We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, a little loud”
Review of Kamana Hotel

Kamana Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kamana Hotel
Ranked #173 of 236 Hotels in Lima
Reviewed 2 November 2016

The hotel was good. The beds were comfy, plenty of space, fans in the room, security guard in the front and great desk service.

The only problem we had was the noise. We stayed on a higher level floor facing the street and up until about midnight and start at about 7:30am all you can hear is honking. I would recommend requesting a room Closing the window helps it out a little bit but I recommend bringing some sort of ear buds or download a nighttime play list.

The location to the hotel was great! Right down the street for the Plaza de Armas, next to many nice restaurants and shopping areas. I enjoyed the area we stayed, historic part, lots of museums, government buildings, churches, etc. Very beautiful!

Room Tip: away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Place was dirty pretty much a hostel would not recommend definitely not a three star.

The room was not well maintained looked dirty, carpet looked uncleaned would not walk bare feet. The location is very noisy throughout the night.

Bathroom was surprisingly the only redeeming thing and that was only decent and 3 star worthy.

Avoid if you can.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank cbale91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The hotel is located in a pretty noisy zone of Lima.
The room was dirty, dirty, dirty and again....DIRTY! Dust everywhere and PUBIC HAIRS in the shower.
Breakfast was scarce and served by a tremendously rude and arrogant waiter.

A positive remark? When I complained about the fact that Bigfoot had shaved himself in my shower I was offered a free later check-out, which I accepted.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Pilu260495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The room itself is fair, and it would be worth the low-ish cost if not for two overwhelming negatives. The wifi barely works in the room, certainly not in room 404. It functioned marginally about 10% of the time in the room at low bandwidth. So I spent many hours down in the lobby on uncomfortable seating and lots of noise (typical lobby noise in low-end hotels). The wifi functions at least at one table in the restaurant (closest to the lobby) but not at a table farther from the lobby. The incredible noise in the restaurant-- mainly from the screaming TV but also unavoidable cafeteria-like noises-- spoils the restaurant, Mr. Koala. Don't get lured in by the cutesy name of the restaurant-- there's nothing appealing there. The TV is shrill beyond words, with obnoxious over-loud game shows with screaming women and a boisterous commentator; or something else equivalently unpleasant. I would never recommend this hotel, as the lack of wifi now is not worth the risk hoping that you'll have it another time; and the restaurant is profoundly useless as a place to work or to relax over a meal. The free breakfast includes made-to-order eggs and some other basic items, and if it was an enjoyable place to be (which it's not due to the noise), it would be possible to upgrade the review. As it is... stay away from this hotel, or at least assume that you will not be enjoying your breakfast. The "poor" rating vs. "terrible" is only because of two important things: the room is pretty decent, for a low-end hotel, aside from there being no effective wifi; and the location is near the central plaza in Lima and a pedestrian street. Those are positives indeed and salvage a "poor" rating from the jaws of "terrible." OK, I may be a harsh reviewer sometimes, but that's my call. In the questions/answers part of the review, I say "No" in-room wifi because it rarely worked. Technically, they could say there's a server. But if it's not working... no wifi.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

The hotel is right in the middle of the Old City. It was great for walking everywhere. The only problem was the noise from the traffic. The staff were great and helpful with tours and suggestions. The room was a little dated but it was clean and the bed was really a king.

Room Tip: Breakfast came with the room, was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Hotel Continental Lima
#59 of 236 in Lima
435 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Hotel Paris Lima
Hotel Paris Lima
#97 of 236 in Lima
113 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Gran Hotel Bolivar
#79 of 236 in Lima
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cercado de Lima
Maury Hotel
Maury Hotel
#166 of 236 in Lima
120 reviews
Hotel Peru Pacifico
#154 of 236 in Lima
18 reviews
Hotel Residencial Alfa
#108 of 236 in Lima
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamana Hotel

Address: Camana 547, Lima 09630, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 236 Hotels in Lima
Price Range: $55 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Kamana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamana Hotel Lima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing