We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfy”
Review of Hotel Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palacio
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

A great little hotel. Alejandro and his colleagues were extremely polite and friendly. They were more than happy to give their time and help for any question we had and any question they thought we might have.

It's an old hotel, so it's a little worn around the edges in places, but that makes it so much more interesting than your boring clinical modern hotel. The antique working lift is worth the money alone.

The mattress however was new and we wished we could take it home. Worth getting one of the rooms with a balcony if you can. Recommend the place highly to anyone staying a few nights in the town.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveler200001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 543 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2017

This is a lovely old place, full of charm and character, run by very friendly people who go out of their way to help. It's also in a perfect location, just on the edge of the old city but within easy reach of the new city, which is a better place to be after nightfall. Really not expensive. Good WiFi. Good showers. All good really. I feel I was very lucky to have stumbled across it.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travellingnick53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in Montevideo.

Great hotel in an old building with an old fashioned iron clad lift which is an experience itself.
We requested a room on the sixth floor which has an amazing balcony with views of the rooftops of the old city. Rooms are clean but a little on the smaller side.

Staff are all very friendly and informative. Great location just around the corner from Plaza Independencia.

No breakfast but free coffee in the morning.

Highly recommend staying at Hotel Palacio, perfect spot for trip to Montevideo.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Etravers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Hotel Palacio has to be one of the best budget hotels we've ever stayed in! It's historic, quaint, has an amazing elevator, and our room on the top [6th] floor had a lovely terrace with views that allowed us to absorb the city. Add in its unbeatable central location. Best of all was its wonderful Spanish-speaking staff, all of whom helped us immeasurably with local bus routes and even loaned us an adaptor for our phones.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for one of the two sixth-floor rooms with terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank andyandgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We stayed here for one night on the recommendations from Trip Advisor. We couldn't believe how centrally located it was to all the fun things in Montevideo. We also couldn't believe how inexpensive it was. While the old port area is a little run down and sketchy at night, we felt like it was a good place from which to launch our exploration of the city. The small room on the sixth floor had a huge balcony and view of the surrounding area. While it's not new and shiny, this place has charm and the staff was very friendly.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank BodogArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.1 km away
Splendido Hotel
Splendido Hotel
#59 of 87 in Montevideo
204 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#39 of 87 in Montevideo
695 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#32 of 87 in Montevideo
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sur Hotel
Sur Hotel
#40 of 87 in Montevideo
375 reviews
0.8 km away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#33 of 87 in Montevideo
453 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Klee
Hotel Klee
#46 of 87 in Montevideo
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio

Address: Bartolome Mitre 1364, Montevideo 11008, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 87 Hotels in Montevideo
Price Range: $52 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Palacio 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palacio Hotel is located in the heart of Montevideo, in one of the most lively corners of the city. Surrounded by art galleries, antique shops, pubs and cafes, it also has a quick access to the most attractive areas of the city. All rooms are comfortable, with external view, spacious bathrooms, telephone, central heating and cable TV. The Superior rooms have large balconies with an outstanding view of the city port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing