We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, drink and hospitality!”

Fish Restaurant Proto
Ranked #68 of 449 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$150
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Fish Restaurant Proto, established in 1886, is located in the heart of Dubrovnik’s historical core, at the intersection of the Široka and Vara streets. The long tradition of this popular Dubrovnik restaurant attests to its reputation and lasting quality based on its unparalleled preparation of diverse seafood and meat dishes. Proto’s gourmet menu is inspired by indigenous dishes and the culinary artistry of Dubrovnik’s distinguished citizenry, passed down from one generation to the next. Our top local chefs add a touch of contemporary culinary trends to traditional recipes.
Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

My wife and I ate twice at Proto during our honeymoon in Dubrovnik. The first time, I reserved a table and we were located on the terrace upstairs which is excellent. The food and drinks on both occasions were of a very high standard and the variety of fish and non-fish options is very good. The staff were very attentive, welcoming and gave useful information throughout. We will be recommending Proto to all of our friends and family.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank StephenYaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proto_Dubrovnik, Manager at Fish Restaurant Proto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Dear Mr. Stephen V.,

We would like to use this opportunity to thank you for choosing Fish Restaurant Proto for your special occasion and for taking your valuable time to share your feedback on our cuisine.

In the name of our Chef Bosko Lonac and his culinary team we wish to thank you for complimenting our cuisine.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Fish Restaurant Proto we send our kindest regards,

Kosta Vukota
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

I felt this restaurant totally over rated. The concierge recommend it us for dinner, next days fully booked so expectations were high. When finally we went I got totally disappointed food not as expected, like any other restaurant in town, nothing special. Service so busy that they are running around most of the time and they can’t give u a proper service.

Date of visit: July 2021
2  Thank Martuki77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Came here on advice of concierge, it's a beautiful restaurant, we had amazing service but the food is mediocre. Overpriced, salty and too rich. Food came out lukewarm. Would not return.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SmileyChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

The restaurant has a fantastic location right in the middle of the Old Town. Our server Micki was fantastic. He was very professional and helpful. The food was delicious and super flavorful!! I recommend this place to anyone looking for a great meal.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank MikeCWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2021

Great standard of food and service, one of those 'staples'. We sat outside in the small side street and it was extremely pleasant with good local wine.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JJN300603
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proto_Dubrovnik, Manager at Fish Restaurant Proto, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2021

Dear JJN300603,

We appreciate your visit and the comments.
We are delighted that you chose our establishment and were therefore the beneficiary of what we offer. We are even more delighted that you enjoyed our specialities and the service.
We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you on some other occasion.

Kind regards,
Kosta Vukota
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Restaurant Proto also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Fish Restaurant Proto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.