We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of Basmati

Basmati
Get food delivered
Ranked #63 of 337 Restaurants in Annapolis
Cuisines: Indian, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 29 April 2021

Dinner for 2....everything was excellent. We tried the Basmati platter appetizer and several different dishes...everything was fantastic. If you're looking for good Indian, give it a shot.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ESMDVAShorereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2019

Excellent restaurant all around - attractive setting, friendly and knowledgeable staff, and some of the best Indian food I've eaten. Lamb Bhuna was a new dish for me, so tasty and different from other curries I've had. Especially delicious Rasmalai was a treat for dessert. We're going back next week.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank CB-Brooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019

It's easy to run out of superlatives when describing this restaurant. First, of course, is the food. We are huge Indian food fans. Have eaten at the "best" Indian restaurants in London, NYC, etc. My husband and I both looked at each other half way through our dinner and remarked that the food at Basmati was better than we've had at those top rated restaurants. Also, the portions were so generous that we couldn't finish either dish we'd ordered and noticed many other people walking out of the restaurant with bags of food. And the enormous platter of delicious rice was incredible. Too many times we have been served an entree with a meager bowl of rice. Not at Basmati! Their puri was perfection and their rice pudding dessert was addictive.
The atmosphere is lovely. Hard to believe it's in a strip mall when you get inside. And the owner and staff are wonderfully warm and helpful. It's a family business and the attitude of everyone certainly reflects an "above and beyond" spirit. Our server (the owner's nephew) gave us very helpful descriptions and recommendations.
Overall, we're thrilled to have discovered this fabulous restaurant and will be back.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dhbourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2019

We've been here a few times over a couple of years and it is truly the best Indian restaurant in terms of food quality. Most of the dishes are not "hot" so if you're eating Indian food for the 1st time, this is the place to try. There is a perception of Indian food being "spicy" when actually meaning that it's "hot" (i.e. red or green chillies/peppers). Anyway, the food is as authentic as you can get for North Indian cuisine - validated by those from India who've eaten here. The lunch buffet has great value for money with a select choice of dishes, desserts and the delicious masala chai (tea) ! In addition, the staff like Deepak are helpful just like the kind and gracious owner Tara Pathak. Highly recommended ! Keep it up and we'll be back :)

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A_Top_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2019

We love the lunch buffet, especially on Tuesdays and Fridays when they feature goat curry. Their seasoning is so aromatic that every offering on the buffet is delightful-vegetarian and vegan offerings are delicious too. It's North Indian cuisine, so not too hot but full of flavour. A Taj Mahal beer goes perfectly with the food.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paula v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basmati also viewed

 

Been to Basmati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.