We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$249
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
US$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/02/22
Hotels.comUS$125
Official HotelUS$143
eDreamsUS$249
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveller rating
479
180
89
52
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
479
180
89
52
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool casco viejo perfect location panama canal tours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 834 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2020

Right across from the beautiful Cathedral and one of the main squares, walking distance to all the attractions, nice restaurant and breakfast buffets, we were here for a high profile event and all the dignitaries were all staying here, lots of security around and friendly service.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank cvtmuench
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora Batista, Other at Central Hotel Panama Casco Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest, thank you very much for choosing the Central Hotel on your trip to Panama City. It is grateful to know you had an excellent stay with us. We hope you can visit us soon.

Best Regards,
Nora Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2020

Located on the central plaza of the old town opposite the cathedral. Charming old comfortable rooms finished to an excellent standard. Lovely reception area, Very substantial breakfast offering a wide selection of fresh fruits.

Staff are very informative and keen to be of service, which we found nice.

Room tip: Rooms on the top floors provide excellent viewing over the city.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patron2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora Batista, Other at Central Hotel Panama Casco Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest, we thank you for choosing the Central Hotel during your stay in Panama City. We are gratefully pleased to know that your stay was pleasant and that your expectations were fulfilled with our personnel, architecture, and location. We hope we can welcome you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Nora Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020

This hotel is wonderfully located in front of the Cathedral. We enjoyed the comfortable and quiet room, The large breakfast buffet offers a wide range of dishes. We also apreciated the service, the comfortabe lobby and bar

Date of stay: March 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ChristianEveline2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica Cusatti, Propietario at Central Hotel Panama Casco Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

Dear guest,

We highly appreciate that you chose the Central Hotel for your stay and that you shared your comment with all of us. It is good to know you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed everything we have to offer.

We hope you can come back very soon.

Sincerely,
Nora Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020

My husband and I vacationed two weeks in Panama, from Feb 19 – March 4, 2020. We explored the country, visiting Panama City, Santa Catalina, Boquette, Bocas del Toro and San Blas islands owned by Guna Yala. There are a lot of options for hotels in Panama City. We were fortunate to have chosen to stay at the Central Hotel Panama for our 3 nights in the old city. We would highly recommend this hotel for its exceptional service, great value, aesthetically beautiful ambience and its convenient location in Casco Viejo.
The service is friendly and personable and the staff went above and beyond to assist us. I had the unfortunate situation of losing my cell phone and my husband’s phone got drenched on the boat ride to San Blas. It was a rough day! However, the hotel staff spoke English much better than our Spanish and were so helpful in assisting us with bookings, phone calls and computer use to allow us to re-organize due to our technology loss. As an added bonus we were served a complimentary glass of wine and a bottle of rum to sooth our nerves. We cannot thank the hotel staff enough for their hospitality and would like to make a special shout out to Reynaldo and Gretel for their kindness.
I loved the hotel’s historic French architecture and beautiful lobby. The main attraction is a stunning wooden winding staircase with a lovely atrium, sitting area and restaurant on the main level. Our room was small, just like you would expect from an historic building, but clean and comfortable with a regular sized bathroom. We enjoyed our balcony overlooking a street in the old city. Our room was perfect for us but there are larger suites available of course. They served a hot and cold breakfast buffet, which was included in our room rate. The gym was adequately equipped and the rooftop pool has a spectacular view of the old city and the modern skyline in the distance. We were provided excellent recommendations for restaurants in the area.
If you go to Panama City, you must stay at this charming hotel!

Room tip: Get a room with a balcony for a view!
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 541lizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica Cusatti, Propietario at Central Hotel Panama Casco Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

Dear guest,

It is such a pleasure to read your fabulous experience not only in Panama but also in The Central Hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time to detail your experience like that.
It is an honor for us to welcome every single guest that chooses to stay at our charming hotel. As you have said, this hotel is very antique and its rooms have different sizes, so we appreciate that you understand that.
Also, thank you very much for letting us know how Reynaldo and Gretel assisted you. We will congratulate them for this great comment for sure.
As a traveler you never know what could happen, in this case you lost your phone and your husband's phone was damaged, but what it is important is that you were very well assisted by our staff.

We hope you can recommend us and please come back any time.

Sincerely,
Nora Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020

totally satisfied we come back
The position in Central Place was perfect we could go all old town walking
Breakfast was excellent
staff was very friendly
The room was nice and clean
Evelyn...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Date of stay: February 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank evelyntaheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica Cusatti, Propietario at Central Hotel Panama Casco Viejo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2020

Dear Evelyn,

Thank you for choosing the Central Hotel during your stay in Panama City. We are gratefully pleased to know that your stay was pleasant and that your expectations were fulfilled in all aspects.

We hope we can welcome you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Nora Batista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews