We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
9
42
36
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
42
36
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Good localization but poor service. The hotel is old. Breakfast is average. Wifi signal is very erratic and poor. The price is ok and due to its localization it is rather convenient for a business trip .

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alexcarioca2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2014

it doesn't smell of cigarettes and it's clean.
Very handy spot to commence walking tour of old city or just to do your own thing.
The bus stop for Tres Cruces is very handy.
The rooms are spacious and do include a safe.
The bathroom is small with nowhere to put anything.
A continental breakfast is included in the tariff but we still thought $81 US was excessive.
The nicest thing about the hotel was the staff.........especially the senior Director.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I go to Uruguay twice a year, and I have been staying at the Balfer for at least ten years to the great dismay of my family, who would rather choose a fancy place in la Rambla. No thanks. This is a very comfortable place, clean, quiet if you know to ask for a room away from the street; very friendly, helpful and long-standing staff, I see the same faces every year; they have a garage around the corner, and they serve the best breakfast you can imagine... I feel at home, with people who truly care. The location is not fancy but it's convenient; there are good "bars" nearby where you can grab a decent meal if you're in a rush, "casas de cambio" to exchange dollars for pesos, and you can always catch a bus or a taxi.

Room tip: I always ask for a room away from the street, and one that has a double bed plus a single one, which I use to spread my stuff on plus those rooms are a bit larger.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lechuzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I stayed for two nights, Jan. 2nd and 3rd, 2013. Quiet, clean and welcoming. It's three stars but includes air conditioning, TV, hair dryer and a great breakfast buffet. Check out the picture. The buffett has freshly sqeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, croissants, fresh rolls.....

Room tip: I had an inside court yard room again. It is very quiet.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spicewjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Very helpful staff (they booked two hotels for us), very good breakfast with great selection, walking distance to historic Montevideo, close to bus routes for travel to other barios, and only 3 kilometres from the main bus station.

Room tip: We had a room that looked onto an interior court yard and didn't hear a peep from the street beyond.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spicewjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews