We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Tambos(Arequipa)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada Nueva Espana(Arequipa)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$76
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$59
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Inkanto Hotel(Arequipa)
US$46
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Arequipa(Arequipa)
US$68
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
67
36
13
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
36
13
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterthe main squaretriple roomlate checkyogurta great staycomfortable bedquiet at nightfew blocksbreakfast includednice roomclean roomsbreadshowerhosteljamwifi
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Positioned a short walk from the pedestrian precinct and the centre of the town this is a very convenient place to be based to enjoy Arequipa.
The hostel is a good standard for a hostel and is very good value for money.
Breakfast includes cereal, yoghurt and juice as well as the ubiquitous white bread and strawberry jam, I just wish there was decent coffee.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SJW8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

This is a budget hotel. It's a little worn in places. However, the staff are great, particularly the guy on the desk in the mornings. The rooms are relatively quite. The WiFI works fine.
The location is a few blocks from most restaurants (look on trip) but we were happy to walk back to the hotel. The streets are well lit and felt safe (at least in the early evening).

The breakfast is poor, but apparently better than other hostels!

Its budget, worn in places, but we had a good stay and it's great value.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Glider51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

This hotel is located not far from the plaza and main attractions of arequipa. It is inexpensive and give the great services. Their hotel breakfast was one of the best I had in Peru. The front door is always locked and it has to be open by the front desk when going in and out. Also I left my luggage with them because I had to go to a rafting trip, they made me feel very safe leaving the stuff with them. And when I came back (although I already checked out), they let me used one of their rooms to shower off my smell from the rafting trip. It is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hoysing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio d, Propietario at Hostal Villa Melgar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Thank you dear Hoysing,
It was a pleasure having you around here, we are looking forward to improve all the time and comments like yours are really appreciated.

We wish you the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

I had very nice stay at this hotel, for 2 nights. Arrived at 5:30am after long overnight bus ride, and they checked me in to my room with no problem. Room was very clean, beds were good, wi fi excellent, shower hot. Only breakfast could be better, as i found it the poorest i had in Peru. Distance to the main square is about 15 min of walk, but the main pedestrian street is just 5 min away, and you can find there a lot of shops and restaurants. Same street will take you to the main Plaza. Some of the staff speak English, some not, but they were all very polite and helpful. All in all, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sladav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio d, Gerente at Hostal Villa Melgar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Hello Dear Sladav,

We are pleased that you had a good experience here at Villa Melgar - We are looking forward all the time to make our guests feel comfortable and if we have the possibility to make an early check in / or late check out we will do it.

Thanks again for all of this good comments!
You have a good day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

A hosta very good stuated to town - not too far from downtown but outside of the noisy streets. The rooms are big enough and the beds were comfortable.
The breakfast was one of the bests we got in South America.

The staff is really friendly and the manager too. He's almost always around and knows a lot of thkngs to do or better not to do. His English was perfect and we could ask him a lot, he gave us very good ideas.

Room Tip: Upstairs (double room) was very good, didn't try the others
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank magicaltommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio d, Gerente at Hostal Villa Melgar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Hello Dear Tommy,

We are here to help all of our guests to manage their trips, we are really happy that we helped a little bit. We have experience in tourism and all of our guest can feel free to contact us for Touristic Information.

Thanks again for all of those good comments!

You have a good day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews