruz and were pleasantly surprised. We weren't sure what to expect since there weren't many reviews yet on Trip Advisor, but the decision to stay here paid off. First, the price is pretty reasonable considering how expensive some of the places in the Galapagos are. The location is perfect; right off the main street where all the restaurants and shopping are. The owner was very laid back and his staff also helped us arrange several last minute tours to North Seymour and Santa Fe islands, which were great! Maria made breakfast every morning and even did our laundry twice while we stayed (we tipped her before we left as they didn't charge us anything for this service). The breakfast included fruit, bread, and eggs. We also bought some yogurt and granola at the local grocery store and stored it in the fridge to give us a little more variety for breakfast options. The room we stayed in, which I believe was #3, was comfortable and spacious and the air conditioner cooled us down quite nicely after a long hot day touring around the islands. The only negative I can recall is the wifi. We had a difficult time with reception in our room and most times had to go out into the house for a better connection. The house itself doesn't have a/c, so it can get a bit hot. It was a nice place to stay and the dining area encouraged interaction with other guests, so we got to meet several other couples from different parts of the world and share tips on what to see and do while in the Galapagos. Overall, it was a great place to stay and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a nicely priced place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Napoleonjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galapagos Islands hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#12 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
100 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#21 of 25 in Santa Cruz
44 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
682 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
394 reviews
0.9 km away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galapagos House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos House Hotel

Address: Floreana y Matazarno | Puerto Ayora, 200101, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Galapagos Islands
Price Range: S$159 - S$256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galapagos House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galapagos House located 50 meters of the ocean. Rooms offer space, conform and privacy with ocean, pool, mountain view and the southern islands. rooms remodeled and updated in 2014 Large balcony, spacious and comfortable living area. All bio-degradable products. WI-FI. Hammocks. Barbecue area. Guest's laundry and the best service in town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Galapagos House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing