We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, wonderful value”
Review of Amaru Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaru Hostal
Ranked #35 of 170 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights. Perfect location, amazing city/mountain views, wonderful breakfasts, friendly accommodating staff. The property with its gardens is gorgeous and I enjoyed relaxing with a cup of (unlimited) coca tea. The staff kept our bags in a secured storage area while we hiked to Machu Picchu. There was always a staff member there overnight, sleeping on the couch and unlocking the door for us if we strolled in late or left very early. My only complaint is the pillows are small and thin, but they are happy to provide extra towels/pillows, advice on local attractions, or whatever else you need!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leslieviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
There are newer reviews for Amaru Hostal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 346 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed there 4 night in total in December 2011. Hotel is situated in the perfect location just next to San Blas and with only 5 min walk to the main square. It's reasonably priced - not too expensive at the first look and once you get to experience the service I would even say the price is cheap for the standard of accommodation you get. The service was just great and the hotel is maintained to 5 star standards.
If you are going to Cusco this hotel should be on top of your list.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We made on online reservation at Amaru Hostel in November, 2011. We received a confirmation # which I unfortunately left in Costa Rica in transit. When we showed up at the Hostel, they claimed they had NO RECORD of our reservation. They said they they were completely booked that night, and then we had to scramble for another place to stay. But what was absolutely TERRIBLE was the same hostal charged us a $45 NO SHOW FEE on our credit card the following month SHAME ON YOU! Bad enough to mess up our reservation but when YOU turned us away it's a little over the top to charge us a NO SHOW fee, don't you think?

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

For the price, this was one of our favorite hotels in Peru during our four week trip.

* The location is fantastic - you're only a few blocks from the main tourist attractions of the downtown area and several good places to eat. (The food in Peru is just amazing - Cuzco is no exception in this regard.)

* The staff is generally helpful and friendly, and speaks excellent English.

* The full breakfast is served in a nice sunny room and includes rolls, cereals, fruit, yogurt, hot drinks, fruit juice and eggs.

* The property itself is very clean and pretty.

* We appreciated the endlessly available coca tea.

The hotel has a couple of interconnected courtyards with rooms around the inside and a few rooms looking out over the city. We were lucky enough to get one of the city-view rooms and it was really lovely.

The Wi-Fi worked fine and the hotel also provides one computer for guests to share.

The small gardens were a treat as they attract various birds at some times of day, including the spectacular Giant Hummingbird. It's not the most colorful hummingbird, but it is the largest in the world at about 22cm (nearly 9 inches.) Quite a sight.

The only (small) disappointment possibly related to this place is that we left half a dozen stamped postcard with reception for mailing, and not a single one ever reached its destination. This could be due to a number of factors, but it’s worth noting that international postcard stamps are expensive in Peru (> USD 2 each), and we’ve heard of stamps being taken and reused in other countries. We didn’t have this problem in other Peruvian locations, even when we left the postcard to be mailed with the hotels’ reception. In the future, we’ll make sure to mail our postcards directly from the post office.

Room Tip: Upstairs room are quieter and nicer.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HouseLimpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

There is a good reason why Amaru is rated so highly on trip advisor! After seeing these reviews, we booked and it even managed to exceede our expectations. This is a hostel only by name with 5 star hotel service. From word go, the staff at this accommodation were exceptional including the front desk staff, breakfast staff, the gardeners and cleaners. Each day your room is cleaned and sanitized to perfection and I felt extremely comfortable leaving my things in the room. It is a very safe, clean and great value place to stay. The beds are extremely comfortable also. The location is great and central. Don't miss eating at Jack's cafe on the corner while you are there. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
28.2 km away
Amaru Valle Hotel
Amaru Valle Hotel
#19 of 28 in Urubamba
127 reviews
0.8 km away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#23 of 170 in Cusco
1,110 reviews
0.2 km away
Los Apus Hotel & Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 170 in Cusco
1,492 reviews
0.1 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco San Blas
0.1 km away
Casa San Blas Boutique
Casa San Blas Boutique
#11 of 170 in Cusco
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaru Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaru Hostal

Address: Cuesta San Blas 541, Cusco 001, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
#23 Business Hotel in Cusco
#24 Family Hotel in Cusco
#28 Romantic Hotel in Cusco
Price Range: $77 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaru Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two blocks away from the main plaza in the hearth of the ancient district of San Blas. Colonial-style house with gardens and the best views of the city. Friendly and professional staff, confortable rooms and yummy included breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Amaru Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaru Hostal Cusco
Amaru Hostal Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing