We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special meal in Cusco”
Review of Mama Seledonia

Mama Seledonia
Ranked #25 of 835 Restaurants in Cusco
Price range: US$11 - US$24
Description: Peruvian Fusion Cuisine in a restored colonial house, with experienced chefs and bartenders. Created by Seledonia Montalvo, owner of the successful "Seledonia's mesa", introducing new dishes and cocktails that blend traditional peruvian and european flavours.
Restaurant details
Description: Peruvian Fusion Cuisine in a restored colonial house, with experienced chefs and bartenders. Created by Seledonia Montalvo, owner of the successful "Seledonia's mesa", introducing new dishes and cocktails that blend traditional peruvian and european flavours.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We visited this for lunch after touring around and happened upon a special 12 course meal for Holy Week. Each course was beautifully prepared and yummy. It was a real treat.

Thank Caitlin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seledonia M, Owner at Mama Seledonia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Caitlin, I'm really glad you came to try the traditional 12 platos at our restaurant. You must have been so hungry after the tour, but I'm sure the 12 plates made your stomachs happy. We had so much work and so much fun as well! Thanks for supporting us on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We visited Mama Seledonia on the back of TripAdvisor reviews.
We were not disappointed! The setting was welcoming and cosy, especially as we’d been walking around in a storm.
My Fiancée had the Quinoa crusted chicken, which other reviews have raved about. She absolutely loved it and would highly recommend.
I had the sautéed prawns with quinoa, cheese and cream. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it tasted amazing and I would gladly eat again.
To top it all off, our waitress brought us a slice of chocolate cake - which she then informed us was free....I can only assume it was because we’d been eyeing it up all night...

Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seledonia M, Owner at Mama Seledonia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Kevin, so nice that you decided to visit us based on our TripAdvisor reviews, and thanks for writing one yourself! This really helps us grow so I appreciate it a lot. I'm glad you enjoyed our chocolate cake as well ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

This is a restaurant run by young, single mothers unable to get a job elsewhere. We had the chicken and salad starters, both very good. For mains we tried 4 different alpaca dishes. All very good, but the meat is too salty, just on the right side of edible luckily (I love salty food). Ask for less salt and you will have a great meal!

Thank Arne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seledonia M, Owner at Mama Seledonia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi, thank you for choosing our restaurant to try alpaca. I'm very glad you tried the 4 alpaca dishes so that you could compare the way of preparation. The challenge of our project with single mothers is to teach them from the start how to give the more complicated meals the perfect taste I want to give to it, that's why I'm always present in the kitchen making sure everything goes well. I'm sorry we went a bit crazy on the salt that day apparently! Thanks so much for recommending and posting the pictures of our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

It is labeled as a $ but we spent a bit more than $ I think. About $50 usd or 100 in sole. Get the pollo and the mango was so fresh! The alpaca was good too! Ceviche we tried and might not be our thing but was good. Presentation amazing and you begin with complimentary corn & cheese and end with chocolate banana.

Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seledonia M, Owner at Mama Seledonia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi Annie, yes we adapted the $ sign because in our restaurant you'll spend between 15 and 20 dollars per person on food excluding the drinks, thank you for mentioning. Ceviche is a very typical dish in Peru and in Cusco you'll find more ceviche de trucha (trout) because we're so far from the sea. Because the fish is raw with a lot of lime, there are some people that prefer other plates but it's good that you tried it! Thank you for your positive review, it makes me so happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Acabo de terminar de cenar... He tomado lomo de alpaca y solo puedo decir que estaba espectacular. Me quedo con ganas de probar más platos de la carta...

Merece la pena, y no es caro.

Además tienen una filosofía para la integración laboral de madres solteras de la zona... Genial!

-

I have just finish my dinner... I had alpaca's loin, I just am able to say: awesome. I would like to try some other plates right now...

It worth the visit, evermore, is cheap.

Not just the meal, they also have an initiative to support (workly meaning) single mothers of the area... Go ahead!

Thank Fergaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seledonia M, Owner at Mama Seledonia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018
Google Translation

Hola! Muchísimas gracias por venir a probar nuestro lomo de alpaca y por regresar el día siguiente para el pollo novoandino! Me siento muy feliz con tu comentario y la conversación que hemos tenido en el restaurante. Gracias por recomendar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Seledonia also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Mama Seledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;