We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Gibson's Lodgings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gibson's Lodgings
Ranked #3 of 25 Annapolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2008

This was my first weekend getaway to Annapolis. I am so glad I chose to stay at Gibson's Lodgings. The location was absolutely perfect.

Checking in was fast and easy. The Innkeeper was friendly and professional. She walked us to our room and made sure we had everything we needed. There was sparkling wine and chocolates for us because we booked two nights at the Inn. That was a nice touch that most places never do without charging you at least double the price of what you could buy the wine for yourself. Gibson's does it for free just as a thank you for booking two nights at the Inn.

The room was spacious and furnished with antiques and period art. The bedding was wonderful and the mattress was so comfortable that we could have stayed in bed all day. The linens were clean and soft! The shower and tub were spotless. The water was always hot and the water pressure was great. It was truly a luxury to bathe there.

In the morning I went down to breakfast expecting the usual skimpy "contenental" breakfast. I was pleasantly surprised! There were three kinds of bagels, english muffins, toast, hot blueberry muffins, hot mini quiches, four kinds of cereal...not from boxes...nice hearty granolas, oatmeal, fresh fruit, orange juice, milk, coffee, and tea. The Innkeeper told me that since my girlfriend was still in bed that I could take a tray to our room. It was wonderful. Cina cups and saucers with a full carafe of freshly brewed coffe and a generous variety of breakfast items to be enjoyed while lounging in bed.

We could see the Naval Academy right next door! The location is perfect. We went shopping in the surrounding boutiques and ate lunch at an authentic Irish pub just blocks from Gibson's.

There are so many choices for dinner! It seems as if everything is just around the corner, We had a great steak dinner and went out for a drink afterwards. I had a cigar from the local smoke shop which was a nice treat for me.

I wish we could have stayed longer at Gibson's. We really loved it and we are looking forward to staying there again very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank girlwithaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 247 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2008

My boyfriend and I were looking for a cute inn near the water in Annapolis. We thought this property looked inviting. Unfortunately, there is nothing interesting about it at all. We had a room in the oldest building, and the mattress was lumpy, the sheets and towels were very poor quality, and the room was hot. We did find a small fan, but we could not open the windows because they lacked screens. For $220 a night, we felt we should have had a better room and experience. The breakfast was very, very basic too. And, the staff wasn't friendly. They weren't rude but not as nice as you would expect from a b and b. If you are looking for a romantic getway location, keep looking.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank murphydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibsonslodge, Owner at Gibson's Lodgings, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear murphydevil,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry that you and your boyfriend didn't enjoy your stay with us. I'm happy to let you know that since your stay, we have changed ownership & fully remodeled the inn, replacing all the beds, carpets, sheets, and other features. Hopefully, you'll give us another chance if you visit Annapolis again.

Take care,
Meredith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Stayed here for a weekend getaway and was very disappointed to find that the "small things" that mean so much and make a bed and breakfast special were just not there. For instance, we did not receive a warm welcome upon arrival which set a bad tone right from the start. Water and soda are available in the fridge. We thought this was a nice touch until we were informed that you must pay $1 for each one. There were no toiletries such as shampoo/conditioner/body soap available. There was only a dispenser in the shower on the wall for these items similar to one in a public restroom. The room was clean but otherwise just adequate, nothing special. No tub, no fireplace, nothing fancy. Housecleaning did not come until 12:30 in the afternoon and we were getting ready to go out for the day after an early morning walk. When I asked the woman to come back in 30 minutes, I received a very rude huff and YEAH!!! Not how I would expect to be treated when paying over $220 per night. Location is excellent. Breakfast is simple - bagles, fruit, coffee, juice, cereal, and one misc. item. Overall, the stay was just OK and we were really let down and upset about spending so much per night for just OK. Unfortunately, this put a damper on the weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelawareSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Stayed in one of the few rooms in the oldest building/home that had a private bathroom. Was very enjoyable, as we were celebrating a 5 year anniversary with a one-night getaway from the kiddies.

The location was fantastic for ease of parking, easy to get to/leave from and walking distance from the main street/west street and Eastport.

The room was neat and tidy, tastfully decorated and furnished with antiques and comfortable in its accomodations and appointments. The parking for free in the courtyard area was a major bonus, since we could easily have spent $50 for garage parking overnight (we would have been over the daily max each day and spent $25 / day for Saturday and Sunday).

We were pleasantly surprised to find that the property is directly adjacent to the Naval Academy (the courtyard parking actually shares a brick wall along the backside of the lot with the academy). And, there is a pedestrian's visitors entrance to the academy directy next to the Inn.

Breakfast was simple, yet enjoyable: Some coffee, cereals, fresh fruit and bagels were my choices. I also tried some of the yummy yellow cake/orange flavored bundt cake/ring with a vanilla syrupy drizzle frosting.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pablopbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

Stayed the weekend of 02/01-03. The property is very clean and quaint. My room was comfortable. Parking on site was an added bonus. Breakfast was very simple (bagels amd muffins). Within easy walking distance to downtown and the Naval Academy.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adawosdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.4 km away
Historic Inns of Annapolis
1.1 km away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Annapolis
1,307 reviews
0.2 km away
Annapolis Waterfront Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#8 of 21 in Annapolis
883 reviews
5.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Annapolis
0.3 km away
Chez Amis Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibson's Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibson's Lodgings

Address: 110 Prince George St, Annapolis, MD 21401-1704
Region: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis
Price Range: S$189 - S$337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gibson's Lodgings 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are fully remodeled and under new ownership as of December 2010. The three houses on the property, circa 1770, 1890, 1988, offer 20 rooms as well as a small meeting room. This is a great and distinctive place to stay while learning about the abundant history of the Annapolis area. We are conveniently next to the Naval Academy and only a half block from the City Docks. Two of the buildings are historic town houses: the Patterson (a 1760s Federal Georgian with 5 rooms and our main office & dining room) and the Berman (a 1890s house with a porch and 9 bedrooms, one equipped for travelers with disabilities). Behind them is the Lauer House, a 1988 addition with six king suites, a full kitchen and a sitting room that can serve as a meeting room. Filled with both antiques and reproductions, the bedrooms are of varying sizes. A central patio and courtyard serve as a common area for all three buildings.We offer free courtyard parking with your stay and a continental breakfast (including a hot waffle bar) each morning from 7:30-10:30. All our rooms are air-conditioned and have free Wi-Fi access along with flat-screen televisions, hair dryers and access to an iron and ironing board. A selected number of rooms are pet friendly with a $35 fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gibson's Lodgings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gibson`s Lodgings Hotel Annapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing