We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting service, good seafood platter ”

Tamarind House Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$68
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The exclusive, romantic and private restaurant venue on the island with delicious and world-renowned Pacific cuisine. Away from the crowds and the public eye, a fine dining evening with your loved ones or a wedding at Tamarind House is an extra special experience. Whether your requirements are large or small, we are eager to accommodate you with an event that you will long remember. Tamarind House is a versatile venue offering five different areas to suit any occasion. Tamarind House Restaurant on the island of Rarotonga in the Cook Islands is situated on a large oceanfront property, with it's stately beautifully restored historic colonial house, huge verandas and french doors, and a lovely garden shaded by coconut palms and green lawns sweeping down to the ocean. It is just a 3 minute drive from the town centre, and the round the island bus stops just by the entrance. You can enjoy a feeling of nostalgia for a bygone era in the peaceful seclusion of our truly unique tropical setting.
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We ordered the seafood platter which had a lot of variation. Fish was over cooked but sashimi / oysters were delicious! My mojito tasted like water and lime so requested an extra shot of rum. We asked for water a few times which ended up being served to the table next to us, luckily we got water with our main. Overall it was a reasonable dinner, maybe a little over priced. Would return to try their desserts as they looked delicious!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank cclare8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

One of the highlights of our trip! Four adults wanting an adults only restaurant, fabulous meal with great service which we appreciated. We were that desperate for a decent meal in Rarotonga this place ticked ALL the boxes.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Leeanne65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Place was recommended by a friend, and was very excited to eat there.

We made a 7.30 booking for a large table. Upon being seated despite two of the party not arriving yet we were told the kitchen was waiting to close and we had to order.

Felt very rushed, and had to order for the two people on their way - despite 3 or 4 other tables still eating. Service level felt like they didnt want to be there and drink service was very slow.

The meals were nice, but nothing outstanding.

The place could and should be great, venue is amazing. Maybe better for lunch? Certainly book early seating for dinner...

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

We were highly recommended Tamarind House however were disappointed with our service and experience. We were rushed with booking our dinner, one wait staff member was rude (snarky when ordering water and told us kitchen were waiting for us). Slow to ask if we wanted drinks so we had to call staff over. We felt
pushed out from when we arrived. We were a large group ordering drinks and meals so were spending a big amount and the service really tainted our experience. The food was good but service did not match the expected level. A beautiful venue though.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank T285DPalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We went to Tamarind House twice on a recent trip to Rarotonga, because we liked it so much the first time that we had booked for the following night before we finished our main course. The food - basically high class comfort food based on local ingredients - was excellent, with lots of vegetarian options, but even more importantly the staff were wonderful: friendly, welcoming, and incredibly helpful when I left my bag behind by mistake. It's a lovely setting even on an overcast day, and even though guide books suggest it is very posh, the prices were actually quite a bit more reasonable than some of the good resort restaurants we ate in on our trip.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JCQ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind House Restaurant also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Titikaveka, Rarotonga
 

Been to Tamarind House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing