We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold mussels on a hot seafood platter?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance

Renaissance
Ranked #217 of 365 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Price range: US$15 - US$77
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Excellent restaurant and one of the few that can please very demanding vegetarians as well, also they serve several very unique fish dishes such as "sea eggs" , wild oysters, borbolaise and all of this within very good budget prices
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Cold mussels on a hot seafood platter?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016

We ate here on our first night in Dubrovnik, looking to find an atmospheric spot that wasn't in the middle of a main thoroughfare. Here we found a nice table under the arches outside the actual restaurant. We then opted for the shared seafood platter. Whilst we were waiting for that to arrive we were presented with complementary fish pate appetisers which were a nice touch and tasty. No issues with service as reported in previous reviews - pleasant and timely.
The platter itself looked good with nice prawns, fish, squid etc - and also a lot of mussels in their shells that turned out to be totally cold from the outset (we tried as soon as the plate was served). Everything else was properly hot so it was very odd. The mussels weren't just luke warm, but totally cold as if they were meant to be so. Unfortunately this took the edge off our meal as we didn't want to eat them like this so just left them. When the waitress came to take away our plates and asked if everything was ok we said yes, except the mussels, were they meant to be cold. However she appeared to either not understand the question or ignore the question. Otherwise we would have been happy enough with our experience.

  • Visited September 2016
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    80
    48
    23
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Horrible food, horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Food had hairs in it and it is not fresh. When we told the waitress about it she said that she didn't agree and that the food was indeed fresh. Save yourselves a terrible meal and go somewhere else!

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Javier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Won't go again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Service was friendly but wery slow. Can't recommend the food either, at least my tuna steak was totally tasteless. Still prices were quite high..

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Suvi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible rip off trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We passed this on our last day and decided to come here for a last meal in Dubrovnik. When we arrived the prices were higher than advertised when we saw it earlier, which should have been enough of a warning. The senior waitress had a face like thunder, and said we could wait inside for a table. She gave us an apperitiff and 5 minutes later we were given a table. We ordered our mains (no starter) and waited over an hour to be served our meal. As we had had a few drinks in the afternoon we decided against any alcohol with our dinner. The head waitress was digusted that we werent going to spend €20-€80 euro on wine. My wife had 2 cokes. I had lemonade (water with lemon juice squeezed into it). The total for the drinks was almost €15...
The food wasnt amazing nor was it terrible. We had to wait ages for our bill despite asking several times and the restaurant being quiet. In total 2 hours for one course. Incredible. We were also charged for the aperitiffs we never asked for. Avoid this at all costs. Feel sorry for the younger waitresses as they clearly get no help or guidance from the senior waitress/ manager, who incidentally left early.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank OSheaGuevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not very tasty food but beautiful restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2016

The food was nor very tasty and the menu was simple, the service was okay. It was relatively expensive place, wouldn't go there again.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank elberi427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Renaissance also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing