We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chez Daniel(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Villa Serena(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada de la Luna(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cirilo(Antigua)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Doozy Koala(Antigua)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$176
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
304
91
17
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
91
17
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecond floorrecommend casala merced churchwithin easy walking distancevolcano aguafew blocksguatemala cityfavorite hotelstreet noisehome away from homecentral parkpatriciacleanlinessarchupstairspanajachelflowers
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2015

My family and I have stayed here at least 4 times in the past 10 years.

The hotel hasn't changed much in the 10 years we have been visiting. It is impeccably clean. The rooms are comfortable and well decorated. There is a ground floor and a 2nd floor. The second floor has a balcony the faces southward such that you get impressive views of Volcan de Aguas. The ground floor has somewhat of a patio/courtyard feel but no views outside of the hotel.

This point is important, all of the rooms are quiet. There is a room, room #5 that faces the street but it is used for storage. I noticed this last time I was here and I thought how thoughtful and clever to forgo the potential rent on this room and instead use it for storage and keep your patrons happy. Very well done.

All of the rooms come with flat screen TV's, cable TV in which all of the channels come in clear (not always the case in many hotels in Antigua), private bathrooms with hot water, and lock boxes for your valuables.

On the last our last visit, my son and I were greeted by the owner who remembered us from previous visits. Staff remembered us as well.

This is a hidden jewel in Antigua. I highly recommend staying here if you can.

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room in this hotel. All of the rooms are well thought out and extremely comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasYardbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Following the great reviews on Trip Advisor, my friends and I booked this place to spend Semana Santa. The best aspect of this place is probably its location--it is right on many of the procession routes, and you can literally walk right out the door to catch some of the best processions of the week.

The accommodations are beautiful, especially if you reserve rooms on the upper floor with a view of the Volcán de Agua greeting you every morning. The rooms were quaint, clean, and comfortable, with daily maid service that replaces your free bottle of water every day. The showers have real hot water (not an attachable water heater), and the bathroom is up to US standards.

The only thing that I would say is that if you like to sleep in, the staff gets a bit weird about the breakfast thing. The price of the room includes free breakfast, which is wonderful. However, it doesn't seem to be an option. We would have paid that price with or without the breakfast and happily gone the two blocks to Fernando's Kaffe every morning. Our first morning there, we skipped the breakfast because we wanted to make sure we didn't miss the carpets before the procession walked over them. They seemed a bit perturbed that we did not take the breakfast. The next few mornings we were constantly reminded that breakfast is from 7–9, which made us feel a bit like we were staying at my parents' house and HAD to be there for breakfast. I understand that since it's a small place they probably didn't want to waste food, but maybe the breakfasts should be an option that guests can opt out of.

Room Tip: Best views are on the top floor!
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loganeclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

we stayed at Casa Florencia 3/9-12/2015 and loved it. We were on the upper floor with the lovely view of the volcano. The staff was exceptionally helpful, arranging for an airport pickup in Guatemala City directly to the hotel in advance. The breakfasts were delicious. The front desk answered all of our questions about getting around and gave us suggestions on which restaurants we would like. We loved our introduction to Guatemala at Casa Florencia.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ggc188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

This is my second time staying here and always a pleasure, with good staff, very secure setting and close to everything! The rooms are very well appointed, considering the size of the establishment, and on the weekends one gets a very good full breakfast included in the rent!
I prefer the upper level as you get a great view of downtown framed with the volcano in the background !
Close to wonderful coffee shops, the local market is a half dozen blocks away, and it is quiet and secure!

Room Tip: Prefer the upper level for the view!
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015

This was our 2nd visit to the Casa Florencia Hotel in Antigua after a 4-year absence, & it felt like we were back home--it was great to see the friendly, welcoming, helpful staff again! Casa Florencia offers wonderful value for the money: comfortable rooms, fantastic views just outside the second floor rooms, full hot breakfasts every morning, excellent location (a quiet neighborhood within easy walking distance of the Plaza Mayor, markets, & most well-known tourist sites in Antigua), security (locked entrance, lockboxes in the rooms), cable TV with a good selection of stations in English & Spanish....We love it, & we look forward to going back next year (if not sooner).

Room Tip: Second floor rooms cost a bit more, but the view makes it worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srahensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews