We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$72
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$95
US$76
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$111
US$91
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Barcelo San Salvador(San Salvador)
US$64
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Oasis(San Salvador)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morrison Hotel(San Salvador)
US$214
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$65
US$63
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Angel Hotel(San Salvador)
US$67
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
75
41
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
41
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchendrinking waterfront deskel salvadorclean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Looked like the hotel was built in the 50's without much updating but was clean and comfortable. Had A/C and separate bedroom from sitting area and full kitchen. Breakfast was served to the room daily and was good. Bottelled drinking water was available in the hallways. Hotel was staffed 24 hours daily, security-secured and was located in a relatively quiet and safe part of San Salvador close to American brand dining establishments (Denny's, Wendy's, etc.). Cabs were available close by two big hotels where day trips were easy to arrange (i.e. - El Boquerón National Park, etc.).

Room Tip: Try for a back room away from street for quietest area.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njbell1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJLozano, Gerente at Maria Jose Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Dear N.,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write a review on us.

We are glad your stay at Maria Jose Suites was satisfactory and we encourage you to send us your feedback, so that next time you visit us we can offer you and even better experience.

We hope to see you back in the near future.

Regards


PJ Lozano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

The reason for booking this hotel is that it's very close to Sheraton where the Pullmantur Bus stops on its journey from Guatemala City to San Salvador. But we were surprised that San Salvador could offer us such a decent boarding at so cheap a price.
The check-in was a breeze. The apartment was huge and elegantly decorated. It had a kitchenette, a decent living room and a great bedroom.
The AC was good, the bed and the pillows were very comfortable, charging points are placed at the right places (not below the tables or behind the sofas/beds which is usually found in 5 stars). The room service is great and the toiletteries provided are of very good quality.
I was disappointed with the breakfast though. It's not buffet and you choose one of the fixed combinations out of 8 provided. You need to order your breakfast and it takes nearly 30-45 minutes for it to arrive.
A huge convinience store is nearby. There's a designated smoking area inside this hotel, so you don't have to go out to streets to have your smoke. A nice touch.
Overall Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dr_B_Maitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJLozano, Gerente at Maria Jose Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2016

Dear Dr. Maitra,

Thank you so much for taking the time of writing a review for us and describing with such detail your experience at María José Suites. It sure helps us a lot by letting other travellers know about our facilities and service.

I am sorry, on the other hand, that we didn't get to let you know about the possibility of ordering your breakfast the day before and choosing the time you wanted it delivered in your suite, so that you hadn't had to wait for it more than 5 minutes in the morning.

We hope to see you back here next time you visit El Salvador to give us the chance to bring you an even better experience.

Thanks so much again for your words.

Regards from the team


PJ Lozano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I stayed for a week for work. The suite is clean and the staff are kind and attentive (although most of them do not speak English). They have several choices for the breakfast (no rice or meat though) which they bring to your doorstep everyday.

The location is excellent - I was told the area is safe because it's hear the major hotels like Sheraton and Barcelo.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Julienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJLozano, Gerente at Maria Jose Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Dear Julienne,

Thank you very much for your review. We are so glad about what you say about our suites and staff.

You are right, though, we do need to improve our overall level of English.

Anyway, we hope you'll choose again María José Suites to enjoy your next visit to El Salvador.

Regards from all our team


PJ Lozano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

First time at this property. This is an "apart-hotel", with full kitchen, utensils, living room and bedroom. REALLY CLEAN ! The Staff is extremely nice. Located in the best area of the city. Hotel only serves breakfast but it is not a problem. Leaving the hotel out the front door turning right there is a fancy restaurant (La Casona) less than 50 yards away. Turning left out the front door about 300-400 yards there are numerous restaurants including a Denny's. Internet works really good no issues during my stay. Amazing for a Latin American hotel. Not Fancy, Not a Resort. Just a nice small well run place, I highly recommend. Will stay here from now on when I am in El Salvador. Also it does have an elevator.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainKuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJLozano, Gerente at Maria Jose Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Cap,

Thanks a lot for your review! It makes us very happy reading these things you're writing about your stay with us.

We are always wanting to do things better so, please, feel free to send us any suggestions you consider will take our service to the next level.

In the meantime, we send you a big hug.

See you soon!


PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We stayed in this hotel on business for one week from late June to early July. We had a nice experience due to its friendly staff, clean and spacious room, as well as safe and quiet environment. This hotel is an excellent place to stay if you have only limited budget but still want to enjoy your leisure time in San Salvador!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chi Wei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ_Lozano, Gerente at Maria Jose Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2015

Dear Mr. Lin,

Thanks for having taken the time to write a review about us.

We are very glad to read how you felt when staying with us at the “María José”. We are committed to continuously improving our service, in order to make you feel as good as you deserve when you are away from home.

Kind regards


PJ Lozano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews