We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa Encantada(Antigua)
US$116
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$88
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$176
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cirilo(Antigua)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$135
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porta Hotel Antigua(Antigua)
US$134
US$118
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Doozy Koala(Antigua)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
209
57
11
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
57
11
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarehalf blockcentral parkguatemala citylovely boutiqueperfect locationstreet noisebreakfast was includedstay there againbeautiful courtyardi highly recommend this hotellovely roomsmall hotelboutique hotelsmall roomloved this hotelrooftop terrace
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

the hotel is really nice. 2 walking minutes from the plaza in one of the central streets. the rooms are rather small and basic but there is nothing missing. the stuff is helpful and friendly. from the terrace you can see the 3 volcanos
fuego is active now so if you sit long enough (and have a glas of wine) you may see eruptions. there is also airport transport for 40 dollars. Marco speaks great English, but also the rest of the staff do great with their little English. Marco can also organise some tours for you.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Katja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaCatedral, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Dear Guest.

The team of Hotel Cathedral we gives thank you for the time you spent to rate our services.

We hope to have filled all expectations, it will be a pleasure to serve you.

See you soon.

Best regards.

Marco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We spent one night in this nice little hotel. I was unsure how many people were there, but it was not too many. We had a very nice room with a king sized bed just off the patio. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was quite well adorned with updated fixtures and a very good shower. About 9 PM the staff shut the outer doors from the street to the interior of the patio, so we had a very peaceful night. There was a small safe in the room which was quite adequate for our valuables.
Breakfast the next morning was quite tasty and we had choices of several menu items. The food was typical of a Guatemala breakfast including eggs and fried plantains. Breakfast was included in the price of the room.
Overall we were quite impressed with the accommodations. We paid about $130 for the night's lodging and breakfast the next morning, which is in line with other places we have stayed in Antigua. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaCatedral, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Dear Guest.

Thanks for the time and write your comments of the services

The team of Hotel Cathedral Gives thanks you for staying with us.

It is a pleasure to serve you all the time. This is your house here in Antigua.

Best regards.

Marco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Located just one block from the Central Plaza, this hotel is very well located. The hotel is small but that is the beauty of it. The room have the old fashion look of Antigua. They also have their own parking which is very important in Antigua. The staff is the best, they treat us great!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaCatedral, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Dear Guest.

Thanks for the time and write your comments of the services

The team of Hotel Cathedral Gives thanks you for staying with us.

I hope see you soon, It is a pleasure to serve you all the time. This is your house here in Antigua.

Best regards.

Marco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel has a beautiful little courtyard and the rooms are very comfortable. Avoid room 9 as it is adjacent to both the bar and entrance from carpark so it is very noisy. The staff were very helpful

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaCatedral, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Dear guest.

The hotel Team of Hotel Cathedral give thanks you for the time to write your comments.

It was a pleasure serving you, we try to give the best of us, We hope see you the next time stay with us and give another room with no noisy.

So that you leave satisfied with our services hope to see you on another occasion here in this Spot of Colonial Antigua Guatemala.

Best regards.

Marco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

You enter from the street through a wrought iron gate into an enchanted garden staffed by people who are warm, welcoming and attentive to your every need. Hotel La Catedral is the perfect companion to La Antigua herself. More than once, in our 7 day stay, this colonial jewel reminded me of the fabled village of Brigadoon, the enchanted community where no one ages and which appears to the faithful through the mists of time. The hotel is situated perfectly in the center of town, making most attractions and restaurants an easy walk. La Catedral offers its guests a delicious, not to mention, free breakfast from a varied menu and served by the charming and always smiling Claudia. Our rooms were spotless and comfortable and quiet despite the fact that they were on the street side of the hotel. Our window proved to be an entertaining portal to street life in Antigua during the day and as the days progressed, I felt more and more like a seasoned resident of this wonderful place. The roof top terrace offers a wonderful view of the surrounding mountains and, on days it chooses to reveal itself, Volcan Agua in all its glory. My only complaint about the trip is that I seem to have lost my heart somewhere there in the hotel or on the streets of La Antigua and I haven't been myself since my return. I must thank Beatrice, Claudia, Marco, and Oscar for a memorable and lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco G, Gerente at Hotel la Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

The Team of Hotel La Catedral Gives write thank you for your comments.

It was a pleasure to serve you, I hope you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We want every guest to have a nice experience and nice memories.

We hope to see you on another occasion here in this place of Antigua.

Marco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews