We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Seafood and service”

Fish Restaurant Proto
Ranked #64 of 449 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$150
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Fish Restaurant Proto, established in 1886, is located in the heart of Dubrovnik’s historical core, at the intersection of the Široka and Vara streets. The long tradition of this popular Dubrovnik restaurant attests to its reputation and lasting quality based on its unparalleled preparation of diverse seafood and meat dishes. Proto’s gourmet menu is inspired by indigenous dishes and the culinary artistry of Dubrovnik’s distinguished citizenry, passed down from one generation to the next. Our top local chefs add a touch of contemporary culinary trends to traditional recipes.
Reviewed 30 August 2021

Great fish restaurant in the heart of the old city. Pricy but worth it. Great service, presentation and cuisine. Good wine selection. Book in advance.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Theodore D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proto_Dubrovnik, Manager at Fish Restaurant Proto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Dear Mr. Theodore D.,

We are delighted to receive such a positive impression of your dining experience.

The entire Fish Restaurant Proto team sends its appreciation for recognizing their efforts in making your dining experience a pleasant one.

We hope and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Kosta Vukota
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2021

There are no words to describe how much we loved this restaurant. The food was exceptional. From oysters to the starters, pasta and fish, pork tomahawk and desserts. Absolutely Faultless. Our experience was certainly elevated by the very charming and charismatic Niki and Kosta. They were superb. Helpful in choosing our wine to providing a very welcomed interaction throughout our dinner. We will be back ASAP!

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 20marinacullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2021

It.s in a corner of Placa. There are few outside tables, but there´s also a large, nice interior with AC and comfortable chairs. Our helpful waiter suggested a great local wine, that was wonderful. We ordered a sea bass and scampi tagliatelle with real black truflfe, not truffle flavored oil.
We like it so much we returned a couple of days latter.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RicherTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

Very delicious fish restaurant in the old town of Dubrovnik. Had some smoked tuna on arugula salad and truffle fettuccine with shrimp. I can highly recommend this restaurant to all fish lovers.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Zeljka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proto_Dubrovnik, Manager at Fish Restaurant Proto, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Dear Mrs. Zeljka C.,

We are extremely pleased to learn you were satisfied with our cuisine. In the name of our Chef Bosko Lonac and his culinary team, we would like to thank you for complimenting our Smoked Tuna Slices with Arugula, as well as Fettucine with Shrimp Tails and Black Istrian Truffles.

Looking forward for your next visit to Proto Fish Restaurant we send warmest regards,

Kosta Vukota
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

Can't be more happy!!! To find this restaurant was same as finding a great treasure. Lovely crew and TOP food. I just need to congratulate Dubrovnik to finally having a great restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Watchyouout
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Fish Restaurant Proto also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Fish Restaurant Proto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.