We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dont go! Unsolicited prostitutes at the room, staff stealing and very rude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dnipro Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dnipro Hotel
Ranked #41 of 115 Hotels in Kiev
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dont go! Unsolicited prostitutes at the room, staff stealing and very rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

As the hotel is affiliated with the next door millennium stripclub, the staff frequently offered us prostitutes. Despite declining, there was a prostitute at the door anyway. This was just the first of many crazy events in this hotel. Room service never arrived with my dinner, even though they called several times to confirm that it was coming.
While at one point the staff kindly brought an ashtray when smoking in the lounge, the next day the staff rudely scolded us to go outside. When returning from having a smoke the staff had removed not only the food and drinks that we ordered, but also our belongings. When asking about it, the staff just ignored us completely.
My brother was with his girlfriend and the staff rudely insisted she was a prostitute and should be registered as such. They gave her a lecture about prostitutes stealing possessions. This was really beyond believe and happened every evening when returning to the hotel.
Most of the staff has serious attitude problems, and does not understand what service is. The reception is often busy. Expect to spend a lot of time waiting there.
Do not use the taxi/shuttle service of the hotel, as they will overcharge you a lot. Expect to pay 2.5 times the normal price.
The internet is very expensive, but works. Login codes do not always work. No refunds... The location is good. The rooms are old but ok.
I have been in a large number of hotels over the decades, but have no clue why this is a 4 star hotel. It certainly does not deserve 4 stars.
I rented a superior suite for a week. The price went up every day for an unexplained reason.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Akki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    108
    125
    75
    52
See reviews for
19
44
97
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

The location is excellent. However that does mean some traffic noise is inevitable. This is compounded by the fact the roads outside the hotel are cobbled. My room, an adult single was smallish, but perfectly acceptable. The in room, safe and on site ATM were both welcome. Many European hotels still do not do this. Breakfast was good, however it was served only until 10am. Perhaps to early. The hotel, is adjacent to a Nightclub offering a nude revue. So perhaps, not a place for families.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rurrrurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

I couldn’t resist to comment this last extraordinary review that seems a kind of touristic epic to a paradise called Hotel Dnipro. I stayed there last July and I confirm the majority of the negative reviews written about it , so i find amazing how the hotel staff can be so imaginative to write this fantastic comedy , - the episode of smiling Svetlana…the worn carpet switched to the amazing Victoria Suite and the Golden Prize for quality at a gala ceremony in Paris, are really for laughing loudly!

I find Tripadvisor a good way to help people to choose an hotel, so the bad thing is how can someone at Dnipro prefer the way of misleading the Tripadvisor users with this childish approach, instead of analysing the evidences so it could apply a plan to improve the quality of its service .

Let’s go to the point, the rating for this hotel doesn’t let anyone to be “cheated” about it, 48% of reviews represents poor and terrible opinions, 29% indicates average and only 23% are above very good (only 2,5% voted excellent), so face it .. try to construct and adopt some changes!

In Western Europe, these statistical evidence are enough for the hotel management to take a different approach to adapt to clients needs, and for sure it’s out of question using this kind of “fake” advertising . This testimony shows the truly face of the service that this hotel are able to provide , deceiving clients.

So, try another approach more serious to improve your service, that can transform your dream to reality and become a 5 star hotel, instead of ramble with the image you would like clients to have of the Hotel !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kiev hotels

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is a great 4 star hotel located in central Kiev and very near the Independence Square. I stayed in this hotel for two nights (11th and 12th July 2011) while I was on a business trip to Ukraine.

The staff spoke good English and welcomed me to the hotel warmly with lovely smiles. Check in by Svetlana was quick and efficient. Payment for the whole stay is taken at the time of check in. The Staff are very knowledgeable about various places to visit, and restaurants to eat in.

The hotel has about 180 rooms offering splendid panoramic views. The reception area is large and there is a grand staircase leading up to the first floor. There is a nice restaurant on the top floor overlooking the city. I noticed quite a few certificates for various awards the hotel had received including a Golden Prize for Quality at a gala ceremony in Paris.

My room was on the 4th floor. As I stepped out of the lift, I noticed that the carpet was in need of replacement, as it looked quite worn in places. This was not a problem but an observation. When I got to the door of the room, I realised that I had been given a suite – Victoria Suite. What a fabulous suite!

It was clean and spacious. It had nice deep piled carpets. As you entered the suite, there was a small reception area (containing a wardrobe, and a luggage rack) leading to a lounge area with a three piece settee and a dining area with a dining table to seat six people. There was a display cabinet complete with dining ware, glasses and cutlery. There was a 32 inch flat screen TV which when switched on showed a message welcoming you by name to the hotel. There was a complimentary bottle of water.

When you looked out of the room windows, you had a superb view of the European Square at the junction with Khreshchatyk Street which leads to Independence Square. Although, there is a lot of traffic outside, the noise is not at all noticeable if the windows are shut. The suite had good air conditioning.

The lounge area led to the bedroom through double doors. It was a big bedroom with a low bed, a dressing table with mirror, and a large wardrobe. There were bed lamps on either side of the bed. The bed was soft but not as comfortable as I expected it to be. The windows had beautiful regal looking curtains.

Leading from the bedroom was the recently refurbished en-suite bathroom. It was adequate in size but not that large.

The room rate (of GBP140 per night) included a buffet breakfast. There was an extensive range of food items on offer. There were some Ukrainian national foods as well. I was impressed by the spread. The restaurant is in a beautiful room which gave it an air of elegance and upmarket grace.

The hotel is also conveniently located for the nearby Maryinsky Park which is very beautiful; the Golden Gate of the city named Kiev-Pechersk Lavra; the National Museum; the National Philharmonic and Opera. There is also the stadium of one of the leading clubs in Ukraine – Dynamo Kiev. Ukraine and Poland will jointly host the European Football Championships in summer 2012.

I would recommend this hotel for both business travellers as well as holidaymakers. The Staff make you feel special. The city left me with very good memories. I intend to go again for a family holiday.

I believe that the hotel management are trying very hard to attain a five star status and I feel sure that they will attain this status sooner rather than later.

MAZ MANNAN 16th August 2011.

Room Tip: Tell them it is your first visit to Kiev and you have heard good things about the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazmannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Our impression of Kiev was significantly spoiled by the Dnipro Hotel.
The main issue was the service about which the staff had never heard before:
- At the check-in the receptionist Svetozar Moiseev asked us to pay all the cost of stay in advance, against the rules of the hotel that can be found in the rooms – payment at the check-out.
- The same receptionist demonstrated an outstanding arrogance and provocativeness after being asked to print out a detailed invoice. As clients, we obviously wanted to understand what and how much we were paying for.
- When we entered the hotel at night, I was asked by a security in the lobby if “the girl was coming with me”. “The girl” happened to be my wife.
- At the breakfast waiters were taking (half)-empty dishes from our table without asking permission.
- Another receptionist never heard about the Sightseeing hop-on/hop-off tour, passing a couple of meters from the hotel.
However, the room we chose was not bad since it was renovated (“non-Soviet” room).
The luxury of staying in such an amazing place in the centre of Kiev cost us “only” EUR 150 per night, far more that we are used to pay for hotels of the same category (for sure not a 4*) in Western Europe.
Ultimately, the lack of service has given us an impression of staying in a military campus, but where you pay for being bothered. The above mentioned receptionist would be more suitable to work in a cantina for prisoners. I am wondering how such a hotel will manage to host tourists coming for the European football championship in 2011?...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank joaomgmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiev hotels
Khreschatyk Hotel
#19 of 115 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Lypky
Hotel Ukraine
Hotel Ukraine
#25 of 115 in Kiev
3.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Premier Hotel Rus
#15 of 115 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Kiev City Center
#13 of 115 in Kiev
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Kozatskiy Hotel
#87 of 115 in Kiev
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dnipro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dnipro Hotel

Property: Dnipro Hotel
Address: Khreschatyk vul. 1 / 2, Kiev 01001, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Kiev
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 115 Hotels in Kiev
Price range (per night): $67 - $125
Hotel Class:3 star — Dnipro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dnipro Hotel is one of the most popular places in the capital for lodging, dining or entertainment. The hotel features 186 comfortable and nicely refurbished rooms of varying categories which offer majestic views of the Dnipro River and streets of Kyiv. The location makes our hotel ideal, but we never forget that it is service that keeps people coming back. Our friendly and dedicated staff strives to make every guest’s experience an enjoyable one. Whether you came to our ancient city for sightseeing or business, you will surely enjoy our prime location and high quality of services. The hotel is within walking distance from all major sights of Kyiv and is close to numerous business centers. Dnipro Hotel offers a wide range of services for business people and tourists, including restaurants, bars, a night club, conference halls, a fitness center – virtually everything you need to successfully work and also have a pleasant rest. The hotel’s Guest Desk will help you to organize your leisure time in Kyiv by providing essential information about the city, its places of interest, and cultural events. Dnipro Hotel has been honored to welcome many world-famous national and foreign stars, such as actress Milla Jovovich and the legendary Boney M. The restaurants of the Dnipro Hotel offer a choice of high-class Ukrainian, European and Mediterranean dishes. We are proud of our restaurant’s chef Vyacheslav Gribov. He has cooked for many of the world’s well-known officials such as Bill Clinton, Fidel Castro, and the family of Gorbachevs. Hollywood stars such as Sean Connery, Milla Jovovich, illusionist David Copperfield, and singer Toto Cutugno have chosen to stay in the Dnipro Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dnipro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing