We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and tranquil, but not much time to enjoy it”
Review of Azul Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Azul Colonial Inn
Ranked #10 of 177 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2016

This is a beautiful hotel above the tranquil plaza of Yanahuara. The water was hot, the internet was mostly working (although a little dodgy in our room), and the furniture and decor was excellent. However, the hotel was super confusing about check-out times and breakfast policies. One place said breakfast was 4USD, which for a bread, bad coffee, and not-fresh juice, would have been disappointing. The hotel policies said we needed to check-out by 10 AM, and in another place said 10:30, while our reservation said 11. In any case, with a 10-ish check out and a 2:00 PM check-in, that wasn't much time to enjoy the tranquility. They wait-staff was hospitable, but we didn't get the friendliest reception. Taxi drivers don't know how to get here.

On a positive note, the view of the volcanoes from our room was spectacular, and it was very quiet. But when you're only allowed to stay for 20 hours, it puts a damper on your ability to relax.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iccassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very modern and furnished well but poorly managed. The Wifi did not work for the entire 12 hours of our stay. First time we complained on the Wifi they played dumb stating it worked and it was a login issue. After calling them out they later changed the story that it was an outage. Hotel also charges a 4% surcharge for credit cards. Not disclosed on Expedia or other travel sites. Also because it's a Colonial building its not sound proof. I could hear full conversations from other guests rooms. As well at 5 am in the morning we were awoken by the loud sound of roosters near by. Very loud and the windows were not open. Also the website states a hotel shuttle which is just a taxi they call. Charge of 50 soles, we grabbed a radio taxi for 15 soles outside the property. We stayed in much better hotels in Arequipa at the same price point that out performed this hotel.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Lovely place with beautiful and peaceful courtyard to lounge about in. Lots of quirky decorating touches. Beds very comfortable. Not in central Arequipa but taxi is only about $2 and the neighborhood feels very safe. Open top tourist buses depart from just down the road. Excellent wifi too.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JLKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

I love this hostel! And I am pretty sure its the best one you can find in Arequipa. the rooms are very clean , the breakfast is super good and the staff is just so friendly and open you feel like home. Just come to this hostel! You will not regret it ... :)

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mthomas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

The location is perfect near to Yanahuara plaza. Is like a quiet small village when you walk in the streets around.Only 15 minutes walk to Plaza De Armas.The hotel is really cute,clean,with beautiful decoration,the owners and the staff VERY friendly.It's a perfect choice if you like small,family hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikosKatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
1 km away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 102 in Arequipa
276 reviews
1.4 km away
La Posada del Virrey
La Posada del Virrey
#125 of 193 in Arequipa
53 reviews
1.5 km away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 193 in Arequipa
354 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 102 in Arequipa
870 reviews
1.2 km away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#6 of 102 in Arequipa
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Colonial Inn

Address: Calle Lima 617, Cerrito San Vicente | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range: $54 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Azul Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Azul Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing