We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
499
130
28
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
130
28
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelroyal residencenight marketjunior suitetuk tukpoolside barseparate toiletold colonialhomemade jamsin townlao disheslush gardensboutique hotelan oasisfour poster bedgeneral managerpool side
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

If you want service that is excellent and friendly, Satri House is the place to be. The rooms were kept clean the whole day long and stocked. The staff is helpful, professional and always friendly. Rooms are spacious and very clean. The food are excellent. Loved the mushroom snack, while you waited for your food. They even made my birthday special. Thank you to the management and staff for a unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TherinaGrobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear TherinaGrobler,

Thank you for your review and it's great that you had an unforgettable stay with us.

When it's someone's birthday we like to make sure this special occasion is celebrated as should be. So we are glad that we helped you have a special birthday. Thank you for you kind comments about our staff, rooms and food.

We hope that you can escape from Vientiane again in the future and can come stay with us.

Thank you on behalf of the Satri House team,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Sometimes you can do too much research on hotels, checking and re-checking. And yet, instinctively, you know straight off what hotel suits best. So it was for our booking at Satri House. From the moment we were picked up at the airport in the hotel's vintage Rolls Royce, to being reluctantly returned 5 days later, we had a wonderful time.
Not without precedence the hotel's pictures did not reflect the reality; on this occasion they were understated. Our teak floored room (221) was big and airy with a nice big balcony. The much needed air conditioning and ceiling fans performed admirably and the whole setting was wonderful. The staff, mainly young, were smiling, helpful and engaging throughout.
The manager, Robert, was visible without being obtrusive with a genuine drive to make our stay as great as possible with hints and tips about the locality and a thirst for feedback.
The hotel (it doesn't seem right to categorise this place as a mere hotel) is in a residential area though a very easy and safe 10 minutes walk to town along well made pavements. That means that there will be sights and sounds reflecting daily Laos life. Embrace them as part of your stay. There are much cheaper hotels around; there are more secluded hotels too. However for an all round quality experience Satri House hits the mark. Relax, adapt and enjoy a fantastic unforgettable stay.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Dear Dave E (C&Y),

Thank you for your review, we are very happy to know that we hit the mark and your stay with us was a great experience.

We too like to think that we are not just a mere hotel but a big home with lots of rooms where our guests feel welcome, comfortable and well taken care of. We like to give our guests tips and hints to help them get the best out of their stay in Luang Prabang as it is such a unique and special place with so much to offer.

We hope that you will come and stay with us again sometime.

Thank you on behalf of the Satri House team,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

i loved everything about this hotel! the location was perfect, the rooms were very very nice... big clean and comfortable, food was great, staff very nice! another plus was inexpensive laundry service was easily accessible right outside the gate :-)
can’t wait to come back!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank molly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear molly m,

We know we have succeeded as hotel when a guest loves everything about their stay with us! It's great to know that you enjoyed Satri House and that you can't wait to come back again.

We look forward to welcoming you back,
Robert and the Satri House team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

A lot of luxury, with beautiful gardens and rooms. Comfortable beds, airconditioning and fans. A 10 minute walk or 5 minute bike ride (free from hotel) to the main part of town, which was not too far. Staff were lovely.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank annamx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear annamx1,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed Satri House's colonial charm, luxurious surrounds, beautiful gardens and comfortable rooms along with our welcoming staff.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come again.

Happy travels,
Robert and the Satri House team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

I travel very often because of work and i barely post any review about my accommodations, whose category range varies quite a lot, depending on the purpose of my trip. Nevertheless, i am doing an exception with Satri House because it really impressed me, what seldom happens to me, since especially when using high-end hotels, i have to recognize that i am pretty demanding.
Very few hospitality establishments manage to reach 'that perfect balance' among sophistication, charm, comfort, design, attention to detail and an outstanding service, while still oozing authenticity and an unique character. I really appreciated the beautiful and sober colonial architectural ensemble and all those mentions through the furniture and decoration to the different cultural, ethnical and mystical facets in Luang Prabang. It also seemed to be a pretty sustainable establishment; i loved the fact that i saw no bags in the room, only bambu baskets which may have been handmade by the locals, banana leaves used as wrappings and other sort of 'green' details. It did surprise me to see plastic bottles of water in the room, as they take part on the campaign 'refill not landfill' carried out by different local businesses in town. I guess that it may be not that easy in Laos to find a safe way to refill reusable glass bottles of water, but i am sure that soon they will figure out something in this regard. My sincerest congratulations to the management and to such a welcoming staff for the pleasant and alluring atmosphere and for a memorable stay

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Natalia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Natalia,

Thank you for taking the time to write such glowing review of Satri House. We aim to provide the perfect balance that you experienced with 'sophistication, charm, comfort, design, attention to detail' along with great service. We are happy that we achieved making your stay a great experience.

Being environmentally sustainable and responsible is a big focus for the hotel and it's a constant work in progress. We work with an orgnisation called GIZ to assist us in implementing changes to our practices in order to be responsible as a business. We are working to get rid of the plastic bottles and it will happen soon when we are able to recycle glass bottles here in Luang Prabang.

Thank you again for your kind review and we hope you will come and stay with us again.

Thank you on behalf of the Satri House team,
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews