We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service and stay for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Villa Melgar
Ranked #11 of 199 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Our family of two adults and 4 children (ages 8, 7, 2 and 5 months) stayed here for 3 nights. It's a great central location within walking distance to the Plaza de Armas and many sites. Sergio who works the front desk is very helpful. He provided unlimited use of the printer (which came in handy after misplacing our itinerary earlier in our travels.) He provided great recommendations and often served breakfast (which was delicious) to us in the morning. Our spanish wasn't as good as it could have been and Sergio thankfully spoke fluent Englishhaving lived in the States for some time. The room was very spacious and quiet at night too. It was kept very clean. This was our best accomodation experience on our 3 week trip through the country. Arequipa is a hidden gem in Peru and this was a highlight stay of our trip. (Best dining:Zig Zag. Best site: Tied between an evening candlelit tour of Monesterio de Cantelina and the Jaunita Mummy Museum. Best Shopping: Antique Shops.) You can't go wrong staying here. Great price too. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in a dorm style room with 2 bunk beds and 2 full beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dsupernaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2015

Very nice and helpful staff, great location, quite cheap and good room, breakfast included. We really liked it. It was a perfect place for our 2 days stay in Arequipa. It is right in the city centre, so we easily could reach all the places for visiting.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RutaMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

very helpful and nice staff!!!!!!!!!
breakfast ok, good location for exploring
close to museums and landmarks
good restaurants nearby
room was ok, new bathroom, comfortable bed
TV and wifi
warm shower

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Birgit-Kristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio d, Gerente at Hostal Villa Melgar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2016

Hello Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking your time to write an opinion about your last stay here at Villa Melgar - Arequipa.

We are really pleased that you had a good experience here, our location helps a lot when trying to find good restaurants, museums and all touristic attractions are nearby.

We are looking forward all time to improve and comments like your help out a lot.

You guys have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2014

We couldn't fault Villa Melgar for the price. Our double room with private bathroom on the third floor came with nice views of some of the volcanos surrounding Arequipa. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the bathroom modern with a great hot shower. Wifi was a little patchy on our level and breakfast quality was only OK, but there was certainly enough food (bread, jam, cereal, yogurt) to fill you up. Speaking English with the staff was a little difficult except with one of the men, but all members we dealt with were very willing to help out, particularly when we encountered some bus reservation problems. Location is almost ideal, close enough to many restaurants and bars but in a relatively quiet street. Fantastic mid-range value.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio d, Propietario at Hostal Villa Melgar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2016

Hello Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking your time to write an opinion about your last stay here at Villa Melgar - Arequipa.

We are really pleased that you had a good experience here, we do have really good views from our rooms.

We are looking forward all time to improve and comments like your help out a lot.

You guys have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the main attractions. The room was nice and clean, also with TV. Breakfast is included. The staff is really helpful and super nice, they will do everything to make you feel good and at home.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jotabe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel PiruWasi
Hotel PiruWasi
#56 of 103 in Arequipa
19 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
#7 of 199 in Arequipa
281 reviews
0.3 km away
La Casa De Sillar
La Casa De Sillar
#13 of 199 in Arequipa
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 199 in Arequipa
354 reviews
0.6 km away
Marlon's House Arequipa
Marlon's House Arequipa
#8 of 181 in Arequipa
207 reviews
0.3 km away
El Patio de Elisa
El Patio de Elisa
#2 of 181 in Arequipa
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Villa Melgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Villa Melgar

Address: Calle Melgar 417, Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 199 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range: $30 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Villa Melgar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 5-minute walk from the main square, Villa Melgar offers free Wi-Fi and breakfast in Arequipa. Providing a tranquil environment, the rooms in Villa Melgar feature private bathrooms with 24 Hrs. Hot Water , High Speed Wi-fi all over the property, In- room Telephone Connection, Cable Flat Screen Tv's, Room Service. Villa Melgar is a 15-minute drive from Rodriguez Ballon Intl. Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Villa Melgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing