We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid curry house”

Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 1,371 Restaurants in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$11
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: With ours 15 years of existence we will offer you our deep knowledge in the art of the indian cuisine. Our experienced cooks Chandra Kandel, Bisnhnu Kandel and Kuldeep can prepare every dish, based on YOUR requirements. The restaurant is situated in the centre of Sofia in a monument house near Alexander Nevski Cathedral.
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Good food but a bit too pricey for Sofia standards. I've had Chicken Khaltada which is advertised very, very spicy and it wasn't. Before placing order requested to be done as spicy as they do in India or Pakistan and the dish came out with dry chilli peppers sprinkled all over. I would expect freshly cut chilli or some extra spices added to the dish. Madras curry was good as expected so it was cucumber raita. Service was good, english spoken waitress, good selection of wine however Bulgarian wine overpriced. The cheapest bottle was for nearly 30 levas. All in all good place with solid food, nice service and cozy atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ArturNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, Owner at Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Dear Artur,

Thank you very much for your review.

Martin

Owner of Taj Mahal Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

This was the second time I’ve been to this restaurant in Sofia. I really like the atmosphere of the restaurant and the way its set up. Had the cucumber and tomato salad which was simple and how I wanted it. Then had chicken tikka with rice and garlic naan. The chicken tikka was fairly nice but somewhat spongy as if it had been marinated too long and lost its chicken nature. Rice was plain and well cooked. Garlic naan was tasty and much enjoyed. Overall, food was ok but lacked a wow factor. The service could be more attentive and get you interested in the food. Would have bern nice to have some specials too.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank RadioT8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, Owner at Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Dear RadioT,

Thank you very much for your review. I will have in mind your remarks

Martin

Owner of Taj Mahal Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

I’m a big fan of Indian food and this place was unbelievable. I ordered the paneer butter masala, veggie rice, naan, and a dessert (can’t remember the name) and they were all fantastic.

I wanted to shout out the waitress Sabrina who was incredibly kind, helpful, and an overall great person!

Would definitely recommend to all who love Indian food and visiting Sofia !

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Gabriella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, Owner at Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Dear Gabriella,

Thank you very much for your review.

Martin

Owner of Taj Mahal Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The food is very tasty. The service is fast. A little bit more expensive for the average in Sofia but it’s worth. I’ll be back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank jlrmar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, Owner at Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your review.

Martin
Owner of Taj Mahal Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

we went for a business diner with 12 people and had the table full with the most delicious dishes . so we could taste all the different kinds of tandooris etc etc I would reccomend this restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, Owner at Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Eric,

Thank you very much for your review.

Martin
Owner of Taj Mahal Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant also viewed

Sofia, Sofia Region
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing