We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant in a very pleasant setting”

Moma Bulgarian Food & Wine
Ranked #18 of 1,139 Restaurants in Sofia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Moma Restaurant is the new modern face of Bulgarian restaurants. Its concept combines a delightful culinary experience with authentic recipes which remind us of times past and bring us back to our roots, and a modern interior blending the beauty and purity of the Bulgarian maidens of yore, represented by the designer through various visual symbols, photos, fabrics and decors. The interior design of each dining hall of Moma Restaurant conveys a message related to the culture and traditions of maidens and young women in Bulgaria.
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

The Hilton did our reservation here and we arrived , a party of six, to be placed in a lovely round table so we could all easily chat with one another. Very thoughtful. The atmosphere of the room was very convivial and it was so nice to be in a pretty traditional Bulgarian restaurant.
The service by Victor ( hope I have his name correct) was excellent and he was very knowledgeable about the menu/ wine. The food was delicious and although we had no desserts we were given a delicious aperitif complimentary, which was such a nice touch. The Bulgarian wine we had was very good and we had a great evening. Thank you !

Thank Gloucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todoroff, Guest Relations Manager at Moma Bulgarian Food & Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Gloucs,
Thank you for your kind words, it is important to us to hear about your experience at restaurant MoMa.
We are glad you had great evening and you enjoyed our service, food and ambience.
We will be happy to serve you as a valued guest again in a near future!
Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We visited this restaurant last night for my partner's birthday and the food was delicious. We got off to a false start when trying to eat here the night previous and bring sent away because we didn't have a reservation. It is easy to see why a reservation is needed... Great food we had the pork and the chicken in bread roll with a bottle of red wine and needles to say it went down very well. Don't be put off by having to book, this is one of the best places we have visited and others restaurants I would highly recommend not to waste your time with.

Thank LauraChristopher_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todoroff, Guest Relations Manager at Moma Bulgarian Food & Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear LauraChristopher_12,
Thank you for your kind review.
We are glad that you had great time at restaurant Moma. It is also very reassuring for us that you have enjoyed our food and service.
We are hoping you will visit us again in a near future!
Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We picked this place because of the good reviews and because they had a nice selection of vegetarian dishes on their menu. We regretted that decision fairly quickly.

Food : mediocre at best. Price/quality/quantity is way off.

Waiting: we waited for more than an hour after getting out starters. No communication about the waiting time, we could hardly get a waiter to clean the table after having to pile up our plates ourselves, let alone get another drink.

Service: Appalling, borderline aggressive and rude! The first waitress ignored us and could hardly understand any English. The waiter (the guy with the smirky face,rolling eyes and the stick up his @ss! you'll know when you make the mistake of going there) was extremely rude, we have seen our share of restaurants and have had some bad service, but never to this point, never did I see a waiter roll his eyes, huff and puff and laugh at customers like this.

There was a constant atmosphere of tension!

Go spend you money somewhere else!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wervelwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todoroff, Guest Relations Manager at Moma Bulgarian Food & Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Wervelwind,

Thank you for your review, your opinion is important to us!
We thank you for choosing our restaurant for having dinner. However we are sorry you found our service not as good.
We are always working hard towards providing high quality of service and food, so the situation you had is very disappointing for us too. It is a rare thing to happen so please accept our assurance that it will not happen again.

If you are still in Sofia, or plan to visit again, we will be happy if you consider visiting us again, so we can impress you with perfect service and food.
Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Pros:
1. Restaurant MOMA is located in downtown Sofia, its location is very convenient and easy to find.
2. The outside garden is cozy and it`s nice for a garden in the city center.
3. Service was good and bathrooms were clean.

Cons:
1. Unfortunately, the meals are very small and absolutely overpriced
2. The products that they are using are not tasty - the veggies are conventional and completely tasteless.
3. This restaurant does not offer what most traditional Bulgarian restaurants are famous for - mouthwatering dishes, big portions and decent prices.

I would not recommend and I would not visit this place again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 365adelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todoroff, Guest Relations Manager at Moma Bulgarian Food & Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear 365adelle,

Thank you for your review. It is important to us to know our guests opinion!

We thank you for the Pros you had to say about the restaurant.
However we are disappointed you found few Cons to write about, mainly about our food.
We have to say that we always use the best fresh local products and we prepare our food on the day, it is never frozen or leftover from previous days. Also, please kindly accept that taste to food is a very personal thing, so we believe it is unfair for you to say that we do not offer what Bulgarian restaurants are famous for. Most of our guests are saying our dishes are quite big in their size. A bigger size of a meal will result in wasting food in most cases.
We believe in great quality in our offerings: both service and food and we hope that our clients see those efforts.
Thank you for your comments and we are hoping that you would consider visiting us again so you can select another dish from our menu which will be more appealing your personal taste.

Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

I just really love this place really comfortable easy to find and reach personal and food of high quality one of the best restaurants in Sofia i wanted to go two days ago but unfortunately my guest had a dog with them and we could not unfortunately, so one more info.
Food is excellent and Bulgarian traditional, when I feel the need to have a relaxing eve I just can't resist! Fantastic

Thank Umberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todoroff, Guest Relations Manager at Moma Bulgarian Food & Wine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Umberto,
Thank you for your lovely review. It is an honour for us to be your favourite restaurant in Sofia! That is our prerogative- to be the favourite restaurant for our guests.
It is fantastic that you return to restaurant Moma whenever you need lovely and relaxing dinner.
You are always welcome!
Thank you!
Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moma Bulgarian Food & Wine also viewed

 
Sofia, Sofia Region
 

Been to Moma Bulgarian Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing