We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand boutique hotel to stay in when exploring wonderful Antigua, Guatemala”
Review of Posada Del Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Del Angel
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We are a 76-year-old Australian couple who came on a five-day trip to Guatemala, based on the recommendation and photos of a friend. We were a bit apprehensive given the warning on travel advisory websites. We need not have worried. Because of excellent tour guides, we were complexly safe. In Antigua, we could safely walk the streets at night alone. Our advice is go there, it is magic. A special recommendation is for Posada del Ángel was one of the original boutique hotels in Antigua. There are 6 standard rooms on the main floor. The décor is breathtaking with brilliant colours, textiles and furnishings. The main square is about 15-20 minutes walk away through colorful streets and good restaurants are also in walking distance. A unique experience and a three night stay allows you enough time to explore this very special historic town built by the Spanish Conquistadors.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada del Ange... A, Guest Relations Manager at Posada Del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear Mr. Adrian.
Good morning, thank you for your kind comments, really it was a honor have you both here during your stay in Antigua Guatemala, we are happy to know that you could enjoy the city as a local citizen
We hope to have the opportunity of serving you and your wife soon again.
Cordially
Anibal Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2017

Few things are certain in life, but a wonderfully relaxing stay at Posada del Angel (this was my 4th or 5th visit, I believe) has been one of them. The inn is charming and atmospheric beyond belief, and the rooms and beds are extremely comfortable. It offers a welcome respite from the relative hustle and bustle of Antigua (which seems to get a bit more crowded with every visit). The breakfast is tasty and hearty, and the views from the rooftop are magical. But my favorite thing about Posada del Angel (and the aspect that always ensures I'll come back) is the genuinely caring and dedicated staff. I truly feel as though I'm welcomed back home by family with each visit. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada del Ange... A, Guest Relations Manager at Posada Del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear Mr. Douglas,
Thank you for your comment, we have been blessed with your visit.
We really appreciate it becuase it is the only way to check if we are making the fine things.
we hope that your next visit to Antigua Guatemala, we have the honor of serving you again.
From the bottom of the staff's heart, thank you.
Cordially
Anibal Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Stayed here for 6 nights towards the end of March. As previously stated by other reviewers, its a quiet comfortable hotel, for those that like to relax. Service was great, always with a genuine smile from all the staff. The front desk was very quick and responsive to any of our requests.

Lastly, special thanks to Anibal and the young lady who works reception. I forgot my wallet in our hotel room and they immediately emailed me and helped make arrangements to have it shipped to my house.

Great stay, Highly Recommended!

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Fries_with_Ketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada del Ange... A, Front Office Manager at Posada Del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Dear Mr. Ozorio
Thank you for the opportunity of serving you on your recent visit; we truly appreciate you choosing Posada del Angel for your stay in Antigua Guatemala.
Thank you in advance for taking the time to read this. We all hope to see you again, both soon and often!

Kind regards
Anibal Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Charming is the word. Great staff that really care. Situated in one of the most
beautiful cities in all of Central America. Celebrity guests include former president Bill Clinton and Canadian Prime Minister. Each room has its own character and scent.

Room Tip: Mary Sue Suite. It has a sitting room with a sofa bed around the fireplace, making the space very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SamT2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada del Ange... A, Front Office Manager at Posada Del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the opportunity of serving you on your visit; we truly appreciate that you have chosen Posada del Angel for your stay in Antigua Guatemala.
Thank you in advance for taking the time to read this. We all hope to see you again, both soon and often!

Kind regards,
Anibal Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

The Posada is small (7 rooms) but you can't get more charm and beautiful rooms. The staff can't do enough to make you feel welcome and meet your needs. Breakfasts are great, and don't miss a drink on the roof.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bladvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posada del Ange... A, Front Office Manager at Posada Del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the opportunity of serving you on your recent visit; we truly appreciate you choosing Posada del Angel for your stay in Antigua Guatemala.

Thank you in advance for taking the time to read this. We all hope to see you again, both soon and often!

Kind regards,

Anibal Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
1 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
1 km away
Hotel Museo Spa Casa Santo Domingo
0.2 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#3 of 75 in Antigua
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#5 of 75 in Antigua
809 reviews
0.1 km away
Pensativo House Hotel
Pensativo House Hotel
#11 of 75 in Antigua
168 reviews
0.7 km away
Palacio de Dona Leonor
Palacio de Dona Leonor
#30 of 75 in Antigua
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Angel

Address: 4a. Avenida sur # 24A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
#10 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
Price Range: $294 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Del Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada del Angel, pioneer of the boutique hotel concept in Antigua Guatemala, is a colonial inn par excellence. This elegant boutique hotel, winner of the 2007 Andrew Harper hideaway report, is recognized world-wide by its 7 personalized suites (each with a good burning fire place) and high quality/first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Posada Del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Angel Hotel Antigua
Posada Del Angel Antigua Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing