We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large group”

El Tenedor del Cerro
Ranked #43 of 399 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$100
Cuisines: Guatemalan
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Very interesting place! This is a really pretty cool place situated on top of a hill overlooking the town. I really do not understand the parking fee, but oh well. We had about 21 in out group and we were seated and served in a respectable time. The food came out hot and well presented as well as delicious! I think we ordered one of everything, pizza, pasta and filet.
The grounds were also well maintained and I think it is part of a museum since there were some very nice, original artwork along the walk.
Very nice place with a great food and a great view of the volcanos in the background! Probably the nicest place we have visited.

Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POrdonez, Gerente at El Tenedor del Cerro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you for visiting El Cerro de Santo Domingo with your group. If you return (which we would appreciate) we hope you have enough time to walk through the gardens, enjoy the different art works and wonderful views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017

Good food, good service and great view! Where else can you get a leisurely lunch in the fresh air, with a view of an erupting volcano and then stroll around the artwork afterwards. The food was undramatic, nothing like the fancy display at the Casa Santo Domingo (owned by the same group), but tasted fresh and well-prepared.
Would walk up to the restaurant from the city to get rid of some calories the next time I come here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CannotEatPrestige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POrdonez, Gerente at El Tenedor del Cerro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your lunch and visit at El Tenedor. Hope you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

On the last of our four nights at Casa Santo Domingo we decided to try their hilltop restaurant, El Tenedor del cerro. We took the 7PM complimentary shuttle from the hotel to the restaurant (approximately 15 minutes away). In retrospect, we wished we had gone earlier to enjoy both sunset views and views of the twinkling city lights. Also, there is an intriguing modern sculpture garden on site which bears exploring; we wished we had had more time.

We were just one of four occupied tables that night, so service was prompt and friendly. We each ordered cocktails and salads (which were huge and delicious), and we each ordered a pizza. The pizzas had very thin crusts and were a little crispy (just how I like them). The toppings were flavourful, and somehow we both managed to eat every last slice. Unfortunately we were too full to order dessert--there looked to be some good choices.

Two hours later we took the shuttle back to the hotel, impressed with our dinner, the service, the views, and the reasonable cheque at the end of the meal! We would definitely return to El Tenedor del cerro for dinner if we ever find ourselves in Antigua again

4  Thank Beyond_YXU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POrdonez, Gerente at El Tenedor del Cerro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thank you for your review and for staying at Casa Santo Domingo during your visit to La Antigua. We are pleased to know you also had time to visit El Cerro and dine at El Tenedor. Also, that you enjoyed some of our salads and pizzas and that we served you well. Hope you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Had the pleasure of dining at El Tenedor del cerro twice for brunch & once for a private dinner for 125 guests. Brunch: Incredible! If you have an opportunity to go on a Sunday you absolutely must. Reservations needed as they fill up quickly. On Sundays the tortillas are made outside while you watch, there is a little market place area set up off to the side of the dining spaces. If the weather is nice choose to sit outside. The views are amazing. All the food is delicious! Dinner: The food again - spectacular - will post a photo of the corn soup they served each guest in their own hollowed out bowl made from a coconut. The views at sunset were breath taking & the staff had the walkway lined with lit candles. The service is incredible. Note they are closed on Mondays. The ride up the mountain to the restaurant is scenic - bring your camera and be ready for a GREAT experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Beautiful setting to enjoy the view of Antigua, great service, and yummy breakfast! Buffet offered and it looked great but didn't want to overindulge! But whole wheat( integral) blueberry pancakes with maple syrup and the pupusas and lots of cafe con leche were delicious! Shuttle to/from hotel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tenedor del Cerro also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to El Tenedor del Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing