We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$110
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
US$116
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Maison Dalabua Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$53
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$55/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$58
US$44
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
US$86
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$60
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$110
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
146
169
46
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
169
46
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater buffalomekong rivertuk tukin townshuttle serviceswimming poolbreakfast terracemanicured gardensformer palaceregular shuttle busserene settingminute driverooms overlookingfrench colonialthe general managerpost officerooms are nice
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

Pros:The hotel is beautifully constructed next to the river and grounds well maintain and peaceful.

Cons: But hotel is a total mess when it comes to other things: The staff need major major major training - some are nice and some are simply rude, careless, incapable of providing a good experience. Front desk staff is close minded and don't have a can do attitude, restaurant is rude and busy chatting to each other. Chef miss Lee is awful, rude, unhappy and despondent. The room is small and outdated, bed is hard, and old ropes. The breakfast is basic and always the same and good luck trying to get coffee or omelette. The hotel sent a old van to pick us up at airport. It was extremely hot and no hotel icon. We got to the hotel sweating. No drinks or any service by the pool and pool is tiny.

The new manager is trying to make changes but it will take some time. Right know the hotel service and food is awful. It is not a 5 star hotel. It is a 2 star hotel at the moment

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DecoWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck D, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thanks a lot for taking the time for sharing your experience with us.

I wish I would have been aware of your disappointment before your departure and try my best for at least have you to leave our resort with a smile.

I have no other choice than to share your message with my entire team and work personally in every single point you are mentioning above. Yes, indeed we might have some work in front of us before reaching your satisfaction at your next visit, and some will require a lot of training but as the low season is now in front of us, its going to be our top priority and we will incorporate your comment above in the first priority topics.

Thanks for your detailed comment and please contact me personally when you plan to come back to Luang Prabang


Best regards


Franck D.
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

This sprawling hotel is away from the centre of LP- a real plus for me. Its in a quiet area and affords stunning and I mean stunning views of the mekong. transportation into town is dead easy - hotels buses will take you there and back, yuk yuk or bikes. The rooms are comfortable but internet is well below standard- slow, cuts off . For me this wasn't an issue at all but I hope the hotel will rectify this matter for guests. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sankes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck D, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Sankes,

Good evening from the Grand,

thanks so much for this detailed feedback and sharing the issues we add with our internet. I'm glad it didn't affect your stay with us. We are actually improving our Wifi System and our new Manager in Charge is just arrived from Thailand on the 1st of May

Thanks a lot again and we look forward to welcome you soon at the Grand

Best regards

Franck D.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

There is a lot of important history associated with this property as it was once the home of a prince. The hotel and particularly the restaurant overlooks the Mekong River so really beautiful, however, with its distance from town, you rely on the shuttle bus to get you back and forth to town, which by the way, is one of the most vibrant small city centres in Indochina. There are many other guest houses located in city centre which would have been a better location.

The hotel has a museum and pool on the property. The staff are very courteous and service oriented so no complaints at all there. The food in the restaurant was very good but expensive. The breakfast buffet offerings was average compared to the many other hotels we stayed at.

Room Tip: Get a room on the north side of the property to observe the sunset on your patio.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LolaLanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck D, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Lola,

Good evening from the Grand,

Thanks for your detailed and very positive comments.

We are actually located 15 min away from town and do have regular and free shuttle van to town, and as well as boat transfer to make it even more fun, but as you mentioned you are on the side of the vibrant downtown area.

We do also thank you for your comment regarding the breakfast, as we always try to keep it as per international buffet standard

Thanks a lot again and we do hope to welcome you again at the Grand during your next trip to Laos

Warm regards

Franck D.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
52
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

We initially checked into the Grand for 3 nights but because of the scenery and the pleasant staff we ended up staying for another 3!

The hotel is located 4km from the centre of Luang Prabang but the hotel offers a regular shuttle bus into town.

We enjoyed the location, the scenery, the pool and the tranquility of this former palace. The concierge organised a trip to the alms giving and we also took a boat into town one evening.

We would definitely stay here again


Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck D, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Good evening from the Grand,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Grand.

That great to hear you enjoyed our unique location as well as our boat transfer to town. Our concierge team is always trying their best to make your stay as memorable as possible.


We look cant wait to welcome you again at your next visit to Laos


Best regards


Franck D.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We stayed 4 nights in a Mekong deluxe room on first floor (room 723)
The room was very spacious, comfortable and clean with a balcony giving directly over the garden and the Mekong river. The bedding was very comfortable, clean and the nights very quiet and relaxing. The hotel is ~4km away from city center, but the hotel has a shuttle service back and forth, and you can easily get a tuk-tuk or a bike to go downtown.
Minibar and safe in the room.
Great breakfast with a very large choice of food, on a terrace overlooking the Mekong.
Staff is very helpful and competent.
All our thanks to Champion who was very helpful and smiling.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with direct view on the Mekong
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoelLeclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck D, Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Joel,

good afternoon from the Grand,

Thanks for having choosing us for your 4 nights stay.

Our Mekong deluxe as indeed a quite unique scenery over the Mekong, and only few kilometer away from the crowded downtown area. We do also have boat transfer available too.

thanks for mentioning about k. Champion, I will pass to her your regards

We look forward to welcome you again soon at the Grand

Best regards

Franck D.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews