We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$183
View deal
Expedia.com
US$228
View deal
Agoda.com
US$166
View deal
PricelineUS$226
Hotels.comUS$228
travelup.comUS$239
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
447
103
43
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
447
103
43
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa odak piano bar old city indoor pool beautiful hotel fine dining restaurant adriatic sea older part perfect location l occitane walled city turn down service sun deck lounge chairs breakfast restaurant lokrum island sea view room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2021

We had a 4 day break in October and stayed at the Excelsior. For 4 days the hotel was tremendous. The location is absolutely superb with quick walkable access straight into the old town. Less than 10 mins. We had breakfast each day which offered an excellent choice. The views of the sea and old town are incredible especially at night enjoying a drink in the bar. The service was good especially from the front desk. For a 4 day break I would highly recommend this hotel. Each year we stay in another 5 star hotel in a different part of Europe and the Excelsior does not quite reach those standards but I would not hesitate booking another stay here. For those people wanting to have a short stay and explore the magnificent Dubrovnik this is the place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enihsnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2021


Dear Enihsnus,
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Excelsior and taking your time to share your experience! We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again.
Kind regards
Ivor Vlasic
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2021 via mobile

Great hotel very nice rooms and polite staff, I have read other reviews before coming to stay and I was a little worried about the breakfast, I am pleased to say that we both think that the breakfast was 5 star and had everything you would expect and more.
The location is perfect for walking into old town.
I highly recommend hotel Excelsior.

Room tip: Weather in October is perfect 20c and blue sky's every day
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank OakseyPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2021

Dear OakseyPark,
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Excelsior and taking your time to share your experience! We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again.
Kind regards
Ivor Vlasic
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2021 via mobile

This is a top class hotel in a stunning waterfront location, only 5 minutes walk from the entrance to Dubrovnik Old Town. We never tired of the view of The Old Town from the balcony of our bedroom and the terrace of the breakfast restaurant. The facilities are of a high standard and extras such as complimentary face masks, bottled water and fruit bowl on arrival, and the chocolates on the pillows each evening, were appreciated. Guests using the outdoor swimming area could avail of sun loungers, umbrellas and towels from the Spa. There were plenty of hand sanitising stations and covid protocols signs around the hotel. Mask compliance was exemplary throughout the hotel. We ate breakfast at the hotel each morning and the choice of hot and cold food and beverages was excellent. Staff were very professional, friendly and helpful at all times. We had originally booked to stay in a sister hotel and were switched to the Excelsior. It exceeded our expectations and we would love to return again.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank WestofIre2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2021

Dear WestofIre2013,
I would like to thank you for staying with us and for writing a review of our hotel. I'm glad that you liked our location. We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the near future.
Kind regards
Ivor Vlasic
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2021

Well positioned on the water, making it wonderful to jump in for a swim, but the hotel is located on a passage used by boats so the water is often very choppy. The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk to the Old Town and the good rooms do have a good view of the sea. Our original room was tiny and with the position of the desk, it was impossible to get to the far side of the bed without moving the desk chair. We complained about several deficiencies in the room and were moved to a suite which was excellent. Staff, breakfasts, ambiance not nearly as nice as its sister hotel Bellevue.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank richardand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2021

Dear richardand,
Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel Excelsior and taking your time to share your experience! We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again.
Kind regards
Ivor Vlasic
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2021

We had a wonderful stay here. No criticisms at all. The staff were wonderful, the facilities were all top notch, the breakfast was excellent. <chef's kiss>. The hotel bar has a wonderful view, as does the breakfast area. The spa and pool complex was also great - though the steam room was closed due to Covid. Great pool! And if the weather is nice, try swimming in the Adriatic - they have a roped-off area and a lifeguard.
I'd say it was the staff, more than anything, that really set this place apart. Supremely helpful and patient and friendly. Definitely make use of the concierge for booking trips and whatnot, taxis, etc.
More generally, Dubrovnik is wonderful. 2-3 days of tourism in the city (be prepared to climb a LOT of stairs), but allow another 2-3 to explore the area. Wine tours, cooking classes(!), walks, sea kayaking. Get out there!

--A few things to note, but which were no real trouble for us--
1) Some guests use sauna in the nude. This is common throughout Europe. There appears to be no rule either way. Don't let this put you off. Wear a bathing suit if you like.
2) I did not try the restaurant so can't comment on meals other than breakfast.
3) the bureau de change in the hotel has a great rate for converting to kona.
4) the hotel is split into an old and a new building. Some of the rooms, especialy on the 1st floor of the old one, are fairly close to the bar. If you are a light sleeper, I'd suggest asking for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor of the old building.

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank marty_travel_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, General Manager at Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Dear marty_travel,
I would like to thank you for staying with us and for writing a review of our hotel. I'm glad that you liked our location. We are happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the near future.
Kind regards
Ivor Vlasic
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews