We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palacio
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Hotel Palacio has to be one of the best budget hotels we've ever stayed in! It's historic, quaint, has an amazing elevator, and our room on the top [6th] floor had a lovely terrace with views that allowed us to absorb the city. Add in its unbeatable central location. Best of all was its wonderful Spanish-speaking staff, all of whom helped us immeasurably with local bus routes and even loaned us an adaptor for our phones.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for one of the two sixth-floor rooms with terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank andyandgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017

We stayed here for one night on the recommendations from Trip Advisor. We couldn't believe how centrally located it was to all the fun things in Montevideo. We also couldn't believe how inexpensive it was. While the old port area is a little run down and sketchy at night, we felt like it was a good place from which to launch our exploration of the city. The small room on the sixth floor had a huge balcony and view of the surrounding area. While it's not new and shiny, this place has charm and the staff was very friendly.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank BodogArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Our room on the sixth floor was a pleasure. There was a veranda out the French doors that offered an all dimensional view of the ciudad vieja. It was probably larger than the room. The high ceilinged bathroom had plenty of hot water and space. The sixty year old elevator was opened aired with lots of brass. We had a many channeled TV and WiFi of course. Friendly staff with coffee in the morning. A true diamond in the old rough. What a joy...many thanks

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wonderlust_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Unfortunately, I dont think I got the best room. The room had a very awfull smell specially the toilet. The bed was very uncomfortable and the sheet had hair and smell bad. The wifi was absolutely poor. There is no breakfast service. I didnt like how insisting the staff is on leaving the room key with them before leaving the hotel and i did not like it when they entered my room and turn off the lights when i strictly requested for them not to as i had important documents on the bed. They have in two occasion entered the room to switch off the light when i purposely want it on as it was too dark at night and I couldnt see as I open my door. I like my room to be seen like there is people in it and I paid for the hotel room which includes electricity so i do not understand how they can think it is right to just entered people's room and switch the lights off. None of the receptionist speaks english so it was very difficult to communicate. The man who works at the late shift is friendly and nice and location is good.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gals_Adventure85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel is an old building located just a few blocks away from Teatro Solis, Plaza Independencia and other important places in the colonial side of Montevideo. The hotel is nothing fancy and does not offer breakfast, however you get good value for what you pay, the staff was very friendly and was everything we needed while getting around to Montevideo.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jose Pablo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 km away
Splendido Hotel
Splendido Hotel
#59 of 87 in Montevideo
204 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#38 of 87 in Montevideo
695 reviews
1.0 km away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#41 of 87 in Montevideo
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#32 of 87 in Montevideo
724 reviews
0.8 km away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#33 of 87 in Montevideo
454 reviews
0.4 km away
AXSUR Design Hotel
AXSUR Design Hotel
#3 of 87 in Montevideo
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio

Address: Bartolome Mitre 1364, Montevideo 11008, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $51 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palacio 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palacio Hotel is located in the heart of Montevideo, in one of the most lively corners of the city. Surrounded by art galleries, antique shops, pubs and cafes, it also has a quick access to the most attractive areas of the city. All rooms are comfortable, with external view, spacious bathrooms, telephone, central heating and cable TV. The Superior rooms have large balconies with an outstanding view of the city port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing