We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palacio
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
My Suites(Montevideo)
US$105
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bit Design Hotel(Montevideo)
US$97
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AXSUR Design Hotel(Montevideo)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
242
251
64
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
251
64
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge balconyamazing balconygreat locationold cityciudad viejahistoric charmbudget hoteltop floorrecommend hotelcharming hotelwalking streetthe main pedestrian streetpriced hotelstaff are extremely helpfulantique furnituresmall fridgeexcellent option
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2017

This is a lovely old place, full of charm and character, run by very friendly people who go out of their way to help. It's also in a perfect location, just on the edge of the old city but within easy reach of the new city, which is a better place to be after nightfall. Really not expensive. Good WiFi. Good showers. All good really. I feel I was very lucky to have stumbled across it.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travellingnick53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in Montevideo.

Great hotel in an old building with an old fashioned iron clad lift which is an experience itself.
We requested a room on the sixth floor which has an amazing balcony with views of the rooftops of the old city. Rooms are clean but a little on the smaller side.

Staff are all very friendly and informative. Great location just around the corner from Plaza Independencia.

No breakfast but free coffee in the morning.

Highly recommend staying at Hotel Palacio, perfect spot for trip to Montevideo.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Etravers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Hotel Palacio has to be one of the best budget hotels we've ever stayed in! It's historic, quaint, has an amazing elevator, and our room on the top [6th] floor had a lovely terrace with views that allowed us to absorb the city. Add in its unbeatable central location. Best of all was its wonderful Spanish-speaking staff, all of whom helped us immeasurably with local bus routes and even loaned us an adaptor for our phones.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for one of the two sixth-floor rooms with terraces.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank andyandgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We stayed here for one night on the recommendations from Trip Advisor. We couldn't believe how centrally located it was to all the fun things in Montevideo. We also couldn't believe how inexpensive it was. While the old port area is a little run down and sketchy at night, we felt like it was a good place from which to launch our exploration of the city. The small room on the sixth floor had a huge balcony and view of the surrounding area. While it's not new and shiny, this place has charm and the staff was very friendly.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank BodogArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Our room on the sixth floor was a pleasure. There was a veranda out the French doors that offered an all dimensional view of the ciudad vieja. It was probably larger than the room. The high ceilinged bathroom had plenty of hot water and space. The sixty year old elevator was opened aired with lots of brass. We had a many channeled TV and WiFi of course. Friendly staff with coffee in the morning. A true diamond in the old rough. What a joy...many thanks

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wonderlust_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews