We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$277
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$506
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mediteran(Zadar)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Apartments and Rooms Anika(Zadar)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Apartments Petra(Zadar)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
26
43
31
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
43
31
39
17
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2015

As the title suggests, the hotel in my opinion is certainly very dated.
I had booked a single room, again very dated and the single bed was tiny.
The shower tray didn't drain properly so could only shower for a few seconds. I didn't ask to change rooms because other guests had already said that they had same problem with the shower.
The shower had a curtain, not a screen.
The all inclusive alcoholic drinks only included beer and wine, all of the rest were payable.
On a positive front, the food was very good at every meal.
I found the staff friendly and helpful.
The price was very fair.
It is a short transfer from the airport.
Although outside of Zadar, the centre is easily accessible via the fun train from the hotel complex, or on a bus, which runs very frequently for 10 kuna from the main road, so really no need to use taxi to reach the centre

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank BatleyAndybev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

How anyone can give this hotel an excellent or very good is completely beyond me. This hotel is exactly what it is an all inclusive resort that is way past its prime. The rooms smelled funny and one of the electrical outlets did not work. In this wifi area that is completely unacceptable. The breakfast this morning was terrible. Probably the worst of my trip through Europe to date. They tried to get us to leave our passports with them when we checked in. I've never seen that before in all my travels around the world. The pool was filled with old Eastern European men with beer bellies wearing tiny swim suits. You are fairly far from where all of the action is in the old town which means a cab will rip you off going there. Zadar has a lot to offer so I would suggest staying closer to the old town. If you look at most of my ratings with trip advisor they are pretty high, but there is no way this place is average. The all you can drink beer and wine are in no way selling points to me. The beds were hard and small. The only reason this hotel did not get a worse score is because the front desk staff was nice and there was parking there.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JImHaigwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsimac, General Manager at Hotel Donat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear Mr. JImHaigwood, thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you were satisfied with front office staff and with our free parking. Concerning taxi service, usual price from hotel to centre of the town is about 10$. Our front office staff is there to help you with best taxi service. We regret that you didn't get a better impression of your stay in hotel Donat but we still hope you will provide us and the whole Borik resort another chance and it will be our honor and pleasure to have you as a guest again.
Best regards
Toni Simac, Hotel Donat GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

I am very sattisfied, about free wifi and cleanliness of the whole hotel. I am little dissapointed about aircondition in restaurant. The air was hottest than outside. The food was very good. I suggest to make more cakes at meals.;)

See you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank izak_kalcic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsimac, General Manager at Hotel Donat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Dear Mr. Izak
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the hotel Donat. We are delighted to read that you were content with cleanliness of the hotel and food quality, as well as free WIFI quality.
Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you soon again.

Sincerely,
Toni Šimac, hotel Donat GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed here as two couples in June. Firstly, we missed our flights, on calling the hotel to tell them this, they reduced our charge to just the nights we were staying, which most hotels wouldn't do.

It is very easy to get to from the airport and only about 25min transfer.

On arrival late at night, we Received maps of zadar, bus times and also a lunch pack, which was very appreciated.

Our room had an amazing sea view, the pool was a good size but the hotel lies on the beach, so it was great to go at such convenience.


The food was amazing, the choice is so vast and tasty as well. Lots of fish but lots of meat as well so even if you are fussy it does accommodate.


You can get drinks at your convenience so no queues. One fault, no lemonade! And being all inc the drinks only include beer wine and soft drinks BUT the spirits are very cheap!!! £1/10kuna for vodka....5kuna on certain nights!! And you get the mixer free anyway so that's good.


The entertainment wasn't really in English, and there weren't many English people except us, if any!


The air con in the room was great, the 'double bed' is two tiwns pushed together though.

A short bus to zadar, great location and great place to stay, I had to give a 5/5 rating because of what you get for the price and the staff helpfulness. I had an amazing stay here.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsimac, General Manager at Hotel Donat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Dear Jess B,

thank you very much for your positive review and thank you very much for sharing your experience abou your stay in the hotel Donat! We are pleased that we succeeded to fulfil your expectations and that you had a pleasant stay. We will consider your advice about all-inclusive lemonade.
It will be our great pleasure to host you again upon your next trip in Zadar.

Best regards

Toni Šimac, hotel Donat GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We just stayed for 2 nights in this 3 star All Inn hotel, located in a quiet and green environment near the sea, and at 4 km of the old town of Zadar. We travelled with public transport, but this was not a problem, as there are regular citybusses between the hotelcomplex and the busstation of Zadar. Buy tickets in a kiosk. It is possible to walk from the hotel to the old town. Just follow the sea, a nice walk, with some stops, brings you in 1 hour to the old town. Or you can take the citybus. Our room was big enough and clean and had a nice balcony with a pano at the garden and the sea. Airco was insufficient. Sunsets are just wonderful!! The swimmingpool of the hotel is not to big and crowded, but there are a lot of quiet places outside the hotel, along the coast, to spread your towel in the seabreeze. The resto of the hotel is very big and busy aand not cosy, but the buffets have a lot of choices, are plentiful and tasteful. Beer was OK, but the included white wine was not cold enough and not so good. We enjoyed our short stay and found for what we payed, we had value. Wifi is free. Just remember, thera are no escalators in the hotel, so if you do not like steps, ask for a room on a lower floor.

Room Tip: If you can climb the steps, ask for a quiet room on a higher floor with sea view. If you do not like steps, ask a room at a lower floor.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank liesenluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsimac, General Manager at Hotel Donat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

Dear Liesenluc,
we want to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write us positive and motivating comment here. We really appreciate it since each guest is special to us and your opinion is highly important. To hear that you enjoyed your stay means everything to us. Concerning not cold white wine in restaurant, we already repaired malfunction so we hope that problem will not happen again. Also thank you for nice comments about our location, tasteful food and value for money.
We hope that you will give us chance to welcome you again!
Sincerely
Toni Simac, hotel Donat GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews