We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$370
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$310/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Capilla Lodge(Urubamba)(Great Value!)
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$84
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$681
US$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveller rating
740
92
22
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
92
22
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaby alpacasthe rivermachu picchupisco tastingsacred valleythe hiram bingham trainjunior suitesteam roomgolf cartheated floorsbeautiful locationoutdoor jacuzziwonderful hotelprivate gardenstayed nightsfire pitheaven on earth
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 864 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Breathtaking location. It is not difficult to understand why the Incas considered the surrounding mountains and the river as holy. Strikingly beautiful and peaceful nature experience. It is well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LeilaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Gerente at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your comments about Rio Sagrado Hotel to other Trip Advisor readers.
We were as delighted to have you as you were of being with us! I am very happy that you enjoyed our spectacular views and grounds.
at Belmond Rio Sagrado, our guests' happiness and tranquility are our goals.
We sincerely hope to have you back very soon!
Kind Regards,
Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. We had a room near the waterfront overlooking the river, very close to the restaurant. The hotel is beautiful and the location wow ! The rooms are nicely decorated with nice colours. The bathroom is fantastic, very classy, neat, functional. What I did not like is having my clothes in the bathroom, due to the condensation. But otherwise I found no fault with this beautiful shower with glass roof on top and plants all around !
The food was not superb, but not bad either. Breakfast was normal, but the views amazing. The staff were friendly.
There is nothing to do around the hotel, so make sure that you have visits pre-booked.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Gerente at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share a review on Tripadvisor about your recent experience with us in the Sacred Valley of the Incas.

We are more than happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We are located 4-5 minutes driving away from Urubamba in a privileged location aside the Urubamba River, and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed the breathtaking views the Valley offer us. Thank you for your comments on the staff and service as we strive to make you feel as at home.

Our Front Desk is always willing to help with any activities, transportation arrangements, or any special requests/needs our guests could have.

We sincerely hope to have the honor to have you back again in Hotel Rio Sagrado.

Warmest regards,
Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

A wonderful resort with about 25 cottages spread thru the property. Each cottage is very tastefully appointed with top notch service. A heavy focus on the environment and the Incan culture. Our kids loved that two baby alpacas on property. A few negatives: there is basically nothing within walking distance of the hotel so eating off property requires a cab ride. The hotel restaurant is good, but over priced and breakfast service was not great (dinner service is good).

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Anand K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Gerente at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and let us know about your experience and concerns during your stay.

We apologize about the inconvenient you had and appreciate your assessment of our services; it allows us to improve our performance every day and to put ourselves on a par with your expectations.

Thank you again for the important feedback. We are taking the corrective measures in order to exceed the expectations of our clients and we hope to welcome you again in other opportunity to recover your confidence about your selection of Hotel Rio Sagrado.

Kind regards,
Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Machu Picchu with my husband. The hotel was right by the bus up to Machu Picchu. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and we had views of the river! There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The hotel staff was very helpful. It was exactly what we needed after some (rainy) days hiking and exploring Machu Picchu- no frills, just comfort, clean, and safe!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Brookebnyc2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Gerente at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Guest;

Thank you for your wonderful comment here on Trip Advisor, especially the title, I hear it more and more from our guests

I am happy you had a good time at Rio Sagrado and from your comment I see you really enjoyed the property in all aspects. Your personalised comments about the team will be passed on to them.

I really hope to have you back with us soon

With best regards
Patricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

The hotel is about two miles out side of Urubamba and is a good base to explore the Sacred Valley.

The hotel has a lovely peaceful position down close to the river and it meets the standard that I would expect for its rating and cost. In terms of food and service and rooms (other than a booking hiccup) I have no complaints but neither would I rave about it. It did make a restful place to chill after a day out exploring the Sacred Valley

The hiccup was that on arrival they had allocated us a Terrace Suite rather than the Garden Suite we had booked. As we had arrived late after a long journey I wasn't in the mood to argue and they said they were of a similar standard and in any event they didn't have a Garden Suite available. However, on looking at the Garden Suite it was, in our opinion, better laid out and felt more spacious, brighter and with better views. Thankfully they were able to move us to our booked Garden Suite for the remaining two days.

One thing I would highlight is that to get to and from the rooms and restaurant there are a number of steps to negotiate and thus it might not be the best choice for those that have mobility issues, albeit the hotel does have golf buggies available.

Another point to make is that the walk into town is longer than we thought and along a dirt track, so if you plan to go into town it might be better to use the hotel bicycles.

I think the hotel is a safe and sound choice and I enjoyed the views and space of the Garden Suite.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huntsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmond_hotels_peru, Gerente at Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for choosing the Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado for your recent visit to the Sacred Valley.

We truly appreciate your comments and we concur that we have a privileged location in front of this ancient Vilcanota River. The Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado is like a hidden paradise with a lot of details and facilities to offer to our guest.

We are very proud of Luz and Banesa's job, be sure they will know about your feelings.
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado will always be your home away from home. Receive our greetings from this magical spot of the Sacred Valley of the Incas.
Kind Regrads
Paatricia Pinillos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews