We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples night out”

La Casa de las Sopas
Ranked #27 of 437 Restaurants in Antigua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Small intimate restaurant that make homemade dishes. We specialize in soup and Guatemalan CALDOS, which is like a soup on steriods! We buy all of our produce fresh from the local market and cook everything from scratch. For our customers that arent too interested in soup, we have plenty of options you will like. Our soups are served with a salad and large local heavy bread w/garlic mayonaise pesto. Come in and try our local dishes, you wont be disappointed.
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

We had the traditional soup called Pepian and it was very good. It could have had more rice but I am just being picky. The other couple had the steak and it was also very good

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2018

Small, cozy restaurant specializing in traditional Guatemalan soups and stews. No flash here ... everything cooked and served straight up. Absolutely incredible joco’n!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Cruiser110528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We read the reviews before coming here. They are accurate. Tried a couple of soups and were pleased.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Blake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

had the chicken caldo with rice, avocado, garnishes, and handmade tortillas. light and bright flavors but still very filling, portion is generous. service was attentive and sitting at the candlelit bench in garden/patio was perfect for my first dinner in Guatemala. dinner plus 2 glasses of wine was approx $14 usd

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank tarragriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

If the idea of having soup in a hot place doesn't appeal, well reconsider if you are in Antigua and want something different. Whilst soups is the main attraction here, they also offer other dishes too and the prices are very reasonable. I had the black bean soup and it was very tasty. Be warned - the big bowls are very big (the staff will show you before ordering if you ask). Would gladly recommend this place.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank top_mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa de las Sopas also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to La Casa de las Sopas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing