We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$28
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$28
View deal
Booking.comUS$28
PricelineUS$28
eDreamsUS$28
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
15
20
7
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15
20
7
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017

For the price this was a great find. The room wasn't the biggest but it was clean and I take that deal anytime. The staff was friendly. It is close to subway, minutes from 2 casinos and a few minute walk to the esplanade, which gives access to the rest of the city. It is also only a twenty minute walk to the Ancient City. The restaurant downstairs had really good food and is 24 hours. We were also on the 5th floor so street noise was considerably less.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LJ_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Understand this is not a fancy place but you don't pay fancy prices, either. It is an older building but is neat and clean. The hot water is very hot so be cautious. The people are friendly if you are. Panamanians, indeed most Latin Americans, live life at high decibels. This is their custom. If noise bothers you, bring ear plugs. I bring noise-cancelling ear protectors for use when the parties go on late at night. My room overlooked the street & was noisy at times. Bus and taxi horns are freely used even during the night. Lots of traffic.
Few here speak much English. It is good to know some Spanish or use Google Translate. My Spanish improved a lot.
Panama City is hot & muggy. Air conditioners are run day and night. I was here during the rainy season and saw some spectacular lightening shows. There were fabulous firework displays for some holidays.
Next door is a restaurant that serves great food. My favorite dessert was their homemade flan. Delicious. I drank tap water and ate the salads and had no illness,
On check-out, turn in your key and the AC and TV remotes.
Here is where you meet the real people, not tourists. I loved it.

Room tip: Front rooms have little balconies overlooking the street, street is noisy.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank janetm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

This is a small hotel located close to the old city Panama, but has the best sancocho in town, and also all the food in its restaurant because it is almost home made.
It is very inexpensive and people are very kind.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGringoMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Great place to stay if you want an authentic experience with the working class of Panama. I have been traveling to Panama twice a year for the past 16 years. I love this place the restaurant is extremely tasty, not pricey and open 24 hours - The rooms are clean, neat and the staff very helpful! This hotel is one of the "orginals" before the pricey high rises. If you can just relax and enjoy how close you are to walking many places from this hotel. No matter where you go in the world you should always think of safety, I have not ever had a problem with the location. Generally speaking you can get more bang for your buck!!!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HAMPTONUNIVPIRATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 May 2016

The hotel and especially where it was located gave me what I believe was a 1st hand look at the people and daily life for the average person in Panama. I stayed in this hotel for 7 days in the middle of April 2016. Overall the service was acceptable. The maid service was outstanding. Couldn't beat the price of about $40 per day.

The room was comfortable and clean. I especially enjoyed the balcony room they gave me fronting the hotel. Sure it was noisy most of the time, but I liked being able to peer out anytime, night or day, to see what was going on. There always was something interesting happening. The air conditioning worked great, so if I wanted to shut the world out all I needed to do was close the balcony doors. The WiFi was just acceptable.

Bars, restaurants, and other local establishments were close by so I was able to get what I needed at most any hour of the day. I met a number of kind, interesting locals during my stay. I would return to this hotel again.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuraVida2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews