We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$33
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$41
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Agoda.com
US$73
US$28
View deal
SAVE US$45
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Hotels.comUS$41
FindHotelUS$41
StayForLongUS$73
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveller rating
893
161
26
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
893
161
26
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swedish owner mekong river adjustable beds in town rivers meet hotel owner other guests bamboo bridge i highly recommend this hotel crepes watch the world the breakfast area breakfast is served alms giving free bikes tea and coffee wonderful hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2020

Agree with all the comments about good location, friendly staff/owner and authentic atmosphere. During our stay the hot water was non-existent in the morning. Better in the mid-afternoon. Even then, you have to wait about five minutes, letting the water run (wasting it) until it's hot. So, your experience and rating of the accommodations will depend on whether you consider hot water to be a luxury or not.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gosti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoiKeonida, Front Office Manager at Mekong Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Dear gosti2014,

Thank you so much for choosing Mekong Riverview Hotel for your stay in Luang Prabang. We are happy to hear that you agree with our other reviewers about our fantastic location, friendly staff and owner and the authentic atmosphere here in Ban Xieng Thong.

Also, thank you for your feedback about the hot water. We were not aware of that problem as there were no complaints about that recently. If our guests let us know when there are problems in the room, we give our best to fix them immediately. Apparently you did not let us know during your stay that there was something wrong with the water. Of course we consider hot water as essential, especially in the cold months, which is now. So it is no question that we will take care of this right away and we would like to apologize to you that it did not work perfectly in your room.

We hope to welcome you back in the future,

kind regards,
Mr. Bounvone Keonida (Noi)
Front Office Manager, Mekong Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2020 via mobile

A truly beautiful and mesmerizing place, with a relaxing atmosphere, quiet and peaceful. The hotel is superbly maintained, with full attention to every little detail. The very observant owner and the delightful, friendly staff made our stay most enjoyable and we will certainly return in the non too long future.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank GiselaW136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoiKeonida, Front Office Manager at Mekong Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Dear Gisela,
thank you so much for your kind review. It was our pleasure to have you here with us at Mekong Riverview Hotel and we're happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time in Luang Prabang! We will forward your compliments to our staff for sure!
Again, thank you for your visit and we hope to welcome you back in the future,
kind regards,
Mr. Bounvone Keonida (Noi)
Front Office Manager, Mekong Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2020

My husband and I stayed at the Mekong Riverview Hotel for four nights. The location is at the end of the peninsula at the confluence of the Mekong and Nam Kahn rivers.

The pros:

Excellent location, quiet but walkable to all the fun in town.
The breakfast is served at the Riverview Cafe, a restaurant open to the public for lunch and dinner. The view is spectacular, overlooking the rivers and the bamboo bridge. You can order eggs any style or crepes as well as serve yourself from the buffet of fresh fruit, cheeses, etc.
You have use of city cruiser bikes for free.
The pool is located over the bamboo bridge. It’s a fun adventure to meet the tuk tuk on the other side, where you are driven to the pool and spa. The pool is beautiful, with salt water instead of chlorine and long enough for laps. We spent a couple afternoons there, sitting in the shade of an umbrella and looking out over the forest and mountains.

The con:
I have give four stars rather than five because the rooms are tired and need refreshing. They are a bit dismal and need new paint and bathroom remodeling. Our shower had mildew in the tile grout, and the wooden countertops surrounding the sinks need to be replaced. Also, the balcony was so narrow that it was difficult to sit at the table and chairs. Request a room in the main building which has larger balconies. Also, second floor rooms are more pleasant—there’s a lot of foot traffic on the street, very close to the ground floor rooms.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nameste56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoiKeonida, Front Office Manager at Mekong Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Dear nameste56,

Thank you for staying with us at the Mekong Riverview Hotel and for taking the time to write this detailed review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay with us and had the chance to benefit of everything we have to offer, from our Viewpoint Restaurant to our Palm Tree Health Spa.

We would also like to thank you for your feedback about our rooms. We were not aware of any mildew, so we'll have the bathrooms inspected and take care of it. Also, your concerns will certainly be discussed at our next team meeting.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write us,
we hope to welcome you back in the future,
kind regards,
Mr. Bounvone Keonida (Noi)
Front Office Manager, Mekong Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2020

We were so pleasantly surprised by everything the Mekong Riverview Hotel had to offer. Our room was beautiful, the location was great, the staff was so helpful. When you take your breakfast on the patio along the river, the view will amaze you! It was all truly very special. I would recommend this hotel to others looking for a sweet spot to stay!

Room tip: I highly recommend a room with a river view.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z3170UDdebbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoiKeonida, Front Office Manager at Mekong Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Dear Debbie,
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Mekong Riverview Hotel and for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear that you were so pleasantly surprised and happy that you spent such a relaxing and enjoyable time here in Luang Prabang. Yes, the breakfast view is truly amazing! We are glad you liked it too!
Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back in the future,
Kind regards,
Mr. Bounvone Keonida (Noi)
Front Office Manager, Mekong Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2020 via mobile

When I booked the hotel, the only possibility was to book one night at a time even for three consecutive days we wanted to stay. Before booking via Agoda, I called the hotel to see if they can offer another solution. I was told to go ahead with the booking and that once we arrive they will find a solution.
On arrival late evening, The receptionist started giving us information about the city tours and everything else except the room for about 10 minutes. I insisted that we talk about the room and finally he told us that indeed we have to change rooms every day as per our booking. We were supposed to have rooms they call Riverview but realized quickly that what we had was ground-floor street view. And if we are not happy, It doesn’t make any difference for him and we can stay the night which we have to pay anyway and the next morning we could go and find another hotel and cancel the booking.
In short, it went like that for three days, very painfully. Each time we were at the reception for getting the key for the new room, we had 3 to 5 Receptionists sticking together and being quite hostile.
While the location is great, the breakfasts good and situated with an amazing view on the Mekong, the hotel staff Managed to make our stay quite miserable.
Rooms are not really nice but I guess like everybody we went there for the location. One disturbing detail in the room was the urinal In the very tiny toilets, Quite stinky and impossible to ignore.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Diana_Mangalagiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoiKeonida, Front Office Manager at Mekong Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Dear Diana,

Thank you for choosing Mekong Riverview Hotel for your stay here in Luang Prabang. We are sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations and we would like to offer our sincere apologies for the troubles that you've been through. However, please allow us to comment on a few points:

December and January are our peak months in Luang Prabang. Many rooms are booked a long time in advance, especially during the festive season. You booked on Agoda only just over a month before coming to Luang Prabang. Naturally, we did not have one room available for three consecutive days. Sometimes if we get cancellations from other guests, we can try to improve such a situation, but we can never make any guarantees. This is also how we communicated it to you beforehand. So if you are not ready to change room every day, you should not book a setting like this, as no hotel in the world could guarantee that they get exactly the right cancellations to fit your needs.

While you were here, our staff still tried hard to improve the situation. Thanks to the kindness of other guests, we managed to make room for you upstairs after your complaints (even though the room downstairs was a Riverview Room too, so exactly what you booked).

As you might have read in many of our previous reviews, our staff is one of the highlights of our guests experience. They have excellent manners, a wealth of knowledge about the town and activities to do and first and foremost, they have an outstanding service-mentality. As we're sure you're aware of, in Laos, complaints and resentments are expressed in a calm manner and raising the voice is looked at as "loosing face". Therefore, if you felt like our staff was being hostile, we suspect that they were simply polite and trying to contain the situation in a professional manner.

Also please let us comment on your feedback about the rooms. Our rooms are well documented with many photos on all of our booking platforms. If you don't like the design of the room, then we suggest you to check the pictures first before booking your next room. Most of our guests like our style and appreciate that we explicitly designed it to look like a "home" and not like a cold hotel room. The urinals are there to save water and we can assure you that they don't stink, unless you don't flush.

In summary, we would like to apologize but also advice you to try and book earlier, check the pictures and descriptions of the booking platforms more carefully to avoid similar disappointments anywhere in this world in the future.

Kind regards,
Mr. Bounvone Keonida (Noi)
Front Office Manager, Mekong Riverview Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews