We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, but Some Drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
Ranked #28 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We stayed for a couple of nights and booked the DoubleTree because of its location. The check in experience was great and quick (welcome cookies make everything good!). The room itself was not very warm and welcoming: limited decoration and a very basic bathroom. The bed was comfortable, though, and the shower was nice with great water pressure. We also found the room to be very, very noisy. We heard everything that happened in the rooms on both sides of us, which suggests the walls are not that thick. If you are a light sleeper that may be an issue.

We asked about taking a cab to another part of the city one morning and were quickly connected with a driver from a transportation company that is set up in their lobby. Our trip cost twice what a yellow taxi cost during our return trip, and our return took three times as long. Also, the van we rode in was uncomfortable (the yellow taxi was actually a better experience). I don't recommend using the transportation company in the lobby; ask instead if they can call a yellow taxi if you are concerned about pricing.

The location is good and safe and is close to a metro, and we were only about 10-15 minutes away from both Panama Viejo and Casco Viejo. We walked from Casco Viejo back to the hotel one day, and aside from the heat we found it to be a beautiful, pleasant walk. Overall, this is a decent hotel, and we would recommend it with only a few reservations.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steph_RoadUnraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Behhis M, Manager at DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments.
We hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Carlos Monsef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017

Wrong information given my the AP transfer desk made me miss my flight as staff should be aware of the endless COPA check-in lines and unfriendly could not care less COPA staff who denied check-in 50 minutes prior departure. Surely one must rely on infos provided for by hotelstaff who's smiles and attitude greatly differ at the Front Desk and in the Restaurant.
Overall very good value for the rate paid but a new COPA ticket costs me more than my stay....AVIANCA is so much better !
Panama is a city of broken sidewalks so do not expect to walk...

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Chrisinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Behhis M, Manager at DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments . It's really pleasant to know that you are a satisfied guest and do not doubt that we will continue making our best effort to have consistent quality and service standards

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Carlos Monsef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Great place Internet was free Shame no bath only showers and no fried eggs and bacon for breakfast but otherwise great value for money and central location Lots of promotional offers using all the major booking companies via the internet search engines

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank lawrencem261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Behhis M, Manager at DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments . It's really pleasant to know that you are a satisfied guest and do not doubt that we will continue making our best effort to have consistent quality and service standards

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Carlos Monsef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

This hotel is centrally located, in a secure business area and was just a 1/2 hour drive from the airport. They arranged for my pick up and I arranged for my ride back to the airport with the same driver. He was punctual and pleasant. The cost is USD $30.00 each way. My hotel check in was speedy and I was upgraded to a junior suite and paid USD $15.00 extra for the breakfast for two which also came with two complimentary drinks. The buffet breakfast was good and it was convenient for me but if I was staying longer I would have left the hotel as there were many choices close by.

The pool on the 7th floor was one of reasons I booked this hotel and the views were great. It would have been nice if the bar area was open when I was there. It appeared to be open but I couldn't find the bartender. Good thing I brought a few beers with me.

Loved the bathrobes as that was a nice touch. The bathroom was huge and the shower was great. The bed was extremely comfortable. The best part was the view of the Gothic inspired Iglesia del Carmen church from my bedroom window. An inspiring sight indeed!

I do have one complaint. I called once for an extra pillow and also requested one at the front desk in the evening but one was never delivered!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Indera N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Behhis M, Manager at DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you took to write your comments and you can trust they will be shared with our staff because they are a great tool to motivate them and also to make the necessary improvement in our internal processes.

Thank you again for your loyalty and we hope your prompt visit.

Cordially,
Carlos Monsef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

This is a decent hotel, in a good location, with great service!

Wish we could have seen out of our room window, but it was smeared with something on the outside...

We were able to walk to the malecon at night, it was fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Behhis M, Manager at DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear guest,

It’s very nice to read comments like yours. Thanks for letting us know that you are a satisfied guest and do not doubt that we will continue striving to provide you with the best service again and again.

You are always welcome.

Best regard,
Carlos Monsef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#40 of 115 in Panama City
812 reviews
0.5 km away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 115 in Panama City
1,204 reviews
1.2 km away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#17 of 115 in Panama City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#12 of 115 in Panama City
912 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#21 of 115 in Panama City
2,760 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Panama Distrito Financiero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City

Address: Via Espana & Federico Boyd Ave, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: $82 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a room at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Panama City - El Carmen, where a friendly staff member is waiting to greet you with a freshly baked, chocolate chip cookie. The central location of this Panama City hotel makes it ideal for business travelers and guests on vacation. Attend conferences in the financial district, or enjoy the fine Central American dining and excellent shopping centers situated within walking distance.Each spacious guest room at our Panama City hotel features a 37-inch TV, minibar, and luxurious plush-top bed with five jumbo hypo-allergenic pillows. Families on vacation can enjoy the additional space that comes with a suite. Use the complimentary high-speed internet access to stay in touch with the office or to plan your day. Accessible rooms are available for guests who require modified amenities. Relax in the rooftop pool and whirlpool, unwind in the Spa, or exercise in the fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Panama City Hotel Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing