We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget-friendly hotel centrally located in San Salvador”
Review of Kal Nawi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kal Nawi Hotel
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in San Salvador
Reviewed 22 January 2017

I stayed in La Porta plaza hotel for 3 nights as I stayed in San Salvador as a base for exploring El Salvador.

The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was tasty. My room was quiet and located next to a garden which had a lovely view.
The room had a large lcd TV with many channels, quiet air conditioner, fridge, and the bathroom/shower worked great.

The location is very convenient as there was lots of food nearby in walking distance - street vendors and fast food such as McDonald's and Wendy's.

The hotel is a great value for the price and I highly recommend staying here. I would stay here again if I visit San Salvador.

Room Tip: Centrally located, good amenities, helpful staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Solomatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2016

I stayed 2 nights, the room given to me the first night was very neat, altough it was closer to the street and early in the mornig a lot of trafic noise from outside. The second night they give a different room because but it wasn't so neat as the later.
The breakfast was tasty and included eggs, beans, fruit, bread coffee and juice and even tamales.

For me was convenient because my office was crossing the street.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aamm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I used La Porta Plaza as my base in San Salvador as I took some tours each day. Don't be put off by the kind of shabby looking reception area. Once you enter the hotel you will find a pretty Spanish-style hacienda. My room was clean and comfortable with plenty of space for one person. The typical Salvadoran breakfast served on the patio overlooking the pool was delicious and I really appreciated that they started serving at 6:30 in the morning so I was able to eat before heading out early in the morning. The staff at the hotel are super friendly and will do whatever they can to help you have a great stay in San Salvador.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank trjnsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016

If you're coming from Guatemala City, make sure to stop at the first stop, San Benito, to get to this hotel. Cab ride is about 10 mins from there. We got there after dinner but there were a decent number of restaurants, mostly fast food, still open. We also visited the nearby grocery store for sundries. Nice room and bed, clean bathroom. Eating breakfast poolside is very relaxing. Breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2015

In the middle of downtown and relaxing enviroment, People makes me feel like home. Price is lower than big hotels and the services are enough. I strongly recommend you go there and pass a good night in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for single room
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
Thank Waldemarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
0.2 km away
Novo Hotel & Suite
Novo Hotel & Suite
#43 of 55 in San Salvador
69 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa Serena Escalon
Villa Serena Escalon
#22 of 55 in San Salvador
31 reviews
3.4 km away
Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel
Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel
#14 of 55 in San Salvador
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Villa del Angel Hotel
Villa del Angel Hotel
#10 of 55 in San Salvador
259 reviews
2 km away
HOTEL LAS MAGNOLIAS - San Salvador
3.6 km away
Hotel Marela
Hotel Marela
#28 of 55 in San Salvador
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kal Nawi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kal Nawi Hotel

Address: 63 Avenida Norte 115 | Colonia Escalon, San Salvador 503, El Salvador (Formerly La Porta Plaza Hotel)
Region: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in San Salvador
Price Range: $87 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kal Nawi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kal Nawi is a hotel with Colonial architecture in San Salvador, near to El Salvador del Mundo. You can get in touch with nature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kal Nawi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kal Nawi Hotel El Salvador/San Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing