We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great PLunch outdors”

The New Place Cafe Rarotonga
Ranked #15 of 31 Restaurants in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Description: Breakfast and light meals from 7:30, all morning light savouries and desserts, coffee, tea, smoothies. Lunch 11:30 to 2:30. Also open for light meals and refreshing drinks or afternoon tea through to 5:30 pm. Evening opening to 10:30pm coming soon.
Restaurant details
Description: Breakfast and light meals from 7:30, all morning light savouries and desserts, coffee, tea, smoothies. Lunch 11:30 to 2:30. Also open for light meals and refreshing drinks or afternoon tea through to 5:30 pm. Evening opening to 10:30pm coming soon.
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Restaurant: “The New Place”
Friends informed us that in Avarua on the Main Street is a New Restaurant; called: The New Place,” try it they suggested, so we did. In the evening they wanted to know: “how we liked it?” I said to our friends: “the food was really delicious; the service was good as well as the price was comparable to other good eating places on the Island.” “Thanks for the recommendation.” I replied “So, what did you eat” he wanted to know, “I ordered a Panini which tasted excellent it could be a bit bigger”, I said, “but the taste was very good, my wife had the carrot/lentil soup, this to was delicious” we said. Indeed, a good choice for lunch and three days later we returned to explore some different kind of dishes, meal and did enjoy the as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank soccerfan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2017

We love all the interesting items on the menu with daily changing specials as well as catering to wide range of people including vegetarians and vegans. The Thai red tofu curry and vegetarian tempura are my personal favourites. They also make great kombucha.

Thank cookieabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Owned by the same people who have Tamarind House, this is more of a cafe style place but still with excellent service and an interesting menu

Thank potblak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We’d really been looking forward to visiting for breakfast and had called in during the week to check that they opened at 7.30 (we’re early risers) and whether we needed to book on a Saturday morning (no we didn’t).

We arrived early and it was still closed up although we could see staff inside. So we went for a short walk and got back at 7.30 – still not open. The waiter could see us but chose to ignore us. It eventually opened – somewhat late.

When we went in we asked the waiter if we could sit in a certain place (bear in mind we were first there). He said no – and pointed to a table near the kitchen. We again asked if we couldn’t sit elsewhere but he said he wanted us to sit where he wanted. It wouldn’t have been difficult to move a menu to another table but it wasn’t to be.

He showed us to ‘his’ chosen table and we sat down to look at the menus. He walked away without asking if we’d like to order coffee or a drink while we made our selection.

We quickly looked at the menu but decided this wasn’t going to be a pleasant experience. So we left and went to Café Salsa where we had a truly excellent breakfast with friendly service.

    • Service
2  Thank nzlilibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raroliving, Manager at The New Place Cafe Rarotonga, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Kia Orana nzlilibet,
We apologise on behalf of the staff member who gave you a poor fleeting impression of the New Place. We are glad however, you didn't actually have a meal, as we have been able to address the individual's approach to customers with further training of a fairly new and generally very friendly staff member
We do set up in sections in the mornings, starting from the tables right next to the fountain and beautiful tree in front of the kitchen, where many of our guests prefer to sit anyway, and moving towards the main road. Your waiter should have communicated this much better, and as he explained to us, that the upstairs wasn't set up yet with seat cushions and condiments, he didn't think you would want him to be setting up around you. Once again our apologies for the poor communication. We hope that you may return sometime to actually try our food and have a much better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Great place to go for lunch. We really enjoyed the tuna sliders. Service was excellent! Great location.

Thank scandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Place Cafe Rarotonga also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The New Place Cafe Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing