We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Coral Suites(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro(Panama City)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Panama(Panama City)
US$161
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$150
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$57
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
256
144
41
22
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
144
41
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat modern hotelone bedroom suitepool area is veryfitness centergreat poolthe bed was super comfortablerooms are bigrecently stayed at this hotelplatinum memberthe room service menusteam roomfront desk and conciergeuber ridelarge poolupgraded to a suiteregular roomfree weights
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 486 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2015

we had a suite which we did not really have time to enjoy; bed was excellent, room quiet. Out of one corner of the living room we could spot the Pacific ocean. Service everywhere was great, the restaurant buffet style Manolo's was fantastic in terms of freshness of vegetables and meats. The gym equipment had a a huge variety of machine and all in top working condition. Great water filter system the Nikken Water Pour. The pools was also delightful, one regret, no hot jacuzzi anywhere although the locker rooms had dry saunas. We could not have been more impressed with our one night experience, truly a perfect vacations spot. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryLee22043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonymanfre, General Manager at Sortis Hotel, Spa & Casino, Autograph Collection By Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Dear MaryLee22043

Thank you for your kind comments, we have assemble a great product that combines the relaxing areas of a resort with the modern solutions of a city hotel suitable for both the business persons as well as for families. We stride for perfection and for an ultimate customer service experience. Once again thank you for you review, see you soon.

Kind Regards

Edgar Perez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

This is the new hot spot for Panama City. Excellent hotel and services. The hotel is new, very modern, plenty of new outlets. Wonderful. Excellent steakhouse on ground level. Big sports bar. Amazing pool. Haven't found a fault yet. Management is really tight, and seem to have everything organized.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Reginald Dougla... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonymanfre, General Manager at Sortis Hotel, Spa & Casino, Autograph Collection By Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Dear Douglas K

Its was a pleasure to have you as a guest, we are very glad that you enjoyed our restaurants, sports bar and pool. I hope to see you very soon enjoying your new home away from home,, The Sortis

Kind Regards

Edgar Perez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

I stayed at The Sortis property on two separate trips this past month and have to say that it is first class!

All of the staff is eager to help, over friendly and very knowledgeable.

The style, furniture and artwork in the lobby, rooms, and pool area is very modern, unique, and high quality.

The rooms and very spacious with very comfortable beds. Their is not a bad view in the whole property as Panama City's skyline is amazing. You have to try to catch a sunset from the roof top lounge or ball room.

The pool and fitness center are amazing. I have actually never been to a nicer fitness center at any Marriott brand. And the pool has to be the best of any big city property.

The selection of restaurants couldn't be better. And the breakfast buffet is better than most American properties.

You can walk, take the subway, or take a short affordable taxi to most locations in Panama City.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoLimitFoldem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonymanfre, General Manager at Sortis Hotel, Spa & Casino, Autograph Collection By Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Dear NoLimitFoldem

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and specially one of our beloved Sunsets at the Sky Lounge. Thank you for your kind words and i hope that i have the honor of meeting you in person on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Edgar Perez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Staff tries very hard to provide good service and make you welcome. Management however is something else. Twice in one night, first at 11:30 pm and then again at 3:00am the guest in the room next to ours was blasting their music. Both times we called the front desk. Both time the guest refused to turn their music down to a reasonable level. At 3:30 am we were the ones punished and had to move our room. We spoke to the hotel manager the next day who said there was nothing that could be done. This guest disrespected the hotel and the other hotel guests. At 3:00am they refused to turn their music down and management did nothing. What message does this send to staff? The hotel manager said they have rules they just refuse to enforce them. There are many good hotels in Panama City. Given our experience we will never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonymanfre, General Manager at Sortis Hotel, Spa & Casino, Autograph Collection By Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Dear Bruce S

Thank you for your comments, i wil research about this situation and you can rest asure that an issue lie this will never happen again, give us a second chance and i am sure that you will not regreat it. Please feel free to contact me if you need any type of assistance during your stay.

Kind Regards

Edgar Perez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Hello my TripAdvisor friends or should I say Amigos! My friend and I traveled to Panama for the first time to meet a colleague who was their for a business conference at Hard Rock, but we wanted to stay in this part of town and luckily found Sortis.

To preface we have both traveled extensively and I typically stay at 4seasons, Ritz, 5 star type resorts wherever I go.

From the moment we checked in we realized we had made the perfect choice. For the first time in years the front desk (Hi Cesar!) had asked if we wanted to see the upgrade room before we purchased it (wow a place that actually wants you to make a smart decision not based on a website pic, how refreshing!). Well we went for the 2 bedroom apartment and it was jaw dropping awesome! Beautiful modern furnishings, a flat screen HD TV, and a deep soaking tub, and more closets than Oprah has.

First off all the hotel is spotless and everyone spoke excellent English (you don't find that everywhere in Panama).

We ate almost everyday at the lunch buffet and it was exquisite. We were worried about consuming raw or non-heated food when we travel, but here it was world class quality. The chicken, rice, salad bar, kids buffet, dessert bar were absolutely spot on. They also didn't "Americanize" it too much which I liked. If you are there on Sundays I hope you get the Brunch we got with carving starving station (beef, turkey, and duck). Absolutely have to get it and its only 20 dollars or so!

Facilities: 5/5 - This place has a very nice casino (medium size) - I've been to Vegas all the high end resorts 20 times, but I was pleasantly surprised it. Also, we went to the sports bar on the same floor turns out its a full blown sports book. So, you can gamble on games and it has 200 TVs showing all the American sports (even the PPV boxing match, all football games and more). So, if your travelling that is really nice to have all the luxuries of home. They also had a pool table, shuffleboard, and looks like a small stage for live music as well. If you are here for a bachelor party this would be a perfect spot to start your night off!

Also, the hotel has 3-4 other restaurants (didn't even go but all looked really nice and upbeat). They even have an Espresso/Coffee Lounge we went to a few times and had some wine and appetizers which were excellent. If you like Tea make sure you don't miss the tea shop connected to the hotel from the outside, its really nice loose leaf tea.

In my reviews I've rarely ever mentioned service by using first names. However I need to make sure to give thanks for people who made our whole trip. John (brought us to our room and every day made sure we had fun the night before, the day we left he even told us about events in Panama in 2016 we should consider). Eric in Valet became our go to concierge. He told us where to go every night typically in Casco Vieja. Also, Cesar at the front desk. Super Professional - we had a communication issue with housekeeping one day and Cesar personally called them and even called me back to let me know they were coming up.

So, I did have some advice for the hotel and management that would make this place even better.

Pool - The service was very confusing most days. The people (especially Sam) were always smiling, but if you order even a mojito or bottle of cava it took 30 minutes to get it. I'm saying on days when only 6 people were by the pool. The pool is massive and they can do so much with it, but we basically slept by the pool (no real action, no bar to hang out and never saw anyone ordering food there). You don't need a DJ but they could increase revenue and customer satisfaction greatly paying more attention to this area.

Lastly, our friend who stayed at Hard Rock said our hotel blew it out of the water. He said our Wifi (super fast), facilities were spotless, and overall vibe of the hotel is a place to hang all day long.

Small hints:

1) Go to Casco Vieja (old town) - its spectacular, 100+ year old places converted into wine bars, underground bars, and nightlife - We went 4 nights straight!!!!

2) Luxury Mall - Louis V, Prada, Ralph Lauren, and more are 2 blocks away in a beautiful mall. Also, for a cheap eat try the rotisserie chicken place in the food court.

3) Cabs are very accessible in every part of town - DO NOT RENT A CAR! its nearly impossible to drive down these streets and its fairly cheap to cab everywhere.

Sortis - We applaud you and we hope to be back soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MonteChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonymanfre, General Manager at Sortis Hotel, Spa & Casino, Autograph Collection By Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

Dear MonteChicago

Wowwwww, thank you for your kind words, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had so many memorable moments, i will personally deliver the messages to all of the staff members that you mentioned before. Thank you once again for your review and i hope to see you soon at your new home in Panama.

Kind Regards

Edgar Perez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews