We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money...”
Review of Hawthorn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawthorn House
Ranked #18 of 38 Nantucket B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Just as the owners of the Hawthorn House have many years on Nantucket and vast knowledge of the island so do we. We have stayed at The Beachway guest house, The Safe Harbor Guest House, The Nesbitt Inn, The Brant Point Inn, The White House, The 1739 House, The Cliff Lodge, The Scallop Inn, The Anchor Inn, The Martin House Inn, The Easton House, and The Carlisle House Inn to name a few.

With that being said, this wasn't our first rodeo on ACK. We have an extensive knowledge base to compare to.

With that understanding we'll start our review. The one positive, if you don't bring a car, is the location. In the heart of downtown this can be a plus. Some downtown establishments can have noise issues but we found it reasonably quiet. That was partly because the front door was always closed and in the room, the window closed with AC ON. The second floor common seating area is nice.

The windows on the second floor were always closed tight making it hot and stuffy with no air circulation - probably to keep downtown noise out.

No breakfast. When we made the reservation - didn't even notice that there was no breakfast mentioned. They give you a lame $7 per person voucher and you have to go out and find something. With Nantucket prices it doesn't get much. It takes a lot of effort to put on a spread for guests - no doubt about it. One would think that saving them all that time, effort, AND money, they would give a better breakfast "allowance". Without a common room breakfast there is almost no interaction with other guests, which many visitors enjoy. This paragraph is a big negative.

Coffee. There is a Keurig on the second floor but we felt we were on rations. The sugar packets and creamers were sparse and always seem to run out. Seriously? How difficult is it and how much does it cost to keep those incidentals in adequate supply.

We had a "private" bath that was not attached to our room. It was nestled very cozily in the middle of the second floor. What did that mean? There were no windows and no A/C in the bathroom. Turn on two lights and take a shower and what do you have? A sauna! Couldn't very well open the door because it opened into the common area. Try drying your hair and putting on makeup in a steamy sauna? All while hunching over to see in the mirror that was installed horizontally instead of vertically for people five feet or less. There was a ceiling fan but it had almost no effect as it was just pulling more warm air from the common area.

Maintenance. This is Nantucket. Maintain your establishment. The private bathroom had a very old lock that was difficult to lock. Had to fight with it every time. $20 fix it. The room had a back door to a nice small "private" deck. The door handle locked. However no matter how hard you pushed on the door, it wouldn't catch and latch. $50 fix it.

Based on our room #5 experience, we would rate this place as having Nantucket prices but not a Nantucket level of accommodations. Not terrible, but poor. Others with different rooms may see thing differently. Sorry folks.

Room Tip: Avoid room #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 54FAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man-from-Nantucket, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

We appreciate your review and will take your suggestions under advisement. To quote Ralph Waldo Emerson, "Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

This quintessential New England B&B is located in the heart of downtown, and is an easy walk from the ferry. Our room (#2) is on the first floor, with private bath and has a deck off of it. Very clean and simple. No frills. Perfection since we don't spend much time in the room anyway. They don't provide breakfast, but give nice coupons for nearby bakeries/coffee joints that more than cover the bill.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The photos online were very deceiving when it came to The Cubby Hole room. Instead of sun shining in, it was shady and dark so moss and mildew were growing outside on our porch chairs. Inside it smelled of mildew so we kept the AC on nonstop. The room was clean and the staff was helpful.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jpspbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man-from-Nantucket, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review! We're delighted that your enjoyed your stay. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

After many B&B stays, this is the first time that it was simply "all business." Full payment required before we even went to the room. A little off-putting considering we made a 50% deposit and have never walked out on a business. It's a clean, basic environment, thought not terribly private or romantic. Unfortunately, the sole traveler in the next room woke us every morning on the call to his daughter - not much fun on an Anniversary weekend. Perhaps some house rules should be in effect. The location is by far the strongest point. All was very clean, just needs some updating. The hosts were on call, but not very forthcoming with hospitality. Breakfast is via $7 coupons which doesn't buy much in Nantucket. Everything is functional, but not fancy. No refunds are very strictly enforced. Coffee machine the only amenity. Not sure why we felt so unwelcome considering it was a very off-season time-frame which usually means you are more welcome anyplace.....

Room Tip: Not sure, but it depends on who else is there....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Alladin_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Man-from-Nantucket, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for your honest review. In terms of our being "all business" please know that the first thing that any hotel or motel does upon check-in is to ask for a photo ID and a credit card. They reason they don't charge your balance at check-in is that you might be incurring additional charges during your stay. You never will be at the Hawthorn House! We charge for the room and the room only. The first boat off the island in the morning is at 6:30am. We wouldn't want you to have to take care of business before rushing to catch a boat.
As you said, our location can't be beat and our rooms are clean, basic and very competively priced.
Our management style is, indeed, laid back. We try our best to be accessible without being pushy. Having been on the island for more than 30 years we have a wealth of knowledge and are happy to share it if asked.
We hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Had not been back to Nantucket in over 15 years and decided to take a quick mid week get away in January to see the island while it's quite. We lived here during the 90s and wanted to see how much things had changed, and what remains the same. The only thing we wanted was an in town location so we could walk anyplace, and the Hawthorn House fit the bill perfectly. We really weren't expecting more than that but we were pleasantly surprised. Mitch and Diane were very nice hosts, taking the time to talk with us about the island and what was going on, etc. Room was comfortable, clean and had a mini fridge for our bottle of wine. It was just a very short walk to all the restaurants we wanted to get to. Again, pleasantly surprised, and we will definitely be back at Hawthorn the next time we are on island.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantucket
0.1 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
258 reviews
0.2 km away
76 Main
76 Main
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
285 reviews
36.1 km away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 38 in Nantucket
359 reviews
0.2 km away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#5 of 38 in Nantucket
495 reviews
0.2 km away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#17 of 38 in Nantucket
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: 2 Chestnut St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3507
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nantucket
Price Range: $183 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior location and value distinguish this attractive 1849 guesthouse. 9 rooms all have private baths, wi-fi, mini-refrigerators, and air-conditioning in season. Breakfast is provided in two local restaurants using a voucher system. Open year round. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing