We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$108
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$231
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$178/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tierra Viva Machu Picchu(Aguas Calientes)
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Terrazas del Inca Bed and Breakfast(Aguas Calientes)
US$85
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rupa Wasi Lodge(Aguas Calientes)
US$125
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Adelas's Hostel(Aguas Calientes)
US$50
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Supertramp Eco Hostel(Aguas Calientes)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$22
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$654
US$504
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,297)
Filter reviews
2,297 results
Traveller rating
1,505
508
189
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,505
508
189
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsentrance to machu picchusun gateaguas calientesonce in a lifetimeentrance gatehiram binghamlocation location locationwatch the sunriserooms are smallorient expressminute bus ridehot tubpisco tastingorchid gardenday trippersnext morningterrace room
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 2,297 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Your paying for the location and it's quite something. Rooms are small but ours, #16, was quite and everything worked. Sheets, towels and the like we're all very nice and you have air-conditioning which is probably needed on occasion. Service was very good and the food was better than I expected. Common areas are even smaller than the rooms thought it has a nice outdoor area from which you can view the site during the day and, clouds permitting the stars at night. Check out is at eleven which given the departing trains is inconvenient but nothing can be done as many arriving trains are even earlier.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank jsthouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Gerente at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Jsthouston,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments through the Trip Advisor website. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Lodge.
On behalf of all the staff of Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, we look forward to welcoming you in the near future, in order to share our highest service you deserve.
Sincerely,
Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

I have to hand it out to the concierge/reception team at the Belmond Sanctuary Lodge. Aaron Sandoval and Karina Oviedo were amazing in helping me navigate thru the very inflexible ticket buying process for Machu Picchu.

They helped us schedule tours and transportation.

We are riding the train to MP Station tomorrow and are feeling very confident everything will be in order.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gerardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Gerente at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Dear Gerardo,
I want to thank you for the excellent review you posted on Trip Advisor concerning our Travel Concierge, Aaron and Karina. Indeed, we are dedicated to customer service and I am glad that they could arrange and fix your needs during your stay.
I already congratulate them for the good work!
I´m pleased for choosing our Lodge as a destination to organize your visit of Machu Picchu Citadel and Mountain; If you opted to climb Machu Picchu Mountain, it is a fantastic thrill, I am glad you could do it despite the difficult circumstances tomorrow morning.
So I hope that you will have enjoyable memories of your trip to Peru and to Machu Picchu.
I hope you are enjoying your stay with us.
Kind regards
Marc Yeterian,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

we were part of the hiran bingham group of the day and where ahead of our group for tea and snaks.
being ahead we ordered 2(two) bottles of mineral water.
instead of including this in the package we we charged in us$
with 12 incl propina..
the snack was perfect- drinks were fine
but the calculation for the water was just ridiculous!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank udoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Gerente at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Udoab,
I`m deeply sorry for the inconvenience with the service at the Tea Time, We are so sorry that we could not satisfy your expectations with our service, feedback like yours allows us to have a clear statement how we might further improve.

We really appreciate for sharing your comments in Trip Advisor who is an invaluable tool in search of the excellence.

Sincerely yours,

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

I gasped when I saw the price of this hotel. When we arrived, we realised that the price included all meals and drinks (except some premium drinks), so the price turned out to be quite good value after all. Its location in the reserve allows you to spend time at the Machu Picchu site after most of the crowds have gone, an incredible advantage. I could not fault this hotel, from the appointment of the room, perfectly executed turn-down, to the superb food and the great service. I am sorry that I cannot name each of the staff who made our stay memorable but special thanks to Jose, Marcos, Victor, Dani, Jhossef,,Renata,Larita,Guido and Romina and to the many others who also contributed.

Room Tip: We had a room with terrace overlooking the garden with a view of the mountains! Fantastic!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterAucamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Gerente at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Peter,
Sincerely I appreciate very much that you had taken a moment of your valuable time in order to dedicate this paragraph to describe the unforgettable experience you went through in our property.
Have a pleasant day,
Sincerely,
Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

A beautiful small hotel located right next to Machu Pichu. The rooms are smaller than average, but your are right next to the entrance to Machu Pichu. It is the only hotel that has that privilege. Staff is great and it has amazing views.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank tanpvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Gerente at Belmond Sanctuary Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Dear Tanpvr,

We are absolutely sure you had a great experience during your trip to Peru and your visit o Machu Picchu. This amazing country really has lots to offer. Undoubtedly our privileged location is a unique feature all our guests enjoy basically for the reasons you have mentioned. Thank you for your positive appraisal of our service staff and guest rooms.
Thank you for your preference and recommendation.

Marc Yeterian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews